We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarmonbarry
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique and enjoyable”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed with a group of adults and kids and really enjoyed the stay. Located on the River Shannon, the location is picture perfect. Clean, boutique style rooms, spotlessly clean. Had dinner in the pub, huge portions and buffet and cooked to order breakfast.. Only thing missing from breakfast was the Morning Papers! Great and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nftIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    40
    22
    11
    10
See reviews for
57
56
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on the way from Dublin to Westport.
There were 35 of us and they were great, they were ready for us and supplied a quick and tasty lunch of soup and sandwiches and salads, there were lots of dietary requirements and they catered for them all.

They are situated on the river which was lovely to watch some boats go by.

Thank you Keenans.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying at Keenan's over the last 17 months on a very regular basis. I believe I have just completed visit number fifteen.

Keenan's was highly recommended to me and my colleagues by one of our business partners from Longford.

I consider it an absolute privilege to be able to not only stay and dine here but also to share the friendship of the owners, Barry and Annette, and their very lovely staff.

So much do I enjoy my stays here that I brought my daughter to stay on a recent visit from Australia!

It is without hesitation that I recommend Keenan's of Tarmonbarry to fellow business travelers and social travelers alike.

Thanks to all.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I travel down to the west of Ireland and would always stop off on Keenans, food an service r always top class, I travelled west last wk n stopped off as usual and got the chicken skewers, what a dish, from first bite to last amazing flavours n juices n dips unreal so I tip my hat to the chef amazing, looking forward to going west soon

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank damiencarney16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed here with work and what a fantastic place to stay.
I will be back at some point with my wife for a trip round Ireland.
Family run hotel and all of the people I met were great people I love the trip.
Thanks to all the family and staff at Keenan's for a Great stay.

Room Tip: one looking over the river towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offaly
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here many times, and first time staying.

Firstly, no one there to meet you on arrival, secondly shown to room by someone who was not interested in leaving their duties in bar and restaurant. They stomped and huffed all the way to the room and I had to ask about late access and breakfast.

The room is really well kitted out, spacious and comfy. However it was freezing and this did not appear to change later at night or early in the morning unfortunately. Thankfully duvets and sheets are good!

Breakfast was a disappointment for somewhere whose restaurant is really really good, I think I was only guest but it was a struggle to get anything at all.

Check out was also difficult and no one was there to accept payment. When I ventured to the bar, I was told they don't open until bar opens, but they took payment!

Overall, very disappointed and would not recommend. It appeared that guests were not welcome or wanted I'm sorry to say.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank OffalyPk1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Myself and a friend have eaten here several times over the last eighteen months or so . We ate there last week giving it one final outing as our previous experience to this was also disappointing.....what do I say steak cold as was veg staff very friendly as normal but the reality is that keenans is pub grub at a hugely inflated price .....I actuall believe the steaks could possibly be the most expensive outside of Dublin and sadly the quality does not match the prices of anything on the menu. Disappointed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jockser13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarmonbarry
13.2 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
215 reviews
13.9 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
629 reviews
7.9 mi away
Percy French Hotel
Percy French Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strokestown
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,011 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
214 reviews
22.0 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant

Property: Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Address: Tarmonbarry, Tarmonbarry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Tarmonbarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarmonbarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keenan's Boutique Hotel on the Roscommon Longford border offers an experience not to be missed. Welcomed by a warm reception from the owners Barry and Annette and their friendly staff, taste our superb, award winning food and stay in our stylish, luxury boutique bedrooms with a stunning view of the River Shannon. Our boutique hotel and restaurant marries in with our traditional but classic bar, blending old and new, where history and tradition meet luxury and style.Keenan's is strategically located in the picturesque village of Tarmonbarry. The first Hotel, Bar and Restaurant in the West, when travelling on the N5 from Dublin to Mayo. Situated on the Longford Roscommon border on the banks of the River Shannon, where East meets West. Located on the N5, between Longford town and Strokestown, approx 135km from Dublin Airport and 125km from Westport, perfect place to break a long journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing