We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money Grabbers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarmonbarry
Certificate of Excellence
Crossmolina, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Money Grabbers”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I have been visiting Keenans for years and this evening my family and I visited this Restaurant .I asked the waitress if one of my kids could have a ham sandwich and she refused to serve this and stated "we can only serve you a toastie " I explained I did not want it toasted but she said it was not possible .
The only reason for this is they can charge twice the price for a toastie .
And over 9 euro for a seafood chowder , come on .Take my advice folks drive an other 10 mins and eat in the percy french top spot who know how to treat their customers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rageman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    40
    22
    11
    10
See reviews for
57
56
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here a few times before and it's handy when travelling from Mayo to Dublin. THe food is pub grub and was generally good but this visit was disappointing! The service was slow, the starter arrived with bits missing, the main course was cold etc etc..
The venue is well located but location means nothing when the service and food are poor and not value for money. I might try it again on my next journey out, but if its any way the same, will not feel bad about walking out.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Connemaraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stopped here both coming and going from the West on a recommendation from a friend. Typical pub food on offer with quite an extensive menu. Food very well presented and tasty. Staff were extremely friendly but the reason I did not give it five stars is because the service was a little slow and given that a high percentage of clients were "en route" the service could have been a little faster.

However I would 100% recommend it as a place to stop off. Very scenic location too right on the Shannon river although it was raining while we were there so we didn't see very much.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mollieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I recently dined at Keenans with my family, when we arrived we were given a lovely seat in the garden. The food was very nice, large portions, one thing that I would say was that the fruit on top of the pavalova dessert tasted like onions, obviously the fruit had been cut with the same knife as the onions. The staff were all very nice (one in particular was a little OTT), will definitely return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Half way on the way to Sligo for a summer holiday we detoured off the main route. Really nice lunch in the garden at back of pub and had a really nice walk down to the lock to see some boats going through.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_McN_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed with a group of adults and kids and really enjoyed the stay. Located on the River Shannon, the location is picture perfect. Clean, boutique style rooms, spotlessly clean. Had dinner in the pub, huge portions and buffet and cooked to order breakfast.. Only thing missing from breakfast was the Morning Papers! Great and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nftIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on the way from Dublin to Westport.
There were 35 of us and they were great, they were ready for us and supplied a quick and tasty lunch of soup and sandwiches and salads, there were lots of dietary requirements and they catered for them all.

They are situated on the river which was lovely to watch some boats go by.

Thank you Keenans.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarmonbarry
13.2 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
215 reviews
13.9 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
629 reviews
7.9 mi away
Percy French Hotel
Percy French Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strokestown
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,010 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
214 reviews
22.0 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant

Property: Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Address: Tarmonbarry, Tarmonbarry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Tarmonbarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarmonbarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keenan's Boutique Hotel on the Roscommon Longford border offers an experience not to be missed. Welcomed by a warm reception from the owners Barry and Annette and their friendly staff, taste our superb, award winning food and stay in our stylish, luxury boutique bedrooms with a stunning view of the River Shannon. Our boutique hotel and restaurant marries in with our traditional but classic bar, blending old and new, where history and tradition meet luxury and style.Keenan's is strategically located in the picturesque village of Tarmonbarry. The first Hotel, Bar and Restaurant in the West, when travelling on the N5 from Dublin to Mayo. Situated on the Longford Roscommon border on the banks of the River Shannon, where East meets West. Located on the N5, between Longford town and Strokestown, approx 135km from Dublin Airport and 125km from Westport, perfect place to break a long journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing