We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

What an enjoyable experience it was to stay here it is the third time we have enjoyed the company of the friendly staff great service and fantastic food. The hotel may not be the most modern and may not be 5star Uk standard . It is not in the UK remember that before you criticise the hotel.
Just look out of your window in the morning and breath in the fresh sun soaked air. Eat the fantastic food enjoy the Ireland the people and the history. One word of advice talk to the staff and the people of this Ireland with respect and they will treat you like gods.
Well done to the manager and the staff we will see you again in two years.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank stevecolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
I would like to thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for holiday and for your loyalty and commitment shown over the years as valued Repeat guest.

Thank you for taking time to post your review on the hotel, it's product and services.

It was indeed our pleasure to offer our services to you again and I am very pleased to know that we did not disappoint and in so doing, influence your decision to stay with us on your next Tobago holiday.

I would like to thank for acknowledging the efforts of the staff and we will continue in our efforts to make the necessary improves to meet the satisfaction of all our guests.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit in 2015 when we could extend a warm welcome back to your favourite holiday resort


Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    463
    231
    153
    120
See reviews for
361
525
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just returned from a week here.first impressions was of an attractive and well located hotel sitting on a wonderful sandy beach.Checking in was typically Caribbean and too laid back.We were offered a rum punch when someone eventually came to deal with us..we sat down and waited and waited and was not until we went back to desk to find out where key was we were told that the room wasn't ready.We waited for another twenty minutes and went back up to desk and pointed in the direction of the room,which we were pleased with?Well appointed and well decorated with lovely view of the beach.We found the restaurant offered acceptable choice and quality of food and over the seven days from this point of view we were not disappointed .However there was a chronic lack of organisation and teamwork amongst the restaurant/ kitchen staff.On several occasions we had to wait in a queue for far too long( sometimes up to 15 minutes before being seated.The staff lacked any sense of urgency and even one day the hotel's lady accountant not only showed us too our table but spent time setting a clearing tables before walking the entire length of the restaurant to seat the next couple.We feel that the whole logistics of restaurant and bar needs general managers personal attention and perhaps should be more hands on for a day or two to see for himself.Our other issue is "why does a hotel with over 200guests on a frequent basis run out of such basic drinks as beer white wine and tonic water ? "On several occasions during our stay the hotel ran out of all of these ,either stock control is very poor or there are cash problems with suppliers.We had hoped to meet the General Manager at his cocktail party but he failed to attend,In fact we did not meet him during our stay.Perhaps a more hands on approach is required. In conclusion we loved Tobago,we loved the location of the hotel,and perhaps if the above issues were addressed we would love to return as we swam in the sea every day and loved the beach...didn't notice any dead fish !!! We hope you find this review constructive.

Room Tip: Turtle rooms are further from dining room but very quiet.Turtles came to lay eggs this week,right ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
I would like to thank you for choosing choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your vacation and for taking time to post your constructive and insightful review on stay at our resort.

Our sincere apologies for the lack of attention and hospitality on your arrival, because I know we are better than this, because what transpired in your case is clearly unacceptable by the standards set in the hotel.

I would agree that the services between the Kitchen and Restaurant needed better coordinating on certain days. As you correctly stated the Accountant got involved when staff did not report for duty which contributed to some of the challenges, but it is also indicative of this management team hands on approach. The only reason why I was not visibly around, is because I was away from the hotel for a few days.

Your comment about having to queue for up to 15 minutes wait to be seated is noted, but it must be borne in mind that the various meal periods are for two and half hours and the restaurant do not have 250 sittings (chairs), so when the occupancy is that high it will sometimes result in persons queuing up for the first hour, but I not sure if you would have observed by second hour the restaurant is literally empty..

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused with items running out at the bar. I would certainly agree that we did have challenges with some suppliers, which was solely due to delivery, because all the hotel supplies comes from Trinidad and this was not a challenge faced only by our hotel. however, albeit the situation being regularized, we have put measures in place going forward.

It wonderful to know that you were satisfied with the food, location and upkeep of the property.

Despite the discomfort experienced, we are thankful to you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday.

Once again, my sincere apologies for the inconveniences and I do hope that you will reconsider and afford us the opportunity welcome back to Turtle Beach by rex resorts in the not too distant future.


Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Let's start with the good news. The location of the hotel is excellent and we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and our air-conditioning worked very effectively. The room was clean and was kept clean throughout our stay. The hotel doesn't claim to be boutique or 5* and the facilities were in line with what you would expect - and what we had paid for.

We ended up having two main areas of disappointment. All inclusive is the only option. We think this is pernicious since it disincentivises people from leaving the hotel and spreading their tourist dollars in the wider local economy. More to the point it tends to limit choice. Although the hotel handbook in the room said there was an a la carte restaurant, there wasn't and the only option was to eat in the dining room. This was predominantly buffet style - self service- food cooked long before you want to eat it and kept warm (rather than hot). If you are happy with this fine but we found it unappetising - food fuel rather than a dining experience. On some evenings and at breakfast there was a hot plate cooking eggs or fish/meat so that it was more freshly cooked and that was better.

The other area was attention to detail. The hotel advertises two bars but in fact runs only the pool bar. That may well be a sensible management decision, but it means that the focal point in the evening is around the pool rather than in the lounge, but no extra pool side tables are provided and no lights on those that are - so you end up sitting in the gloom on balanced on a sun lounger. Neither are ideal.

The same issue affects maintenance. Despite the best efforts of German guests and their towels, there are plenty of sun beds, but too many of them are broken. Someone has the job of scrubbing the beds but not withdrawing and either mending or replacing broken ones. The sliding door in our room had come off its tracks and was very difficult to open. We reported it on arrival and again the next day, but it was still broken when we left. Other maintenance requests were however, dealt with promptly.

We did pay slightly more for a room further away from the bar. In fact there was very little noise in the evenings and there was no need to pay more.

In summary certainly not a bad place - but with a bit more effort could be so much better.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank philandpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
I would like to thank you for choosing the Turtle Beach for your recent stay.

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and for acknowledging efforts of the staff. I do regret the inconvenience experienced with the sliding door and the beach chairs, but these has been addressed accordingly.

Your comment on the All Inclusive options provided is noted and as we have always done in the past, we will continue to look at improving the product and variety provided. Regarding the issue with the A la Carte, I would like to apologize, because the menu was and is available and should have been offered to you. This has been addressed and the necessary measures put in place to ensure this does not reoccur.

Once again, my sincere apologies for our lack of attention to detail on some of the issues. Nevertheless, we do hope you would afford us the opportunity to extend a warm welcome back to our resort in the future.

Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resort for your holiday.


Kindest rgerads

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 days here to relax after the madness of carnival in Trinidad and it certainly did the trick.
Food -every serving -was fantastic. Only issue we had with the restaurant was being made to queue one morning for breakfast when there was an abundance of empty tables. Hostess was young and inexperienced but she was much better the next day seating people promptly.
The room was spotless and towels changed every day.
The pool was a let down -water was filthy with dirt and oil clearly visible despite a team of people appearing to tend to it all day. We didn't mind this too much as with the stunning beach we had no interest in the pool.
But herein lay our major problem. For decades the Germans have been reknowned in European resorts for placing their towels on sunbeds at 5am bagging all the best spots. In this resort the British outdid them! One morning I came down to the beach at 8.30am to have a swim, I couldn't get a bed because they were all already taken with hotel-issue towels. I also couldn't get a towel as there were none left! Some of the people who had taken these chairs didn't even turn up to the beach until 11.30-12! This is so wrong and the hotel should stop it. When I went to the front desk to complain that there were no beach towels available because they were all on empty chairs I was greeted with a shrug of the shoulders! The staff should do a sweep and clear off all unused towels from chairs that are not being used. Disgraceful that a guest who is there at 8.30am to swim cannot get a towel/bed because selfish holidaymakers who don't bother going to the beach until 12 have 'booked' their places. If we were staying for longer I would have ended up removing and using the towels myself!
Aside from that I can well recommend turtle beach.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CiaraMc1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your short vacation and just as important, for taking the time to post your review on the hotel.

It is very appreciative to know we were able to offer the product and services that did the trick is having a somewhat relaxing three days in Tobago and at Turtle Beach by rex resorts.

The comment on the pool is noted and greater attention will be paid to the pool attendants that responsible for maintaining the cleanliness to ensure that they are getting the job done properly.

The issue with beach chairs is unfortunate, but we did have a number of chairs available under the coconut trees near the pool and directly in front some patios, which could have been used. Nonetheless, I do apologize for the discomfort experienced. The issue with the towels is mainly due to the slow turnaround from the hotel's laundry, but this has been addressed. In addition, we have put in place contingencies in place to avoid this situation from recurring.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and we look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.

Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was my second trip to turtle rex, so I did know what to expect. We stayed for 2 weeks. I still love the simplicity of the hotel. The food was reasonably good, the staff charming and attentive, the rooms basic but clean, bed comfortable, linen changed regularly.
A great improvement is the restaurant right by the beach, so lovely to dine there,
There were a couple of days that were very busy due to guests escaping the carnival in Trinidad, It did mean a bit of a wait for dinner etc, staff were put under a bit of pressure by some inpatient guests, but they coped well considering, the manager Leslie was not shy in helping out, which was nice to see. We were in no hurry as we were on holiday, so no big deal.

A couple of let downs were jet ski's and quad bikes making a daily appearance, although I know this is not down to the hotel, this will no doubt scare away turtles and marine life and obviously a potential danger for bathers
The pool could have been better maintained & cleaned.
The picnic box was expensive and of poor quality, a bit of a scam if you have already paid for all inclusive. However, we were not charged as we did mention this on returning the cool box.

The grounds are well maintained and a great attraction to birds including hummingbirds.
There are a few very friendly dogs on the beach who will adopt you ! Unfortunately they are not looked after by their alleged owners, but you can contact the TTSPCA to help out with neutering programme and their general welfare.

The island is very beautiful and still unspoilt. We hired a car for 3 days from Thrifty car hire to explore under our own steam. The adventureland (hummingbird man) at Plymouth is still a real treat and for only 10 us dollars, you can stay as long as you wish in beautiful surroundings with hummingbirds inches away from you. This is completely un commercialised.
Henry the belt and shoe maker along the beach is still around making brilliant tailor made items. He is a great character with knowledge of anything and everything you may need or want. bit of a loveable Del boy !
Frankie who sells tours etc,from the beach is a little on the expensive side, you will pay the same rate for tours booked through the hotel.
We jumped the ferry over to Trinidad for the day, very cheap only 100 TT return, Great experience.
This hotel and island ticks all the boxes for me, quiet, simple, relaxing with true Caribbean charm. Don't expect chandeliers, spas and glitzy shows, this hotel and location are beautiful and unspoilt it would be nice for it to remain that way.
We will be back..............enjoy your stay

Room Tip: Room 132 ground floor away from pool and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkieinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for returning to Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your second and for taking the time to share your experience in your review.

It is comforting to know that we impacted positively to making your second visit to Turtle Beach by rex resorts and Tobago a pleasurable one. We note your comments on the aspects of your stay that needed attention and we assure you that these were taken on board and addressed.

Thank you for acknowledging the improvements that has taken place since your last visit and we will continue in our efforts to improve the product on offer.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and for highlighting the areas we could improve and do better.

We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit to Turtle Beach by rex resorts and Tobago

Sincere regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Went late Feb 2014 as a family and stayed four nights
The hotel staff were welcoming and friendly
The rooms were cleaned spotless everyday
Great location overlooking Turtle Beach
Will be going back next year!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your family vacation and for taking the time to share your experience in your review.

It is wonderful to hear that we were able to deliver on our promise, a relaxing location, clean, warm service and good food.

Considering a return visit to Turtle Beach by rex resorts is a wonderful and appreciative indication that we are doing something right, so we certainly look forward to welcoming you in 2015 for your return visit.


Kindest regard

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed for 3 weeks in January, another fabulous holiday. Staff friendly and attentive, special mention to Lincoln, Glenis and Esther. Food usually very good quality with tasty Tobagan pulses to make me feel virtuous. The new beachside restaurant is fabulous, lovely to have breakfast while watching the pelicans dive or the fishermen sorting out their nets. Nice to see the bridge in the pool has been replaced. Always plenty of sunbeds round the pool, or, our favourite under the thatched sun shades on the beach. Had a car for a couple of days, can recommend the King's Bay Cafe for lunch, or Englishman's Bay for simple food. One complaint only - can I have the bay leaves and cinnamon back in my porridge next time please?

Room Tip: They're all good and all sea facing, really a question of which floor you want to be on, prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your loyalty and commitment shown in us at Turtle Beach by rex resorts.

We fully appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel and it is wonderful to hear that we were able to deliver the level of service you are custom to.

Thank you for acknowledging the improvements that has been made since your last visit and we will continue in our efforts to improve the product and services we offer to our valued guests.

Many thanks for the confidence shown in choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts as your preferred holiday resort and we look forward to welcoming you for your return visit.

Kindest regards



Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
6.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.7 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.6 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
1.0 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Property: Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Address: Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"best beach resort experience in Tobago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Rex Hotel Scarborough
Turtle Beach Tobago
Turtle Beach Rex Resorts
Turtle Beach Hotel Tobago
Turtle Beach By Rex Resorts Tobago/Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing