We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubtless Bay Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Doubtless Bay Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We wanted to go to Fiji but didnt have the money so we decided the next best thing was to go to the winterless North and we are so pleased we did.
The accomadation was the best I have stayed I have experienced in NZ. The views from the apartments are incredible. There is so much to do in the surrounding region. The highlight was the drive on Ninty Mile Beach. Warning check the tides before you go we nearly got stuck!
Our 3 young kids said it was their best ever holiday! We are coming back in the summer

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
84
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

My partner and I just spent 2 nights at Doubtless Bay Villas in July, it was great! We had a studio room which was small but all we needed. We had AMAZING 180 degree views from our room/bed/patio. The onsite tennis court was a nice bonus also. Clean, new apartments which we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

What a great find. Super value. Everything is new and extreemly clean. Over looking the bay with beautiful beach and mountains. We could have not been more pleased.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobnojob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stunning room, stunning views, fantastic customer service. Thanks for a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Doubtless Bay Villas for two nights on our first trip to the Far north recently. We had no prior experience of the area and decided to stay at the villas purely through looking at the photos on their website, which looked pretty good. The price was reasonable too. We were delighted upon arriving to find the room (a studio suite) was every bit as good as the pictures suggested and the view was unbelievable. However it was the warm reception and fabulous service from Tom who works at the hotel, that made our stay so much more memorable. We will always remember our time there and look forward to visiting again sometime, and we recommend anyone visiting the Far North to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulyellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

My partner and I were visiting Northland in search of a future home in New Zealand. By chance, our realtor suggested we look at apartments within the Doubtless Bay Villas. We were so captivated by the location, the stunning architecture, and the build quality that we ended up staying in a two-bedroom unit for three nights. We were cheerfully greeted by Angela, who checked us in. The apartments are stunningly modern, with state-of-the-art kitchen and laundry facilities and elegant table-and cookware. The innovative design ensures privacy and complete acoustic separation from neighbours. The views of Doubtless Bay from the promontory upon which the complex is built, are incomparable. One can hear the waves on the beach and the call of marine birds. It's just a short drive or stroll to the lovely beach. Tom and Daniela do a wonderful job of maintaining the units - always with a friendly smile and eager conversation. After decades of travel for business and pleasure, I think we've finally found the very best. Many thanks to the Doubtless Bay Villas Team!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Two nights of bliss at a central location for visiting 90 mile beach and cape Reinga and also the beautiful bay of islands.
Our apartment was a two bedroom duplex with gorgeous views of the bay and surrounding landscapes. Price was very reasonable for the type of accommodation and there was milk and drink supplies given for arrival.
Would stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank applechapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable Bay
2.7 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 5 in Mangonui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
1.4 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carneval Ocean View
Carneval Ocean View
#1 of 1 in Cable Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubtless Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubtless Bay Villas

Property: Doubtless Bay Villas
Address: 20 Dudley Crescent, Cable Bay, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand (Formerly Select Doubtless Bay Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Cable Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cable Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Doubtless Bay Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubtless Bay Villas offer luxury villa accommodation spread over three levels, each built and furnished to five star standards. All villas feature en-suites, full kitchen and laundry, a spacious lounge area, and indoor and outdoor dining options. From the private balconies there are spectacular views of the Karikari Peninsula and Pacific Ocean. The villas are available in one, two, or three bedroom options. Single level studios are also available. These well appointed studios feature king beds, en-suite, a kitchenette (Microwave, Kettle and Toaster), and ground level patio. Doubtless Bay Villas is the perfect base to explore the Far North in luxury and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Doubtless Bay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing