We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carneval Ocean View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carneval Ocean View
Ranked #1 of 1 Cable Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the carnival, cable bay. Very much a home away from home. Every detail had been attended to. Beautiful setting with fantastic views. Our hosts, roly and Martha, could not have been nicer or more attentive. Both of them were very knowledgable and extremely helpful. I would have no hesitation In recommending carnival to anybody contemplating a stay In the doubtless bay region.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johndohert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carneval_8, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Good to hear, that you had a good trip back home. Thank you so much for your report. We hope to see again sometimes. Why not come up for a Ceili?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
118
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed with Roly and Martha for three nights, taking dinner on two of them.

The welcome, accommodation, location, hospitality, quality of breakfast and dinner were all out of the top drawer!

We recommend Carneval Ocean View without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlaxB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carneval_8, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your report. We do appreciate this!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxton Beach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Martha and Roly were wonderful and thoughtful host, they seem to think of everything we would need to make our stay special. When our daughter announced by phone that she had become engaged, Martha presented us with a delicious bottle of bubbles to celebrate! We loved the wonderfu,l long and delicious breakfasts chatting to other guests, enjoying the amazing food and incredible view. Everything was 'Spot On' and we'd love to return.

Louise and Neil

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carneval_8, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Hallo your two, thank you so much for taking the time to write a report. We are looking forward seeing you soon again, as your sister is building around the corner. Take care, Martha & Roly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in several B&B's during this holiday in NZ and Carneval Ocean View is right amongst the top ones. Fabulous food, fantastic location right above the ocean (only a 2 -3 minute walk down to the beach). This is perfect for a few days of relaxation and charging the batteries.
Martha and Roly put a big effort into the enjoyment of your stay.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, both have ocean views, the front room probably more though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carneval_8, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
As we can see, you had a good trip back. Thank you so much for your positive report. It would be with great pleasure, that we would forward seeing you again sometimes here in Cable Bay. Kind regards Martha & Roly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Roly and Martha's beautiful B&B. The view from our room was like a picture postcard and changed all the time. The room had everything and more we needed. Fresh fruit and chocolates every day! Our Swiss Style breakfast was amazing and I ate way too much Bircher muesli (and Dino's homemade breads/Marthas' preserves) every day. Conversation over breakfast was always good fun and so always took at least an hour or more - a very nice way to start the day. A great place for exploring the beautiful area - Roly and Martha are very knowledgeable about places to visit and the best beaches/restaurants..... We were sad to come home but will tell our friends about our find and will definitely be back for round 2!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheens_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carneval_8, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
So say, you had to go home in first place! Thank you so much for putting such a nice report to Tripadvisor. We really would look forward to round 2, sometimes. Kind regards Martha & Roly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was our second visit to Carneval and a must do on our return to New Zealand. Roly and Martha are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble and your enjoyment is their prime concern. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable, and lovely extras like tea, coffee and fruit are provided. Breakfast is to die for with home made bread, conserves and cake. Carnival is a must if going North, it is the best bed and breakfast we have ever had the pleasure of visiting. Thank you Roly and Martha, we look forward to our next visit with you.

Room Tip: Both rooms have sea views and both are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carneval_8, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome review. We wish you still a nice holiday in Russell and a lot of good memories you can take home with you. It was such a pleasure having you again! Kind regards Martha & Roly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Roly and Martha are the perfect hosts and made us feel so welcome in their beautiful Bed and Breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed their "Swiss Style" breakfast and conversations with them over the meal. The bedrooms and facilities were superb and the view could not have been better. Thank you Martha and Roly for making our three days stay so enjoyable.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carneval_8, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your your report. We trust, you had a good trip back home. We hope to see you again sometimes. Kind regards Martha & Roly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable Bay
2.9 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 5 in Mangonui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubtless Bay Villas
Doubtless Bay Villas
#1 of 3 in Cable Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Sand Beachfront Accommodation
2.9 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
2.0 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carneval Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carneval Ocean View

Property: Carneval Ocean View
Address: 360 State Highway 10 | Cable Bay, Cable Bay, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Cable Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cable Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carneval Ocean View 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation with panoramic views overlooking picturesque Doubtless Bay. Designed to Mediterranean style in spacious landscaped gardens, Carneval offers European-style B&B accommodation with two king size ensuite bedrooms. Heated with Finnish Tulikivi wall heating, a Tulikivi fire warms the lounge in winter.A short stroll to the safe swimming beach of Cable Bay, where guests enjoy relaxing in the sun, swimmming or fishing. Your hosts, Martha ad Roly, speak Swiss, German and French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Carneval Ocean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing