We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cuffie River Nature Retreat and Eco-Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Blue Haven Hotel(Bacolet Bay)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Acajou Hotel(Grande Riviere)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
92
16
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
16
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstail endasa wrightnature loversthe owner managerbird watchinghumming birdshour walkalarm clockthree nightshummingbird feedersthe salt water poolfelt securebird lifecallaloo soupfrench doorsvery special placecommon areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 110 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2008

Having to book the accommodations for our vacation in Tobago and choosing Cuffie River out of the phone book. It was a very pleasant surprise to us all when we arrived.

The rooms were very clean and spacious with all the amenities that we needed.
The owner was so welcoming and accommodating that it made the stay at Cuffie very enjoyable.

The food was mainly local dishes but everything was delicious.

It is the type of place you want to go to get away from it all and just relax, and when it rains its soo romantic.

We just love it.

  • Stayed: August 2004, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank seanpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

We intially booked a week at the start of a 3-week holiday and were so delighted we spent the last 4 nights there as well. Birders know about it, which is why we booked it, but it is more than that if what you want is a beautiful setting, a well run hotel, fantastic local food and peace; quiet is also there, but the chachalacas and parrots do their best to keep things lively. The owner Regina Sanchez lives at the hotel, so standards do not slip and any help or advice is there.

The tone was set when we first arrived and I asked what was for dinner. "Goat Curry", was the answer. The food is Tobagan and absolutely on the button. You eat the evening meal with the other guests, which we found enjoyable as there is no 'entertainment' other than the other guests or your own company. There is no cocktail bar so the trend is bed early, rise early, but you are there for the forest and the birds, not pina coladas. There was nothing better than a beer following a swim in the pool looking at the humming birds whipping through the hotel to feed on the garden feeders.

The hotel is set in a bowl of rain forest with walks everywhere, but best in the company of Desmond the hotel guide. A lovely man who calls the birds down so they can be seen. We will go back.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank PhilDMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
L'Orignal, Ontario, Canada
18
Reviewed May 18, 2006

We visited this lodge for three days and found it very clean,comfortable and attractive. The lodge is set in a delightful tropical rainforest and guests can expect to be awakened in the morning to the noisy Rufous -vented Chachalaca feeding on the fruit in the trees just outside of their window. This is truly a delightful birding spot, we had a very close up view of a Motmot sitting on a lamp right alongside the lodges balcony and it stayed long enough for us to collect our cameras and take some really close up shots.
We took a two hour walking tour with Desmond, the resident guide. We found him very knowledgeable and friendly.
The charming owner/manager showed us to our room and she briefed us on the room and meal tmes etc. The room had a kettle and many varieties of tea; I found this particularly comforting as I had the misfortune of developing a nasty cough, a warm cup of camomile tea during the night was most welcome.
Meals were very good and were mostly local dishes, we were introduced to several native fruits and vegetables.
I have no hesitation in recommending the lodge, being in quite secluded spot some form of tranportation should be arranged. I understand the management will assist in making the necessary arrangements. We were part of a birding tour group and had our transportation arranged for us.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
223
Reviewed March 30, 2004

This place so was so peaceful and very quiet. Being about 3 miles from anything, it is good to rent a car or be willing to pay a cab for transport. The all-inclusive deal is good to consider. Mr. Sanchez was so accomodating, and truly provides any service that you need while there. Gene's dinners are amazing and huge! Its definately worth taking the 3 hour hike through the rainforest to see the gorgeous birds. Go for the executive suite! It's awesome! The hotel itself is beautiful and very comfortable. I would go back, for sure!

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
19
Reviewed January 17, 2004

January 2004 Very hospitable and excellent cooking, birding (take sensible footwear and be prepared to walk gently for two hours or so).
We felt as if we were paying guests in the Sanchez' home.Quite remote and accessed by 2.5 mile unmade road from nearest village. They do have a pool and tab;le tennis facility if needed.When we go back to Tobago, we will definitely re-visit

RBW

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews