We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must to stay when visiting the Far North”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carneval Ocean View
Ranked #1 of 1 Cable Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zuerich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must to stay when visiting the Far North”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We were traveling the second time NZ and it was a must to stay again in this beautiful B&B. Martha and Roly do maintain their high standard of rooms, food and friendliness combined with professionalism. So beside of the opulent breakfast prepared by Roly (a former chef), Martha provides maps and advices for points of interest in the region. The maps and descriptions are even sealed in plastic and can be taken with you on your day trip. There is a lot to see, so two days, meaning three nights staying is a minimum.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Fan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
120
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in a comfortable and welcoming place where you could feel at home - Carnival is your choice. Both rooms are just the quintessence of comfort and care complete with a beautiful view.
The place is just across the road from the ocean and is ideally located for a morning swim or kayaking.
The breakfast is a delight (don't miss out on the wonderful home-made muesli). Otherwise the place is a short drive away from Mangonui where you can find whatever food you fancy for lunch and dinner.
Anyway Carnival is both an excellent place to stay if you are out discovering the North and a perfect choice if you just want to chill out in summer doing nothing much.
We liked it very much and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxanaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romada, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Hallo Oxana and Yury, thank you for the nice words and the very good report. It was a great pleasure to have you and your parents with us. Kind regards Martha & Roly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We booked both rooms at Carneval Ocean View for 2 nights from 16 Dec to 18 Dec 2011. My husband and I occupied one room with our infant son and my mother and brother occupied another room. It is a very quiet and peaceful place surrounded by stunning coastal scenery. Our hosts Roly and Martha were extremely friendly and made us feel very much at home. We were greeted with biscuits and wine upon arrival. They were happy to play with our baby while we enjoyed their delicious breakfasts...their homemade muesli is a must-have, even our baby who is a fussy eater wolfed it down! Although they did not have a travel cot with them, when we informed them that our baby would be with us, they obtained a cot for us without us having to even ask for one and this made our nights much easier. The rooms had amazing views and they were well equipped, very clean and comfortable. Roly and Martha also gave excellent recommendations on places to visit in the area. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to the region.
Dananka, Auckland

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dananka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romada, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Hallo Dananka, thank you for your report on Carneval. We are glad, you loved our place. It was our pleasure having you with us! Kind regards Martha & Roly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Liebe Martha und Roli vielen Dank für eure tolle Gastfreundschaft. Die Einladung zum Nachtessen an Silvester wussten wir ganz speziell zu schätzen. Wir würden euer B&B jederzeit wieder auswählen, sogar 1-2 Tage anhängen. Alles Gute im 2012!
Annelies und Urs Lier

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursusli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Be pampered at Martha and Rolly's Carneval. We have no complaints at all. The breakfasts were great to sit around and have a chat with the hosts and get help with the local sights. The rooms were very clean and tidy .The view from balcony whilst sipping on local wines , fantastic. We liked Marthas muesli and she has just emailed us the recepie . And Rolly makes great coffee and poached eggs.

Paul and Lyn Christopher
Perth
Australia

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulwchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romada, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Hallo Paul and Lyn, it is great to hear, that you had a good trip back to Auckland and hope Alan feels better. Thank you for your report. It was great to have you with us and hope the weather will be much better next time. Kind regards Martha & Roly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Our second stay and we felt like part of the family. Beautiful views, delighful breakfast and cosy bed - what more could you want. Sited in Cable Bay, Carneval allows easy access to remote corners of New Zealand by-passed by bus tours. Martha and Roly are excellent hosts, helpful, warm and welcoming. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romada, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Dear Judy and Robert,
thank you very much for your report. It was great having you again. We wish you a nice Christmas and a happy New Year. Kind regards Martha & Roly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

In our 4 weeks 3 Danish generations' tour around New Zealand we chose Carneval Ocean at Doubtful Bay as our first destination, staying there for 4 nights.
Our high expectations were surpassed.
The friendliness of our hosts and their efforts to please us all from Anna at 2 years of age to Hans at 69.
Foodwise that would be a challenge, that was however easily met by Martha and Roly.
To say nothing about the view.
A warm recommendation.

Room Tip: Only two rooms, both with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans Ejvind H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romada, Owner at Carneval Ocean View, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Hallo Nina & Hans and the Langetoft Family,
thank you so much for this good report about our place. I think, you are not home by now, so we wish you a nice rest of your holiday in New Zealand. We cherish still the picture from Christoffer about the Kauri Tree. All the Best and take care, Martha & Roly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable Bay
2.9 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubtless Bay Villas
Doubtless Bay Villas
#1 of 3 in Cable Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Sand Beachfront Accommodation
2.8 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carneval Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carneval Ocean View

Property: Carneval Ocean View
Address: 360 State Highway 10 | Cable Bay, Cable Bay, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Cable Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cable Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carneval Ocean View 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation with panoramic views overlooking picturesque Doubtless Bay. Designed to Mediterranean style in spacious landscaped gardens, Carneval offers European-style B&B accommodation with two king size ensuite bedrooms. Heated with Finnish Tulikivi wall heating, a Tulikivi fire warms the lounge in winter.A short stroll to the safe swimming beach of Cable Bay, where guests enjoy relaxing in the sun, swimmming or fishing. Your hosts, Martha ad Roly, speak Swiss, German and French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Carneval Ocean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing