We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly good stay”
Review of Hotel Tayka de Sal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tahua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tayka de Sal
Ranked #1 of 1 Tahua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour so I cannot evaluate value for money as part of this write-up.

We were a little concerned at first since this place looked dingier than we expected (having paid a premium for a private tour). With that said, our room was basic but cute: two double beds with comfortable mattresses and pillows with fleece sheets and plenty of blankets. We were warm even though the electricity/heat were turned off at 11 pm. We also managed to squeeze in a warm shower when we arrived (heating via solar panel so we were warned the morning water temperature might not be so forgiving).

Dinner was quite good and they even accommodated a vegetarian meal request. Breakfast, however, was below average since the bread was a bit stale. The dining room is very charmingly designed with seats made from salt blocks and quinoa designs on the table.

Considering we were in the middle of the Salar, these were very comfortable accommodations.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passportable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tayka de Sal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 145 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

We liked our stay in this salt hotel with a nice view on the Salar. We were lucky to have a very big room with nice views on the salar and the vulcano Tunupa. and a beautiful sunset. We did the trip with Hidalgo Tours, with a very competent guide (Herlàn) and driver (José) and in every Tayka hotel, we had a beautiful room. I must say, we saw some other rooms in the hotel, who were not occupied, and there is a big difference in quality!. Food was OK, a little spicy in the evening, and in the morning it was a bit of begging to receive some more litlle breads. It was fine to sit on the terrace in the morningsun, and to see the lama's wandering around. There are some works on the terrace for the moment. It is not cheap, but it is nice to have a good room, hot water and good food. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room with views at the vulcano and the salar
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liesenluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is another Tayka hotel that I stayed during my trip to Bolivia in December 2012.

Tayka is a chain of hotels kind of owned by the local community and for the local people. Money earned are to be shared with the local.

Location: It is remote. Compared with many other hotels in Uyuni or at the shore of the salt flat near Uyuni, this place is far. But it gives you an authentic experience.

View: You can see the salt flat from a higher view point as the hotel is on a hill. You can walk from the hotel to some deserted buildings nearby, and it is quite scenic. Walking from the hotel to the salt flat took about 30 minutes one way.

Mount Tanupa is nearby and the hotel is almost at the foot of the Tanupa. You can see it from the hotel.

Comfort level: The hotel is a salt hotel, many furniture is made of salt. But the "salt content" is not as much as the other one that I stayed (Hotel Luna Salada, which I will write a review). I think the hotel is comfortable. Especially after a long day, the hot shower is a nice end to the day. Bed are comfortable, though don't compare with a five stars in Bangkok! I think the hotel has done what it can already to make its guest comfortable. I have no complaint.

Food: The food is nice. Bread is good, as I remember (but the bread of the other Tayka in the desert was nicer :-))

Rating: It is given a 5 star for its location and comfort level, and the fact that it is the best choice nearby. It is more on a relative scale than on an absolute scale. Would I stay here again? Absolutely.

Comparison: Comparing with the famous Hotel Luna Salada, I would say this one has better view and more character. OK, Luna Salada is famous and run more like a modern hotel, but I don't think the two differ a lot in terms of comfort level. Luna has done a great job to have everything made of salt in the room, but I somehow don't like stepping on salt (yes, the whole floor is covered by salt), and the floor of Tayka de Sal is wooden floor, which I like it better. Of course, this means the room of Tayka is less exotic, but it is made up by its location and views.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMember06092015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is as you should already now in the middle of nowhere, some 500 meters from a little village. The view from the restaurant to the salar is really impressive. The staff was really nice, the rooms where comfortable (although a little cold at night) and the showers were hot and with decent water pressure. The restaurant menu was really tasty and the breakfast was also quite OK. If you are looking for a unique experience and can sacrifice some comfort or luxury, this place is totally worth it! One tip: if you travel in Winter, a sleeping bag could save your night: they have heating but at night they turn it off and the rooms get really cold.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is the most rustic and unusual hotel we have ever stayed in and. It is in the most remote destination ever.
In saying that we had no expectations what so ever and were thrilled with the results
The hotel is so remote it doesn't even have a road to it. You really need the powerful four wheel drive provided for the area.
When we arrived we were told there was hot water between 6.30 am and pm. All other times cold. That was ok. We were told we had the honeymoon suite which was a spacious room with little amenities but a lot of charm. The first two heaters tried didn't work but the owner cheerfully tried a third and it worked, if on half strength. As the whole hotel was made of salt bricks it was relatively warm considering the near freezing temperatures outside.
It was fine. The bathroom was clean with plenty of hot water at the stated times
Our bed was wonderful and extremely warm with fleecy sheets and plenty of lightweight but warm bedding. It was all very clean.
The dining room was cold til they lit a big open fire.. The staff were cheerful and friendly and the food, if somewhat limited was delicious.. From the dining room you could see into the kitchen and watch the food preparation.. We also saw a lovely little impromptu dance,between the staff while they prepared our meals.
From our windows we looked down onto the plains with llamas grazing then onto the salt.
Staying in this hotel was truly an experience and one we wouldn't have missed for the world.

Room Tip: Try for the honeymoon suite. It was good for us
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

i just came back from a 3night stay with my family (2 girls 6&9year old very city girls!)
our stay was wonderful since this is REAL BOLIVIA! a country that is not commertialized and AT ALL tourist orientated! they re what they are! dont try to change them! simply PREPARE FOR THE WORST SO THET BEST WILL HAPPEN!

Our idea of "clean" is not theirs! their idea of "COMFORT" is definately not ours! it is a different world but worth knowing!
we took our own sleeping bags that we used every night to avoid "not very clean" fleece kind of sheets & heating dissapearing at 2am when we needed it most! it was the best we could have done! temperatures dropped to -18celcius at night! cold but the best if you want to see the most amazing night skies in the world! i am a patagonian and still Uyuni was amazing!

breakfast, food in general was wnderful for bolivian standards! my wife is from Buenos Aires and she would say hotel could be improved in many ways... but then it would not be Bolivia!

GO! specially if you have kids and you want them to experience a different world.. with no TV,limited resources but where people are still very happy and closer to God & mother Earth"Pachamama"

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank pedroporqueras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Most furnishings (bed frame, sofa frame, table) in the room are made of salt. Comfortable bed with extra blankets provided if you're cold. Staff are friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant is good.

Room Tip: Do check with the staff when hot water and electricity will be available. When we were there, electr...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violetferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tayka de Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tayka de Sal

Address: Salar de Uyuni, Tahua, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Tahua
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tahua
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing