We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday in a great location”
other traveler has booked this property
Hot tub with outdoor fireplace and National Trust  dry stone wall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hot tub with outdoor fireplace and National Trust  dry stone wall
Awelon showing location and clifftop view..
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Hot tub with outdoor fireplace and National Trust  dry stone wall
Awelon showing location and clifftop view..
Porth Niegwl bay - view from house
Enter a caption for your photo
Hot tub with view over bay and Snowdonia
Super King size bedroom
Double Bedroom
Twin room
Family Bathroom with power shower and separate bath
Outdoor table on back terrace
Outdoor fireplace
View over Porth Neigwl from front garden
Mist at dawn - view from house
View from house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Rhiw, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J0hnK5
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful holiday in a great location”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just returned from a wonderful week at Awelon with our extended family and 2 dogs.
The house was very well equipped and very thoughtfully presented.
The garden was perfect for children to play in.
Stunning views from the house.
We enjoyed some great walks and played on 3 different beaches .
Plenty of room for all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: 2 lounges and kitchen
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arembi
Newmarket, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything we could have wanted and more!”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Had an amazing week in this beautiful old stone cottage reconnecting with friends we hadn't seen in ages. The place has been gorgeously renovated and extended in a style that fits in with its surroundings and the owner seems to have thought of everything to make guests comfortable.

Days were spent hiking the hills and walking on the beaches we could see from the windows and exploring the nearby towns and attractions (Aberdaron, Abersoch, Portmeirion). Great pub meals, seafood and more spectacular scenery.

Peace and quiet by the fire in the evening. What more could you want?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location & amenities
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare N
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a family get together, a wonderfully equipped cottage that feels like home”
Reviewed November 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We enjoyed a lovely week with extended family and dogs enjoying wonderful walks and making the most of the relatively quiet beaches. There was plenty of space for everyone to socialise together around the huge kitchen table. There was also plenty space for the children to play. We all enjoyed the garden and the views from the cottage were stunning as always. It is a lovely find, particularly as our dogs could accompany us on our family holiday.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2014
Glad you had a great time and thanks for the kind review - being able to seat 12 is a big plus for us and our visitors, as is dog walking straight from the house. Best wishes, Alex and Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn B
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Half Term Break”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is a superb property with plenty of room for our family, including 3 children and a baby.
The cottage is extremely well equipped (one of the best we have rented and there have been quite a few over the years). The appliances were of a good quality and there was plenty of crockery, cutlery and pots and pans.
The views are stunning and there is good walking. Unfortunately we were not lucky with the weather and only had one good day but I should think in the summer it will be good to sit on the patio look over the bay.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2014
Sorry the weather wasn't kinder - the views in winter are often better than summer when it is crisp and you can see the snow on the mountains. However thanks for your kind comments about the cottage - sitting down in front of the big log burner with a glass of wine protected from the elements almost makes up for climate !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A heavenly cottage in a superb location.”
Reviewed October 25, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The cottage is awesome, has everything you will possibly need including a well equipped kitchen. IT is great to have beaches and costal walks within easy reach and indeed you can walk from the front door. We took two dogs who loved the place and all the walks. Highly recommended. Thanks for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space but it also had a cosy feel.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2014
Thanks so much for your great review and glad you hit so lucky with the beautiful autumnal weather. Best Wishes, Alex and Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bheald
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot with great access to Lleyn peninsula activities”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

In the 70s three of us siblings went to the Lleyn peninsula from South Manchester every summer. This year we went back for the first time with our familes, and it was good as ever; and seemingly unchanged (in fact probably less busy than it used to be).

So we did waterworks on Whistling Sands, loved swimming at high tide from Porth Iago, rounders on Porth Golman and wonderful body boarding on Ceiriad (when amazingly we had a kilometre of beautiful beach to ourselves one sunny Friday evening at 7pm.

Awelon is a great base for everything. Right on the (new) coastal path, so my sister was happy as she could easily walk her dog in the morning. Just a few minutes down to Aberdaron to the baker for croissant in the morning. And half a mile from Hell's Mouth (which Mum never took us to when we were kids), which my brother and I ran along one evening. The views north to Snowdon on a clear day are unbelievable! You can also see the Dublin hills! And the hills in central Wales!

The cottage is pretty spacious - one big double with a new ensuite and plenty of other configurations. The kitchen is very well appointed and as well as a lovely old old-fired Stanley, there's loads of Miele appliances. We had a very slow roasted double leg of lamb with roasties that was yum.

As well as the big kitchen table there are two big sitting rooms, so we could easily spread out for board games, jigsaws, bridge, etc.

My only comment is that the two spare extra beds to take the accommodation to 12 are in my view not really comfortable enough for adults; and they're difficult to move around the property; but a very minor quibble.

Finally, the owners are friendly and helpful. What more could you want?

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2014
Many thanks for the kind comments - we are so pleased you had such a great time. Best Wishes Alex and Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandmumm...
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful home for a Family get-together...”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

An ideal house for a family with young children. It is very tastefully furnished, kitchen very well equipped with everything needed, and the situation is in a beautiful setting. The view is stunning, surrounded by mountains, overlooking the four mile stretch of Hell's Mouth Bay.
Near a number of family beaches. It is not far from Aberdarron, which is convenient for grocery shopping and a Bakery very worth a visit , with a selection of eating places too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in a house which was home from home...
Liked least: Leaving, after a wonderful stay with my family !
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review - it sounds like you had a great time and we have you booked in for your next visit as requested ! Best wishes Alex and Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing