We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Doubtless Bay Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have just spent a fabulous Easter weekend at the villas. The views from our villa number 20 were absoloutely stunning. The modern contemporary furniture and layout was to high standard. Folding sliders allow windows to be opened to take in the landscape and sea view. Simply one of the best places we have stayed in highly recommend to anyone looking for great value for money, combined with space and elegance. Had all the facilities you need from dishwasher to full kitchen. Cable bay is a nice area but staying in this complex made the holiday.

Room Tip: Front villas stayed in 20 that was great some of the villas are a bit further back. Recommend the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steadyfreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, General Manager at Doubtless Bay Villas, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we are pleased you had a great stay! Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
86
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days in mid-March - really divine. We had some visitors from Norway with us and they were blown away.

The front room and main deck overlook the incredible view of the enormous Golden Sand beach. Very close to other beautiful beaches like Matai Bay - some of the best in NZ I think. Also to Cape Reinga and the sand dunes.

Played some tennis on the well-groomed court and ate dinner and drank wine on the deck. Definitely going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Recently spent two nights at the Doubtless Bay Villas staying in one of the Studio units on the ground floor. Accommodation was modern, clean and well appointed. Our view of Doubtless Bay was unfortunately partly blocked by another accommodation building but what we could see from our room was spectacular. The king size bed was very comfortable and shower fantastic.

On our arrival Shanny, one of the owners, showed us to our unit and explained the facilities. Complimentary fudge was nice touch.

If you like Thai food try the "Thai Chief" restaurant in Mangonui. Fabulous food at reasonable prices but would suggest you make a reservation as the mid week night we were there it was very busy.

Great place for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: If staying longer than 2 days would suggest one of the upstairs 1 or 2 bedroom apartments. Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lordsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Manager at Doubtless Bay Villas, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your awesome review Lordnz! It was lovely meeting you and I am thrilled you enjoyed the fudge! And I will most certainly pass on your compliments to the Mangonui Thai restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We came here last year and was so good that we brought 14 friends back for a weekend while we explored the Far North as part of a car club.
Steve and Shanny did a great breakfast and as usual provided first class accommodation . all our friend were delighted with the location, the local Thia restaurant and we will be back again later in the year.
A great location to use as a base.
PS plus lots of space and security to park the expensive cars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Manager at Doubtless Bay Villas, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you Chris s, it was great to see you again. What a treat to see all the awesome cars too! Thank you for recommending us, and we look forward to seeing you and the Car Club again later in the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We visited Doubtless Bay Villas in the winter and it was so good we came back again last month. I don't think there is a hotel in the North Island with a better view than DBV, certainly not with the same standard of rooms!
It is perched above a magnificent golden sand beach plus there is so many great beaches and places to see within 30 minutes drive we had a ball!
The kids love it we have booked in again next summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We loved this villa, the view and the bay. Our room was like new, modern, clean and included all the amenities. The mangers were most helpful with tours. I hated to leave. We loved it so much that I decided to cook in two nights. I had all the conveniences of home but in the beauty of NZ. Thank you for adding pleasure to our vacation. Highly recommend!


Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucierochon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed 2 night and was sad to leave. Great location on Cable bay with amazing views and stunning villas. Felt very welcome from the moment we arrive. Would suggest to families,couples and corporates to stay here in a heart beat.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raychil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Manager at Doubtless Bay Villas, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your great comments Raychil, it was lovely to meet you and hope to see you at Doubtless Bay Villas again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable Bay
3.0 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
10.6 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
0.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
0.2 mi away
Carneval Ocean View
Carneval Ocean View
#1 of 1 in Cable Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubtless Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubtless Bay Villas

Property: Doubtless Bay Villas
Address: 20 Dudley Crescent, Cable Bay, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand (Formerly Select Doubtless Bay Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Cable Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cable Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Doubtless Bay Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubtless Bay Villas offer luxury villa accommodation spread over three levels, each built and furnished to five star standards. All villas feature en-suites, full kitchen and laundry, a spacious lounge area, and indoor and outdoor dining options. From the private balconies there are spectacular views of the Karikari Peninsula and Pacific Ocean. The villas are available in one, two, or three bedroom options. Single level studios are also available. These well appointed studios feature king beds, en-suite, a kitchenette (Microwave, Kettle and Toaster), and ground level patio. Doubtless Bay Villas is the perfect base to explore the Far North in luxury and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Doubtless Bay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing