We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit!!”

Keenan's Hotel Bar and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $46
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant on the Roscommon Longford border offers an experience not to be missed. Welcomed by a warm reception from the owners Barry and Annette and their friendly staff, taste our superb, award winning food and stay in our stylish, luxury boutique bedrooms with a stunning view of the River Shannon. Our boutique hotel and restaurant marries in with our traditional but classic bar, blending old and new, where history and tradition meet luxury and style.Keenan's is strategically located in the picturesque village of Tarmonbarry. The first Hotel, Bar and Restaurant in the West, when travelling on the N5 from Dublin to Mayo. Situated on the Longford Roscommon border on the banks of the River Shannon, where East meets West. Located on the N5, between Longford town and Strokestown, approx 135km from Dublin Airport and 125km from Westport, perfect place to break a long journey.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must visit!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I fell across Keenan's in Tarmonbarry when on our holidays cruising the Shannon by boat......we loved it.....we now visit whenever we r passing through this area as a treat! Today on route to Westport we visited again, and once again not disappointed - friendly staff & great food! This restaurant is a must visit if passing through the village!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TEDplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    39
    9
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Simply the best...”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you're travelling west to Roscommon or Mayo.. Don't eat till you get to Keenan's pub. Stopped on way to Castlebar and on way back to Dublin. Delicious food and efficient staff in lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DublinHappy_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Level Contributor
325 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good Food & Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I met up with a friend here. The atmosphere was good and there was a reasonable selection of lunch specials. I didn't want a full meal so I simply ordered a starter which was excellent (black pudding in mustard sauce on a bed of mash). Good espresso coffee too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank therealnickpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Greedy!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

i have eaten in this establishment on numerous occasions. i always found the food nice. However, on this occasion we were greeted by little notes on each table explaining to us customers that due to some problem with the water supply in the area, tap water could not be supplied at the table. We were greeted by the owner who bemoaned this fact and said how terrible it was that this infliction was set upon them for the next eight weeks. She also said that the water on the other side of the bridge was perfect.
I foolishly ordered a large bottle of water as i did not fancy trying to get through a peppery burger without something to drink. I spoke to two very pleasant, elderly ladies beside us who had also happened to order the burgers but I did notice that they did not have anything to drink. When the bill arrived, i then realised why. We were charged 5€ for a half litre or so bottle of water and somehow my sympathy for Mrs Keenan dissolved very quickly. i immediately called her over and explained how disgraceful it was to profiteer on the fact that the local tap water was unavailable. She said absolutely nothing as she could not defend herself. The old lady beside me immediately agreed and told me they were charged 2.50 each for 2 glasses of water the previous day so they were doing without. These were actually locals. I was livid. i always tip reasonably well and needless to say, there was no tip this time which also annoyed me afterwards. The poor staff were also suffering from this profiteering owner.

Solution. Get a couple of 10 gallon drums and tip across the river and fill them up from somebody's tap. That will fill enough jugs to keep your customers happy and it will take 10 minutes. Other possibility. Charge your customers 100% profit on the bottled water rather than the 500% or more profit you are making on the bottles. Look after your customers.
This one certainly will not be returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good Food Excellent Service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The service and food are better than most in the region. The food is home made and the soups are excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SEAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keenan's Hotel Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Tarmonbarry, County Roscommon
Tarmonbarry, County Roscommon
 
Ballyleague, County Roscommon
 
Longford, County Longford
 

Been to Keenan's Hotel Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing