We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous time dispute some reviews.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous time dispute some reviews.”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have just returned from a week at this hotel and it couldn't have been better. When we arrived we were greeted by a very cheery receptionist who checked us in and arranged for our bags to go to our rooms. We had second floor rooms with a view over the beach, it was clean and well equipped and remained that way throughout the holiday. Bed linen and towels being changed every day. The food was good and meals to suit most tastes, the staff were attentive and polite and provided drinks from the bar for all meal times. I can really say that our stay was enjoyable and we were able to get WIFI in our rooms as well as in the communal areas, which was good as I had left my phone at home by mistake. The icing on the cake as far as we were concerned was the Turtles that came up onto the beach at night, if you want the staff will ring you in your room to let you know that they are there. Yes I will definitely be returning to this hotel. Thank you all for a great time!

Room Tip: You won't need it all rooms face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janetteann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
it is comforting to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and the product and services on offer were satisfactory to you.. Your acknowledgement of the efforts by the staff to deliver on our promise is very well received.

As such, we would like to thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and for taking the time out to review the product and services provided during your stay.

We are happy to know that your had the privileged opportunity to see the Leatherback turtle come up directly in front of the hotel to lay their eggs, which is a fantastic feature throughout the nesting season March to August every year.

Once again, thank you for choosing us and we certainly look forward to your return visit when we could warmly welcome you and offer our customary Repeaters package.

kindest regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    463
    231
    153
    120
See reviews for
361
525
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Arrived and were not expecting to much as it's only a 3 star resort. However the location is amazing and the view from our balconied room was jaw dropping. The beach was literally a stones throw from the balcony, and a big stone at that. The food was great, all local produce with lots if fresh catch of the day, which, if you get up early enough you will see being brought up to shaw right outside.
On the whole the staff were very friendly, however some of the bar staff we're a bit gruff and depending on who got made each cocktail completely different.
We were worried to book with independent tours guides that pitched for business on the beah by the pool but were really impressed with the amazing Keith of A team tours who we went back to for everything we did - snorkelling, fishing, rainforest tours Etc. All in all an incredible place to visit, don't hesitate. One last thing, when booking a taxi ask for Elvis, local bloke and great guy.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliewildestratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday.

Its wonderful to hear that you were very satisfied with the product and services in the hotel and also the auxiliary services provided by the local taxi driver and Tour Guide.

Your effort in taking the time to write a review about your experience with the product and services offered at the hotel during your stay is very much appreciated and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of the staff to deliver warm and friendly service.

Your comment regarding the inconsistency from the bartenders as it relates to the service and the quality of product provided is concerning to us and I can assure you this will be addressed.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and for taking the time to post your review.

We do look forward to seeing you in the near future when we could offer the customary warm welcome and our Repeaters Package.

Kindest regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Reading some of the reviews it was a worry what we were going to .. we needn't have worried as our stay was excellent and we were totally relaxed. The great thing is the location, beautiful views and we were a few steps from a stunning beach. The food was varied , hot and well presented and the majority of the staff in the restaurant were excellent - one of the supervisors in the blue uniform was particularly good. Most staff were friendly, approachable and helpful. The head chef was visible and approachable too. The only comment I would make is that the restaurant has a lovely a la carte menu ( friends of ours had it a said it was excellent) and it isn't very well promoted. We had no complaints about any of the food for the week. The location of the beachside dining is great. We weren't as keen on the main restaurant - nothing wrong just preferred the sea view. Our room was older but it was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed for a week. Our housekeepers were very good - no complaints. We weren't bothered by the locals - there were a few on the beach who were helpful and were not overwhelming. I know others didn't appreciate being approached but we had no issues until the very last morning - when my partner was approached on the beach but this was not one of the regular locals. It is 15 mins from the airport, the pool is great and was well maintained during our stay. We got to see the turtles and that was amazing. The all inclusive option is good but we did feel that 11pm closing for the bar was early especially at the weekends. Some of the bar staff could have been better - Dane was very good as well as Mr Cruickshanks ! the reception staff were welcoming and friendly but I feel they could promote tours, local attractions better. The best way to enjoy this resort is to be realistic about what you are going to - its prob UK 3 star and the island is not commercial so don't expect 5 start facilities. It is beautiful and unspoilt and goes at a slow pace. We will def be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shazr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday and taking the time to post such a detailed review on your stay.

It is great to know that you were very satisfied with the product, services and the efforts of the staff generally.

Your comment on the lack of effective promotion of A la Carte menu is noted and will be addressed with the relevant individuals.

We are pleased to know that you got the opportunity to witness the amazing feature of Leather back turtle coming ashore to lay its eggs directly in front of the hotel.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and we certainly look forward to warmly welcome you on your return visit.

Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I like to speak the positives regarding this "resort" first. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The beach is right outside your room. Thats the end of the that, now to what you need to know as a traveller.

I've been to resorts in most parts of the Caribbean and I have to say this is not a resort for internationals. It maybe I nice get away from Trinidad locals that vacation in Tobago but not for international travelers that are used to real resort style living. At most resorts, you are afforded food options at all times of the day, not at turtle beach resort. You get breakfast lunch and dinner and you can't eat more than $14 worth. When we arrived to the resort starving we were directed to a coffee station for "tea time" and was provided a dry muffin and mayo sandwich. Secondly, the "resort" provides wifi but only in the common areas. The rooms were not thoroughly cleaned and mosquitoes will over take you. Outside of the alcoholic drinks being available up until 12 am and the beach being such a beautiful setting, this "resort" is more a motel. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: The currency exchange at the hotel is normally $1 to 2 dollars less than the current currency rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsCovington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanking you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday and for taking the time to write your review.

We fully appreciate your acknowledgment of the efforts of the staff during your stay at the hotel.

However, it is unfortunate that our product and services did not meet the standard that you are accustom to.

Just for clarification the Turtle Beach by rex resort do not project an image nor do we advertize a product and services that we do not deliver. We are fully cognizant of the fact that the property is not modern, but it does offer a truly 70's Caribbean Charm that appeals to the international clientele as well.

I do apologize for the poor housekeeping standard delivered in your room and this has been addressed accordingly. The issue with the mosquitoes is a challenge, because as you know this is the tropics and despite spraying the rooms daily the mosquitoes still sometime find their way in the rooms if the doors or windows are left open for any length of time.

Regarding the WiFi service, normally the service is throughout the hotel, guest rooms included, however, we were experiencing some technical challenges from the service provider, but this has since been rectified.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and it is unfortunate that your stay here with us was disappointing, despite our efforts.


Sincere regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was my second time staying at Rex Resorts. I stayed last year September for a staff retreat and this year for Jazz (Friday -Sunday April) I am always satisfied. The staff is friendly, the pool is awesome and the atmosphere relaxing, with the beach and view. The rooms are comfortable although they need some upgrading. Will always come back. T

Room Tip: Stay in the downstairs rooms, nice sliding doors to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
It was indeed our pleasure to have you return for a second visit to Turtle Beach by rex resorts.

We would like to thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to post your review.

It is wonderful to hear that our efforts to maintained the consistency in the product and services has contributed to making your second visit just as pleasurable as the first.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and we look forward to warmly welcome you soon, for your third visit.


Kindest regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our third visit at this resort...........need I say more. Twenty minutes from the airport by car. Check in was quick, reception was welcoming as always. Welcome drinks were served instantly upon checking in. This resort is clean, staff friendly, room comfortable, all in all very relaxing atmosphere. Good breakfast available too. Will surely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happiness57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your loyalty and commitment and for making Turtle Beach by rex resorts your preferred holiday resort in Tobago.

It is always a pleasure to hear that we have been able to consistently delivered on your promise, which has obviously influenced your decision to return for your third visit.

We would like to thank you for acknowledging the efforts of the staff in ensuring that the standards and quality are maintained generally.

We thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and we look forward to your return visit when we could extend a warm welcome to you our valued Repeat guest.


Kindest regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My stay at turtle beach resort was really awesome, my family of seven stayed at this great beach front view resort where we spend a period of three days. The service was really warm welcoming, the ambiance was mind blowing, the food was a wide variety and tasty also the staff were very friendly including the security guards. The beach was relaxing and clean. I will recommend this resort to all my near and dear friends and I will make this resort my getaway to relaxation.

Room Tip: Close to the eating area/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your short family vacation.

Taking your time to post a review on the product and services offered at the hotel during your stay is very much appreciated.

It's wonderful to hear that we were able to deliver on our promise of good food, cleanliness, warmth of service and a fantastic location.

Once again, thank for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and recommend us. We look forward to your next visit when we could extend a warm welcome and our customary Repeaters Package.



Kindest regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
6.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.7 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.6 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
1.0 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Property: Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Address: Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"best beach resort experience in Tobago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Rex Hotel Scarborough
Turtle Beach Tobago
Turtle Beach Rex Resorts
Turtle Beach Hotel Tobago
Turtle Beach By Rex Resorts Tobago/Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing