We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doubtless Bay Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Last minute plans meant this was the only accommodation we could find not booked out after Xmas. Views and location amazing, two stunning beaches close by. Stayed in a studio room - perfect for our needs. Everything was great except for servicing of our room was below average. In-room folder states daily servicing for studio rooms, I left our towels etc on floor of bathroom expecting clean ones as these were visibly soiled, wasn't till late in the evening when i spotted the soiled towels had been nicely hung back on the heated towel holder, had to request fresh towels!!!. Tea/coffee not refilled during servicing either, had to go to the office for tea bags etc Internet in room didn't work. We paid a premium price for the room and expected a higher standard of servicing to what was delivered. Lovely owners and in spite of poor servicing, we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asign0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Manager at Doubtless Bay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments, all feedback is much appreciated! With the wind down of our first busy Season at Doubtless Bay Villas, we have much to discuss and fine-tune. We take all comments seriously, and will be changing a few of the procedures we adopted when we took over this last year. I am glad to see you are wanting to return and look forward to more positive comments after your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Doubtless Bay Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 128 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have just completed a stay of three days in a studio apartment. The location of the villas is outstanding. Built on top of a hill overlooking Doubtless Bay provides wonderful and refreshing views without any obstruction. The villas are new and the facilities excellent. We also enjoyed the views of the night sky which were spectacular. We could hardly believe what we found when we arrived and the stay did not disappoint. There are plenty of good places to see and eat in the vicinity. We can thoroughly recommend this as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We rented a studio apartment which has limited cooking facilities but that suited us as we wanted a...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Manager at Doubtless Bay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for the great comments, about the Villas and the area! We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My partner and i stayed here for two nights in October and had a lovely time absolutely amazing rooms with awesome views , managers are wonderful , cannot fault this beautiful spot! Everything was very clean and a great private location , we walked all the way into mangonui and back and it was beautiful , we are wanting to come back with our families in a month or so , such a great place to stay you will not be disappointed :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chabex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Manager at Doubtless Bay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for the awesome comments, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Doubtless Bay Villas soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Designer fitout, exceptionally clean, wonderful welcome, spacious, quiet & super affordable.

Covered parking great & having the master bedroom above the lounge is a great design. Kitchen well stocked with the special touches like long stem wine glasses & oil.

The fresh fudge would impress any foodie - such a refreshing touch, thanks so much Shanny.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank polloRemuera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Manager at Doubtless Bay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments and I am pleased you enjoyed the fudge, We look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This place is one of the most beautiful weekend gateaways we've ever been to!! The villa is very luxurious with one of the most amazing views!!

Awesome hospitality by Shany!!! Thank you very much for an awesome weekend!!!
Amartya & Amrita

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amartya_Sen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Manager at Doubtless Bay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank You Amartya, we look forward to seeing you at Doubtless Bay Villas again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have just spent 3 days /2 night in the doubtless Bay Villas as we expored the Far north region.
these Villas aere very understated, all have great views, the accomodation is better than most hotels. been an apartment meant that if you wanted to you can do you own coooking, although we visited the Local Thai in Mangonui and the famous mangonui Fish shop.
A great location to explore and a great holiday property to do the Far North..

Room Tip: Ask for the front row apartments
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Manager at Doubtless Bay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you Chris, and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Was on a short trip away with my family who came to visit and stayed 2 nights at the Far North. Had a luxurious 3-bedroom villa to ourselves with spacious rooms and fully equipped kitchen. Wonderful memories were created here. Not forgetting the amazing ocean view from the living room and the double bedroom facing the sea.

Don't hesitate anymore, this is the place you wanna be and you will never regret!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Qiqi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable Bay
3.0 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
0.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Sand Beachfront Accommodation
1.2 mi away
Doubtless Bay Lodge
Doubtless Bay Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mangonui
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#3 of 3 in Cable Bay
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubtless Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubtless Bay Villas

Address: 20 Dudley Crescent, Cable Bay, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand (Formerly Select Doubtless Bay Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Cable Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cable Bay
Price Range: $131 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Doubtless Bay Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubtless Bay Villas offer luxury villa accommodation spread over three levels, each built and furnished to five star standards. All villas feature en-suites, full kitchen and laundry, a spacious lounge area, and indoor and outdoor dining options. From the private balconies there are spectacular views of the Karikari Peninsula and Pacific Ocean. The villas are available in one, two, or three bedroom options. Single level studios are also available. These well appointed studios feature king beds, en-suite, a kitchenette (Microwave, Kettle and Toaster), and ground level patio. all Villas and Studios are non-smoking. Doubtless Bay Villas is the perfect base to explore the Far North in luxury and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Doubtless Bay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing