We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubtless Bay Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Doubtless Bay Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I hesitate to write a review because the views and accommodations were fabulous. If too many people find out about this quiet spot it may become too popular. We only spent 3 nights, but could easily stay longer. Not only was the most beautiful beach right below, but Sitting on the patio watching the world go by was fantastic.

Go here if you like quiet elegance.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
84
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We loved our three nights in a two bedroom villa here. We were originally planning to stay in Russell, however, because of the time of year we couldn't get accommodation. We are so glad we chose Doubtless Bay Villas instead! The villa was very modern, spacious and being in number 19, we had front row views to the bay - gorgeous! Shanny was very welcoming and approachable and showed us around our villa.

Cable Bay is lovely and we enjoyed swimming and spending time on the beach. The beach was popular, although not at all crowded.

Our only minor suggestion would be to include a bbq on the balcony of no. 19.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachaburi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The studio unit was perfect with an epic view overlooking beautiful Cable Bay. The room was clean, modern and quiet. My fiance and I had just intended to stay 2 nights but couldn't resist extending for a 3rd. Tennis courts with a view were another bonus.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3,049 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 582 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

The accommodation was modern, clean and the service excellent. Perched on top of a hill overlooking Doubtless Bay the views were stunning.If in this area this accommodation should be high on the list. The only downside was ther lack of a pool

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights in a single unit room at the Villas. Easy to make a reservation by phone or Internet. We used the phone. Check-in was quick and easy. We were warmly welcomed and escorted to our unit. The place sparkled - clean and freshly appointed. King bed and bed covers - top rate. Bath was exceptional - powerful shower and plenty of hot/warm water to wash off the dust from our daily treks. Plenty of amenities - coffee/milk. Small fridge and sink. One evening we dined outside our room on take-away food from an Indian Restaurant near by. Internet was easy to connect to and was reliable. Moon over the Cable Bay - breathless. Quality, value and service .. this place has it all. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: No advice - these folks will give you the best they have open. We doubt there is much difference in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

My fiance and I had an amazing 2 night break at Doubtless Bay Villas. The location itself is fantastic, and the villas are perched on a hill looking over the Northland ocean. Having booked a studio and being shown it by the excellent hosts, they offered us a discounted upgrade to a one bedroom apartment. We would DEFINITELY recommend this upgrade as the apartment is so much more spacious with SUCH a fantastic view (and balcony). The rooms are so modern and clean that it simply pains you to leave the place. If I could buy one of these apartments I would!

If you are heading to Northland, don't forget Mangonui and DEFINITELY don't forget to stay here.

Room Tip: Opt for one of the apartments over a studio - even if there is only 2 of you. Ask for one of the vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Went before summer season, we were given a few 2 bed apartment . Kitchen well stocked with good quality glasses etc. Views from apartment 22 were great and it was lovely to sit on balcony to watch sun go down. Would recommend

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dax68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable Bay
2.7 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 5 in Mangonui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
1.4 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carneval Ocean View
Carneval Ocean View
#1 of 1 in Cable Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubtless Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubtless Bay Villas

Property: Doubtless Bay Villas
Address: 20 Dudley Crescent, Cable Bay, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand (Formerly Select Doubtless Bay Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Cable Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cable Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Doubtless Bay Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubtless Bay Villas offer luxury villa accommodation spread over three levels, each built and furnished to five star standards. All villas feature en-suites, full kitchen and laundry, a spacious lounge area, and indoor and outdoor dining options. From the private balconies there are spectacular views of the Karikari Peninsula and Pacific Ocean. The villas are available in one, two, or three bedroom options. Single level studios are also available. These well appointed studios feature king beds, en-suite, a kitchenette (Microwave, Kettle and Toaster), and ground level patio. Doubtless Bay Villas is the perfect base to explore the Far North in luxury and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Doubtless Bay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing