We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carneval Ocean View
Ranked #1 of 1 Cable Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

A return visit to stay with Martha and Roly who are the perfect hosts for a relaxing break in this stunning region of New Zealand. We had a 4 day stay towards the end of a 4 week tour of New Zealand. We were welcomed like family, and relaxed over great breakfasts and enjoyed a fantastic meal (cooked to perfection by Roly) on our final evening.
Our room had stunning views and lacked for nothing.
Excellent value, the only place to stay in the Cable Bay area.
Thank you both for your hospitality.
We will return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjmBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romada, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Hallo you two,
thank you for your report in Trip Advisor. It is great, that you liked your stay with us at Carneval. It would be great to see you again soon. In the moment we are on a bit of a break and think, what we could do to improve over the winter. Take care and kind regards, Martha & Roly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
121
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shipley, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Wonderful accommodation which is owned by wonderful people. Roly and Martha are so welcoming that we felt we were good friends on a return visit and not here for the first time. The room and the views were magnificent, so much so that my Wife insisted on leaving the curtains open all night, so as not to miss any of it. If we had not already booked onward accommodation we would have loved to stay here for extra nights.
The bedroom was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was enormous with bathrobes provided and an additional room with tea/coffee making facilties and ample storage for suitcases etc. All in all pure luxury.
The breakfasts were absolutely superb, (please see attached photo) and I now have Roly's "secret" recipe for his home made mueseli!!
Roly and Martha's local knowledge is first class, they are so helpful and ensure that you gain the maximum experience of the far north of the North Island in the time you have available.
I know it is a well worn phrase, but we did arrive as guests and we did leave as friends. Thank you Roly and Martha for being such perfect hosts.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slinda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romada, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Hallo you two,

thank you so much for your excellent report. We are happy, that you had a good time with us at Carneval. Good you got the recipe of the Muesli after all. We wish you a nice summer over in England and take care

Martha & Roly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altea, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Nice friendly hosts and Roly is a fantasic chef.They do everything to please their guests.Perfect location with marvelous view!It was our 4 stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asbjørn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romada, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Hallo Inger and Asbjorn, thank you very much for your good note. We will stay in contact, take care and have a happy Easter. Love Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW US
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We only had one night here, but it was a WOW! Beautiful views from the room and also the breakfast patio, great Swiss breakfast, and a very comprehensive recommendation for things to see and do in the area. Lovely spacious rooms and ensuite, lots of attention to detail. Martha and Roly have a wonderful relaxed attitude and are an absolute pleasure to visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magienoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romada, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear Jill, thanky you so much for your report. We have fixed the problem in the bedroom! We hope you still have a wonderfull time and we hope to see you again sometimes. Kind regards Martha & Roly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuerich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We were traveling the second time NZ and it was a must to stay again in this beautiful B&B. Martha and Roly do maintain their high standard of rooms, food and friendliness combined with professionalism. So beside of the opulent breakfast prepared by Roly (a former chef), Martha provides maps and advices for points of interest in the region. The maps and descriptions are even sealed in plastic and can be taken with you on your day trip. There is a lot to see, so two days, meaning three nights staying is a minimum.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Fan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in a comfortable and welcoming place where you could feel at home - Carnival is your choice. Both rooms are just the quintessence of comfort and care complete with a beautiful view.
The place is just across the road from the ocean and is ideally located for a morning swim or kayaking.
The breakfast is a delight (don't miss out on the wonderful home-made muesli). Otherwise the place is a short drive away from Mangonui where you can find whatever food you fancy for lunch and dinner.
Anyway Carnival is both an excellent place to stay if you are out discovering the North and a perfect choice if you just want to chill out in summer doing nothing much.
We liked it very much and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxanaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romada, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Hallo Oxana and Yury, thank you for the nice words and the very good report. It was a great pleasure to have you and your parents with us. Kind regards Martha & Roly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We booked both rooms at Carneval Ocean View for 2 nights from 16 Dec to 18 Dec 2011. My husband and I occupied one room with our infant son and my mother and brother occupied another room. It is a very quiet and peaceful place surrounded by stunning coastal scenery. Our hosts Roly and Martha were extremely friendly and made us feel very much at home. We were greeted with biscuits and wine upon arrival. They were happy to play with our baby while we enjoyed their delicious breakfasts...their homemade muesli is a must-have, even our baby who is a fussy eater wolfed it down! Although they did not have a travel cot with them, when we informed them that our baby would be with us, they obtained a cot for us without us having to even ask for one and this made our nights much easier. The rooms had amazing views and they were well equipped, very clean and comfortable. Roly and Martha also gave excellent recommendations on places to visit in the area. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to the region.
Dananka, Auckland

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dananka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romada, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Hallo Dananka, thank you for your report on Carneval. We are glad, you loved our place. It was our pleasure having you with us! Kind regards Martha & Roly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable Bay
2.9 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
0.1 mi away
Golden Sand Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
0.2 mi away
Doubtless Bay Villas
Doubtless Bay Villas
#1 of 3 in Cable Bay
124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanctuary in the Cove
Sanctuary in the Cove
#4 of 4 in Coopers Beach
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carneval Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carneval Ocean View

Property: Carneval Ocean View
Address: 360 State Highway 10 | Cable Bay, Cable Bay, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Cable Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cable Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carneval Ocean View 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation with panoramic views overlooking picturesque Doubtless Bay. Designed to Mediterranean style in spacious landscaped gardens, Carneval offers European-style B&B accommodation with two king size ensuite bedrooms. Heated with Finnish Tulikivi wall heating, a Tulikivi fire warms the lounge in winter.A short stroll to the safe swimming beach of Cable Bay, where guests enjoy relaxing in the sun, swimmming or fishing. Your hosts, Martha ad Roly, speak Swiss, German and French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carneval Ocean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing