We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Caribbean experience in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We loved it here. The location of the hotel on a long curved unspoiled bay was perfect and the hotel did not encroach on the natural beauty of the bay at all. Although the buildings have seen better days, for us this somehow added to the laid-back Caribbean vibe. In our view the whole place had a great feel about it.

The restaurant overlooks the sea with lovely views down the beach in both directions. It was great to watch the fishermen haul their nets up the beach full of fish, which usually took more than an hour, in competition with what seemed like all the pelicans, laughing gulls and frigate birds for miles around. Quite a spectacle! Service in the restaurant could have been faster and more efficient, but we were on holiday and it was not a problem to have no rushing about. We found it very relaxing. Although the food was all in the form of a help-yourself buffet, we enjoyed every meal. Most meal times there was something good for non meat eaters too.

Our room was on the middle floor of the three storey block at the far end of the resort (the other two blocks nearer the pool, reception and restaurant are two-storey). It was large, had a huge comfortable bed, modern bathroom fitments and flat-screen tv.

The island is beautiful and relatively unspoiled by tourism. Being so close to South America means there is an abundance of wildlife compared to other islands, particularly birds, which is a real bonus if you are interested in such things. A local wildlife expert gives a talk in the hotel lobby every week which is very informative. Most of the local people are great, smiley and friendly.

The one negative aspect of our stay: I couldn't agree more with a previous review on the reserving of sun loungers by guests. It specifically says in the resort information in the room that sunbeds may not be reserved and are for the equal use of all guests. We found that if we were not on the beach by 6.30 a.m. ready to pounce with our towels there was usually no chance of getting a sunbed near our room, or anywhere else on the beach, for the rest of the day. I can only assume that many guests must set their alarms for just after sunrise in order to rush down to the beach to claim their bed. Most of the reserved sunbeds were unoccupied for hours during the day, sometimes up until lunchtime, then for hours over lunch, but it is obviously an unspoken rule that once towels are laid down the sunbed is out of bounds to anyone else. One couple even left their towels overnight every night, in effect reserving them for the whole duration of their stay. There were always some available by the pool, but they were without shade, or near the bar where the music was usually quite loud, which is fine if you like that, but if you prefer being on the beach where it is quieter there is little chance of getting a sunbed after the sun is up.

All in all though, this is a great place to stay and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. Upper floors have more privacy but you can't see the view so easily sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beeswing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday and for taking the time to post such a detailed review on your experience during your stay with us.

It is fantastic to know that we were able to achieve our fundamental goal, which is meeting your satisfaction, with the food on offer, quality and standard of the room and location.

Your comments on the restaurant service and Sun Loungers are noted and will be attended to accordingly.

It was indeed our pleasure having you stay with us and we certainly hope that there will be many more visits, when we could extend a warm welcome and offer our customary Repeaters packages.

Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

I recommend highly Turtle Beach Hotel by Rex. Staff is very friendly, rooms are spacious and clean, food is good. What made our trip special were Paradise Tours managed by friendly and reliable Mr.Tony Roth. You can purchase them right in the hotel lobby for very good price and no pressure.Our driver/guide Geewan would pick us up daily, never late and always in great mood. Our excursion could not have been better. Geewan was accommodating, knowledgeable with great sense of humor, never tired of answering our questions and excellent driver! He even brought for us delicious samples of his wife cooking!! I do travel a lot but I never felt such a genuine friendliness anywhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank H1a2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday and for taking the time to post a review on the product and services offered.

It is wonderful to hear that you were pleased with the food, room and services from the staff, and we will continue in our efforts to maintain this standard and improve where necessary.

Thank you for acknowledging the service delivery from the Tour Company located in the hotel lobby and your salutations will be conveyed.

Once again, our sincere thanks for affording us the opportunity and we do hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We returned again for our 27th stay at this hotel which we know has the best hotel location on the island. It has a 3 star Carribean rating which we consider is correct. The staff are generally very friendly and enjoy having a laugh with the guests of various nationalities. Although the hotel has been there for many years and has signs of needing maintenance, much has been done in the last couple of years to improve facilities. All Inclusive tariff is good value for cost of vacation. The rooms are basic and clean, and are maintained daily by a team of room service staff. Guests who have any query about what they feel may be needed to suit their situation in the allocated room, only have to refer the matter directly to reception to obtain satisfaction. The food provided gives various options and is self service selection of options. This year we found options not as good as previous years and some options were not satisfactory to our taste. This year we did not have option of mashed potatoe and not regular option of chipped potatoes which we feel also benefits children. It was mainly rice and pasta and chunked potatoe with various cooked meat and fish options. We put this down to a recent change of Head Chef. People that prefer their vegetables more cooked and not almost raw, like us, they should get a separate plate of cooked vegetables arranged by request to one of the Chefs. Sometimes the restaurant runs out of butter and supplies the alternative of margarine which does not suit some peoples diet. Marmalade is not often available at breakfast, but a jar can be bought for personal use at local supermarkets and kept in your room. The new beach side restaurant is appealing but becomes almost a wind tunnel when the wind increases to more than a breeze and not comfortable when a rain shower arrives with the wind. It has only recently opened and can have more work done to aid the complete comfort of guests. However the old main Kiskadee restaurant is still available for use, and maybe shall be returned for use for the evening main meal. We have no doubt that this would also be helpful to the restaurant staff who clear and reset tables. Entertainment of an evening is generally typical of Carribean style music and activity with inclusion of well known British style music. The pan music players are well received. We so much enjoy the relaxing facilities of this friendly hotel. We make sure that the hotel management is kept aware of any criticism we wish to make and what is heard from other guests. The management does respond when advised.
We were very impressed with the superb attitude and natural helpfulness of the restaurant service given by Dain, a relatively new employee. He is worthy of recognisition as a Senior member of the restaurant staff. Turtle Beach Hotel, please do not lose him.
We have rebooked to visit this hotel again next year and look forward to return of restaurant food options we feel meets the liking of the majority of guests from European countries.

Ted and Maureen

Room Tip: Ground flooor rooms appear cooler and have patio onto garden and are more suited to persons that hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TedMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for unwavering loyalty and commitment to the staff of Turtle Beach by rex resorts and for making this your preferred holiday resort for the past twenty seven (27) years. Your loyalty serves as a feather in our cap that we are doing something right - thank you, thank you

We would also like to thank for you for your insightful observations, suggestions and recommendations, as we continue in our efforts to improve the product and services we offer.

The few concerns highlighted has been addressed respectively and thank you for acknowledging the undaunted efforts of the staff.

Once again, thank you for your loyalty and commitment and we certainly look forward to extending a warm welcome on your 28th visit.

Kindest Regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed for 1st 4 nights in Tobago at Turtle Beach. Lovely place, very friendly staff, good facilities, plenty of food and drinks as I opted for the All Inclusive package.
Cleaners were lovely as were dining, kitchen and reception staff. They put me in touch with a great Taxi driver Derik Frank who looked after us whilst we stayed in Tobago.
Would choose Turtle beach and Castara again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a seaview so nothing much can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anaru M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

It is wonderful to know that your stay with us was a pleasurable one and we would like to thank for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your short vacation.

Taking the time to post your review on the hotel is very much appreciated.

Thank you for acknowledging the efforts of the staff and we will continue in our efforts to ensure the consistency in the services are maintained. It is comforting to know that we were able to deliver on our strengths, which are warm and friendly service, good food and drinks, cleanliness and fantastic location.

We do hope this will be your first in many more visits to Turtle Beach by rex resorts, so we could offer a warm welcome on your return.



Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We chose this hotel/location because of the great value for money it offered. If you want everything modern/perfect/loads of facilities don't stay here but if you want friendly caribbean charm without a wine list in sight this could be great for you. Entertainment fun, food good, Rooms clean,tired but functional, lovely pool,stunning location giving easy access to the wonderful natural attractions. The visiting naturalist who gives a short weekly talk is well worth listening to if you want to get the most out of your stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room a little away from the poolside if you go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday.

We certainly appreciate you taking the time out to post your review on the hotel, its product and services.

We would like to thank you for affording us the opportunity to impact positively on your stay, by delivering the warm service, good food, clean and well kept room and fantastic location.

We do look forward to your next visit when we could extend a warm welcome back to Turtle Beach by rex resorts and Tobago.


Kindest regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

What an enjoyable experience it was to stay here it is the third time we have enjoyed the company of the friendly staff great service and fantastic food. The hotel may not be the most modern and may not be 5star Uk standard . It is not in the UK remember that before you criticise the hotel.
Just look out of your window in the morning and breath in the fresh sun soaked air. Eat the fantastic food enjoy the Ireland the people and the history. One word of advice talk to the staff and the people of this Ireland with respect and they will treat you like gods.
Well done to the manager and the staff we will see you again in two years.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank stevecolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

I would like to thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for holiday and for your loyalty and commitment shown over the years as valued Repeat guest.

Thank you for taking time to post your review on the hotel, it's product and services.

It was indeed our pleasure to offer our services to you again and I am very pleased to know that we did not disappoint and in so doing, influence your decision to stay with us on your next Tobago holiday.

I would like to thank for acknowledging the efforts of the staff and we will continue in our efforts to make the necessary improves to meet the satisfaction of all our guests.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit in 2015 when we could extend a warm welcome back to your favourite holiday resort


Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just returned from a week here.first impressions was of an attractive and well located hotel sitting on a wonderful sandy beach.Checking in was typically Caribbean and too laid back.We were offered a rum punch when someone eventually came to deal with us..we sat down and waited and waited and was not until we went back to desk to find out where key was we were told that the room wasn't ready.We waited for another twenty minutes and went back up to desk and pointed in the direction of the room,which we were pleased with?Well appointed and well decorated with lovely view of the beach.We found the restaurant offered acceptable choice and quality of food and over the seven days from this point of view we were not disappointed .However there was a chronic lack of organisation and teamwork amongst the restaurant/ kitchen staff.On several occasions we had to wait in a queue for far too long( sometimes up to 15 minutes before being seated.The staff lacked any sense of urgency and even one day the hotel's lady accountant not only showed us too our table but spent time setting a clearing tables before walking the entire length of the restaurant to seat the next couple.We feel that the whole logistics of restaurant and bar needs general managers personal attention and perhaps should be more hands on for a day or two to see for himself.Our other issue is "why does a hotel with over 200guests on a frequent basis run out of such basic drinks as beer white wine and tonic water ? "On several occasions during our stay the hotel ran out of all of these ,either stock control is very poor or there are cash problems with suppliers.We had hoped to meet the General Manager at his cocktail party but he failed to attend,In fact we did not meet him during our stay.Perhaps a more hands on approach is required. In conclusion we loved Tobago,we loved the location of the hotel,and perhaps if the above issues were addressed we would love to return as we swam in the sea every day and loved the beach...didn't notice any dead fish !!! We hope you find this review constructive.

Room Tip: Turtle rooms are further from dining room but very quiet.Turtles came to lay eggs this week,right ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

I would like to thank you for choosing choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your vacation and for taking time to post your constructive and insightful review on stay at our resort.

Our sincere apologies for the lack of attention and hospitality on your arrival, because I know we are better than this, because what transpired in your case is clearly unacceptable by the standards set in the hotel.

I would agree that the services between the Kitchen and Restaurant needed better coordinating on certain days. As you correctly stated the Accountant got involved when staff did not report for duty which contributed to some of the challenges, but it is also indicative of this management team hands on approach. The only reason why I was not visibly around, is because I was away from the hotel for a few days.

Your comment about having to queue for up to 15 minutes wait to be seated is noted, but it must be borne in mind that the various meal periods are for two and half hours and the restaurant do not have 250 sittings (chairs), so when the occupancy is that high it will sometimes result in persons queuing up for the first hour, but I not sure if you would have observed by second hour the restaurant is literally empty..

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused with items running out at the bar. I would certainly agree that we did have challenges with some suppliers, which was solely due to delivery, because all the hotel supplies comes from Trinidad and this was not a challenge faced only by our hotel. however, albeit the situation being regularized, we have put measures in place going forward.

It wonderful to know that you were satisfied with the food, location and upkeep of the property.

Despite the discomfort experienced, we are thankful to you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday.

Once again, my sincere apologies for the inconveniences and I do hope that you will reconsider and afford us the opportunity welcome back to Turtle Beach by rex resorts in the not too distant future.


Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
6.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.7 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
252 reviews
4.6 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
1.0 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
447 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Address: Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: $129 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"best beach resort experience in Tobago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Rex Hotel Scarborough
Turtle Beach Tobago
Turtle Beach Rex Resorts
Turtle Beach Hotel Tobago
Turtle Beach By Rex Resorts Tobago/Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing