We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubtless Bay Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doubtless Bay Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

My partner and I were visiting Northland in search of a future home in New Zealand. By chance, our realtor suggested we look at apartments within the Doubtless Bay Villas. We were so captivated by the location, the stunning architecture, and the build quality that we ended up staying in a two-bedroom unit for three nights. We were cheerfully greeted by Angela, who checked us in. The apartments are stunningly modern, with state-of-the-art kitchen and laundry facilities and elegant table-and cookware. The innovative design ensures privacy and complete acoustic separation from neighbours. The views of Doubtless Bay from the promontory upon which the complex is built, are incomparable. One can hear the waves on the beach and the call of marine birds. It's just a short drive or stroll to the lovely beach. Tom and Daniela do a wonderful job of maintaining the units - always with a friendly smile and eager conversation. After decades of travel for business and pleasure, I think we've finally found the very best. Many thanks to the Doubtless Bay Villas Team!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
84
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Two nights of bliss at a central location for visiting 90 mile beach and cape Reinga and also the beautiful bay of islands.
Our apartment was a two bedroom duplex with gorgeous views of the bay and surrounding landscapes. Price was very reasonable for the type of accommodation and there was milk and drink supplies given for arrival.
Would stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank applechapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

After a very busy start to the year we had a week off work and decided to travel to the Far North (Northland, New Zealand). We took two children with us. From the moment we talked to Glen at Doubtless Bay Villas to the very end of our visit we had a very relaxing time. It was helped by blue skys and little wind. Glenn was great. He sorted out visits up to the Cape and down 90 Mile Beach and the fishing trip. Peter caught a 10 kg snapper two days before a $45,000 fishing contest!!!! Talk about bad timing. Any way, the accommodation was great, the views at the Villas are as shown on their web site and we were treated as part of Glen's Glen's extended family.

We would go back and take friends also.

Room Tip: These are villas. We had 2 adults and 3 teenagers between 14 and 19 years of age in our unit and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SvH_PvH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Amazing location, views and apartments. We had a 3 bedroom villa - there were 3 couples - and it was spacious enough to all have our own facilities and not feel like you were tripping over each other (especially since it rained 4 of our 9 days there!)

Everything was spotless and the bed in the master bedroom was one of the most comfortable I've slept on.

Glenn - the Manager - was extremely helpful, always going that bit extra, and knew all the local knowledge and best places to eat.

We will definitely be back for another holiday in this stunning part of NZ!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiAussieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We booked this place because it was the only accommodation we could find not booked out over new years. More pricey than we'd hoped but didn't quite meet expectations. Views and location great. Room wasn't serviced in the week we were there - when we specifically asked we got fresh towels. Internet in room didn't work - we were offered the one in the office. Location special, everything else highly average & price above - average.

Room Tip: Studio rooms have no cooking facilities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank centralpinotlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

As a kid we used to holiday with the whole family in Doubtless Bay. 30 + years later I took my partner there for a weekend away. I knew about the villas having stayed at Select's Hanmer Springs resort where I picked up the brochure.

These villas are great. Spacious and very reasonably priced. Full kitchen to cook in if you wish. Glenn that manager couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating. We're planning to return with friends and take a three bedroom villa.

Glenn booked us a table at the Acorn Restaurant in Mangonui - make sure you go there too.

And as for the memories. The ice cream store near the beachfront still looks the same. Cable Bay hasn't changed much at all in 30 years. And that i liked!

Go there!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed here during the long weekend. The place is amazing, the room was immaculate, breath taking views and the service from Glenn was superb. Definately the perfect place for a getaway. Would definately come back again but stay longer next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable Bay
2.7 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 5 in Mangonui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
1.4 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carneval Ocean View
Carneval Ocean View
#1 of 1 in Cable Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubtless Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubtless Bay Villas

Property: Doubtless Bay Villas
Address: 20 Dudley Crescent, Cable Bay, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand (Formerly Select Doubtless Bay Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Cable Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cable Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Doubtless Bay Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubtless Bay Villas offer luxury villa accommodation spread over three levels, each built and furnished to five star standards. All villas feature en-suites, full kitchen and laundry, a spacious lounge area, and indoor and outdoor dining options. From the private balconies there are spectacular views of the Karikari Peninsula and Pacific Ocean. The villas are available in one, two, or three bedroom options. Single level studios are also available. These well appointed studios feature king beds, en-suite, a kitchenette (Microwave, Kettle and Toaster), and ground level patio. Doubtless Bay Villas is the perfect base to explore the Far North in luxury and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubtless Bay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing