We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel though not enough hot water”
Review of Hotel Tayka de Sal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tahua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tayka de Sal
Ranked #1 of 1 Tahua B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good hotel though not enough hot water”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

It's a really nice experience to stay at this hotel because the hotel is built from salt. You sleep on salt beds, the walls are made from salt blocks and the lamps too.

Great views, especially of the Volcan Tunupa which is located aside the hotel.

The hotel is one of the best around on the salar and you pay accordingly. Therefore I was a bit dissapointed that the hot water was finished by 6 pm....also, they had central heating on gas but they run out of gas...
We did get an electric heating blower that we could use all night because they have 24/7 electricity.

At this part of the salar you can still use your mobile phone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    56
    41
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
68
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Right next to the salar, with a terrace where you can sit with a beer in the sun and watch the lama's coming home to their stables in the evening, a responsable Oscar who tries to please every tourist, hot water, heating in your room, a fire place burning whem you are having your dinner, entertained by local dance and music, breakfast with fresh breath rolls and a lunch package worthy of that name what do you want more in such a remote place !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gokeAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place has lots a great touches that make it a wonderful place to stay on a tour of the salt flats. Beautiful setting (make sure to get up early and watch the sunrise). Almost everything is made out of salt including the beds, walls and some furniture. The doors are made of giant cactus wood. Rooms are warm and cosy. There is a beautiful fireplace in the dining room. Dinner and breakfast were good - not great. Traditional singers/dancers came from the village next door to entertain us during dinner which was a lovely touch. I really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingleMindedExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Amazing setting, with the Salar in front and the volcano to your left. Very comfortable beds, but dont expect great food. They use margerine in everything!! Also, be advised that you will pay a cork fee if you BOB.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromont, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is located in Tahua, right next to the Salar.

We were there on our second night of a three-days tour of the area. First night was at Hotel de Piedra (desert). This place here is more cosy, but it is closer to services (compared to the desert one). Same owner, similar concept, except that this one is made of salt. It is a walk from the village of Tahua and lots of llamas are grazing around the hotel with the volcan Tunupa in the background and the Salar at the close horizon. Beautiful setting.

Electricity runs all night long. Heat stops at 2am. Hot water works with solar power, so make sure you shower before 7am. Dinner is served at 7pm and is ok. Alcohol is expensive, but I guess it is a good way for your drinking habit to profit the local community. Breakfast is a notch better here than Hotel de Piedra, but depending on your timing, bread (at both places) can be more or less fresh.

It is cold (as any hotel in/around the Salar), but with proper clothes you'll managed.

Oscar, the on-site manager, is very helpful and present. He will help with anything (even repairing sunglasses) and he is very efficient.

Not disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricMonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon Beach, Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

A community run Salt Hotel on the edge of the amazing Salt Flats, totally constructed of blocks of salt. Even the bed bases, and some chairs in the restaurant are built from salt blocks. Quite good views over the salt flats. Food was OK, but not as good as some of the other Bolivian "remote lodges" we visited . Home backed bread rolls were great.
Our overriding feeling though, was that these people were trying really hard, but their efforts were not that well executed. They had gone to the trouble (and expense) of installing 2 different built in heating systems. One, a wall mounted hot water panel heater, which probably didnt work because of the iffy solar hot water. Then there was quite new gas heaters, which the Manager said they dont use anymore, because they produce Carbon Monoxide, that makes people sick (who was advising them before this expensive purchase ?). All quite unfortunate.
Why do we mention this ?
It was mid winter, and salt blocks are cold.
Our room had a small fan heater with loose electrical cords....so it would work for a while, then it wouldnt. Room was always cold.
Also, on arrival, we were encouraged to have a quick shower whilst the solar heated water was still warm. We clearly understand this, and did as suggested. The water was quite cold, but thats OK, we would almost expect that. Funny thing is that next morning whilst washing our faces in the handbasin, the hot water tap delivered scalding hot water ! Was there a gas back up ?
Also in the morning there had been a blackout for a few hours. That's OK, we are in a remote part of the world, and we are understanding travellers....but why did no-one want to light the (wood) fireplace to heat the restaurant at breakfast ?? The room was freezing !.. There was a roaring fire lit the previous evening. We suggested it, but nothing happened.
We left this place a llittle bewildered.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davlynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Good concept ( family cooperation, wall & bed & dining chairs and table madof sal), good location (overlooking salar and possibly tonight's dinner, llama), very corteous staffs ( despite of my spanish shortcoming and his english). However, three stars hotel it is not ( cold, window and door not wind proof/ insulated). Come with open heart and open mind, a grain ( or a desert) of salt and realistic comfort expectation and you would enjoy your stay as we did.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simpangratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tayka de Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tayka de Sal

Property: Hotel Tayka de Sal
Address: Salar de Uyuni, Tahua, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Tahua
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tahua
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing