We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Solana" of Tobago (with apologies to "Benidorm")”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hotel is in a fine location, but unless this is the standard of a 3* hotel in Tobago it has gone downhill since it was recommended to us.

The room was simply furnished but adequate - the real disappointment was the food - both in terms of quality & presentation - all bulk cooked & kept in self service heated containers - the only good meal was BBQ steak one evening as this was freshly cooked. The "all inclusive" wine was pretty rough

We did not venture into what could be a great pool as it was so murky that you couldn't see the bottom - even where only 3.5 ft deep

Service was rather poor with unsmiling robotic staff who appeared over worked & poorly organised - although it must be said that some individuals went out of their way to be pleasant & helpful

During our stay the entertainment was very variable - some was was poor but on a couple of nights it was good - the real disappointment was the Saturday night when it didnt turn up at all - seems they may have got a better offer as it was carnival week!!

We chose this hotel as family was coming over from Trinidad & I thought we may have been expecting too much but they as "locals" shared our views along with several others in the hotel that we chatted to..............I think the telling words came from a local who we met walking on the beach who commented "how did you folks end up in a place like that"

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian_j_campbell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your family vacation and for taking the time to post your review on experience at the hotel.

I would agree that in areas mentioned we definitely can do better, but it seem obvious that we did let you down in some regard and I would like to apologize for that.

We will take you comment on board and address them directly with the various departments to ensure there is no repeat of these failings, because I sure you would have noticed the great number of Repeat guests to the hotel, which obviously shows that we are doing something very good, but needs to maintain consistency and improve where needed.

Once again, thank for choosing us and affording us the opportunity to offer our services, but just as important, for bringing to our attention the lapse in our service delivery.


Sincere regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
There are newer reviews for Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have just recently returned from our 9th. consecutive 6 week stay at Turtle Beach and again thoroughly enjoyed it. There have been improvements to the hotel since last year, and in particular by far the best is the new beach-side Restaurant. Literally overlooking the beach and the Caribbean Sea it is so pleasant and a great new facility. The staff, without exception, provided excellent service in every department. The gardens are very well maintained (as they always have been). The pool was cleaned every day and a new bridge has been installed giving access to the jacuzzi situated within the pool. Plenty of sunbeds both around the pool and on the beach. Our room was cleaned to a high standard every day.
The food was of a good standard and variety. Bar service and choice of drinks was also very good (as ever). The restaurant staff were very attentive even when under pressure.
The General Manager, Leslie Amedee should be commended for his efforts and we understand further and continued improvements are planned.
We look forward to our return next January.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KingfisherBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Once again, thank you for the loyalty and commitment over the years in choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts as your favourite holiday resort.

Your acknowledgement of the improvements that has taken place over the period is very much appreciated. As well, your commendations on the service offered by the staff is very warmly received.

It is good to know that we keep doing something right that pulls you back to Turtle Beach by rex resorts every year and for a six (6) weeks visit. To ensure that you keep coming, we will continue in our efforts to maintain the good aspects and improve where we need to.

Once again, our sincere thanks for your unwavering loyalty and commitment and we look forward to welcoming you in 2015 for what will be your tenth visit (10 years on anniversary celebrations)


Warmest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We enjoyed a week at this hotel in February. Now I wish we had booked two weeks! The location is lovely, with a massive beautiful unspoilt beach (unlike the commercialised Pigeon Point beach further along the island). The hotel although 3 star was perfectly adequate and the food and staff were wonderful. Our bathroom had a bath and a shower and there was an extendable washing line over the bath to hang clothes, also a rail by the patio for wet swimwear etc. Yes a rug on the floor by the bed would have been nice as I don't like chilly feet, but flip flops solved that problem. The rooms are in a two storey long linear development that face the beach. Each day we simply walked out of our room onto our patio across the grass with swaying palms and onto the sandy beach. This was also our favourite route to the restaurant rather than the rear covered walkway which we only used if it was raining. This is not a huge resort so don't expect discos, gyms, saunas and suchlike, but for me this is why it scores, - it is peaceful and relaxing and quietly elegeant with unintrusive evening entertainment in the form of a singer or steel drums player, yet it is not pretentious and so makes for a relaxed living - I didn't feel I had to compete on the fashion front. Bring smart casual wear for the evenings in order to look respectable, but cruise-style glitzy evening wear would be over the top. My only negative comment would be to be mention the drinks offered at the poolside bar - lots of choice but heavily dependent upon flavoured syrups rather than fresh fruit (at the Rex Grenadian they liquidised bananas etc. for the cocktails). Whilst we were there we met several guests who were on repeat visits - some of whom who booked for several weeks each year - which says a lot! We found all the staff genuinely extremely friendly and helpful as were the locals/taxi drivers we met - everyone was always so happy! Idyllic. In fact I would rate this the best Caribbean experience out of several that we have had and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

It was indeed a pleasure offering our product and services to you, and we would like to say thank you, for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday..

Thank you for acknowledging our efforts to deliver on our promise, cleanliness, warmth of service, relaxing location and good food.

Your comment on the beverage options at the bar is noted.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you on next visit.


Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The resort could be very nice but had many issues that I do not like to deal with when on vacation. First of all my significant other did not bring dress pants and we were told we could not eat at night unless we went and bought some. They told us it was online when we booked but I did not find it anywhere. Secondly the room was infested with mosquito's so take some Off! I actually slept with my blanket us high as I could because I could feel them at night biting me and I could hear them flying past me. There was no places in the bathroom to really hang things or any resting places in the shower for soap, shampoo etc. The room was not carpeted and had no rugs. The dryer was outdated and took a long time to dry my hair. The beach was nice, the ocean inviting, and the food was decent but for the price that was paid I would expect a lot more. I would LOVE to buy this resort and change simple things to make it more inviting and comfortable because it could be so nice! It has no fitness center which would be nice also. I would definitely fix the customer service at the front desk. When we asked questions it was like we were bothering them and they were very limited in their words to us so that when we left there we just looked at each other like "really? that is how they are to customers??" I will say that the ground staff and room staff was wonderful! They were friendly and kind and always said good morning etc. It was a joy to talk to them compared to the front desk. Tobago is an amazing Island!! Loved it and all we did there but sure wish we had chosen a different resort in which to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and for providing your review as it relates to your holiday experience at the hotel.

It is unfortunate that you were not made aware of the Dress Code for dining in the restaurants in the hotel, but the Dress Code serves to help with the very same standards we are trying to maintain and improve. Hence the reason it is also highlighted on our website.

The issue with the mosquitoes is unfortunate, because the room attendants do spray the rooms daily and I am sure if you had requested that it be resprayed in the evening it would have been done. This is the tropics and unfortunately mosquitoes are prevalent in this parts and would get into the rooms if the doors are left open. This will also be addressed again with the room attendants

I would agree the some of hair dryers are somewhat outdated, but those are being replaced in all the rooms. Unfortunately, the maintenance team have not gotten to all the rooms as yet, but this will be completed.

Our apologies for the inconvenience experienced in the bathroom and we will make the necessary modifications as we continue in our efforts to create greater comfort for our guests.

Clearly we have let you down in terms of the consistency that should be in our customer service, especially from the Front Desk, which is the front line. I do apologies and assure you that it will be addressed accordingly.

Your suggestion of making the resort more inviting has been taken on board as we continue in our efforts to improve and meet the satisfaction of you our valued guests.

Once again, our deepest apologies for any discomfort experienced and thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your vacation.

kindest regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Thank you very much Jan Kusta and your Staff for à wonderful evening with "Knoblauchcremesuppe" and the lobster on our last dinner. Thank you for all the delicous Soups every Day! We wish you all the best and hope to see you all again! Thanks to Dain for very good service!
AnnCatherine and Hartmut in room 227

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank andom2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your vacation and for posting your review.

More importantly, for your warm salutations to our Chef and his team for their efforts in ensuring your meals and your special dinner were deliciously prepared.

Also, we would like to thank you for your insightful suggestions and recommendations.

We do hope we will be afforded another opportunity to serve you again in the not too distant future.

Thank you and our kind regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I decided to make Turtle Beach Resort in Tobago our focus for the highlight of our Ruby Wedding Year – yes we celebrated all year long! That was a prefect choice and thanks to ALL of the staff for making it a magic vacation.

We arrived at TAB and were greeted warmly, then invited to a transfer in our own taxi with a driver who was obviously proud of and in love with her island.

A really warm welcome was continued by the professionally organised reception staff at Turtle Beach. They lost no time but included warmth and friendship in greeting us. With room key in hand we were given an invitation to the manager’s weekly rum punch party that was about to start.

Formalities over, we went to our room – and what a spacious room with a giant of a very comfortable bed. It had everything needed, including a quiet but really efficient air con system. Well very nearly – there was no shaver electric point – but, thanks to Ralph the maintenance man, an adapter was soon provided so I could use the standard English 3-pin socket that was in the main room. We choose a ground floor room so that we could exit directly through the patio doors that formed one whole wall - onto the beach. The curtains maintained a dark bedroom perfectly, even the heat of the sun dare not pass them.

Our only niggle – and I can pick fault for England – was that the sun loungers and pool furniture was past its sell by date but none the less comfortable and working for all of that. Special blue towels were provided for the beach and pool. They could be changed on demand at the water sports hut – another great team of staff.

The housekeeping staff had added their welcome – ruby coloured flowers decorating the room. We found a chilled bottle of fizz on the dressing table with the fruit bowl! Thanks ladies! These ladies did a thorough job every day we were there. Every night the bed was re-made and the room clean and tidy. Thanks again ladies.

After the cocktail party we headed for our first meal – dinner. Again a warm welcome, this time by maitre di’, who assigned a table of choice without any delay whatsoever. The menu offered a great choice for each course, a feat repeated by chef for very meal we had in house. The options for breakfast beat any London hotel. All cooking was great, except our last dinner when the ham joint was a bit on the dry side and poorly carved. Our main memory was of Valentine’s night – the staff had dressed the restaurant with fabrics and balloons. Chef put on a very special meal - my favourite, a nicely cooked, carved and served rib of beef, It had to be red wine that night – all part of the inclusive package.

Whilst thanking the waiting staff, we must also thank specially the egg chef at breakfast. She was charming at such an early hour and had the added skill of perfectly cooked eggs every time!

We recognised that the beach was a public affair (as in the whole of Tobago). Security staff did a great job of controlling locals, including the various hawkers who wanted to add to their income, even from selling coconuts. There were 3 local dogs who seemed to own that beach, but only barked once in the night and then for only half an hour.

When it was time to check-out we were invited to leave luggage in a locked room. And then use all of the facility. This included lunch and the bar long after check out was completed. A real expression of the spirit of generosity in the island.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor - if only adults then select a room away from the pool
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RogInNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for choosing us "Turtle Beach by rex resorts" to celebrate and share in such a special occasion, your Ruby Wedding Year.

It is wonderful to know that we were able to contribute positively in making it a very memorable and special holiday at Turtle Beach by rex resorts in Tobago.

Thank you for acknowledging the efforts of the staff (warmth of the service) in making your stay a pleasurable one.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and for taking the time to post a review on the product and services experienced during your stay at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you in 2015, God spare.

Thank you and our kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Two weeks of absolute bliss. Lovely hotel, excellent value. Staff very friendly and helpful. Tobago is a beautiful island, lots of wild life and unspoilt.
Hotel is in a perfect beachside location. Sad to leave but looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samanthajwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday and for taking the time to post your review about your stay.

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and the product and services on offer were satisfactory for you.

It is great to hear that you are already contemplating your return in 2015 hopefully and we certainly look forward to welcoming you.

Once again, our sincere thanks for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts holiday

Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
6.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.7 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
249 reviews
4.6 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,525 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Address: Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: $117 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"best beach resort experience in Tobago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Rex Hotel Scarborough
Turtle Beach Tobago
Turtle Beach Rex Resorts
Turtle Beach Hotel Tobago
Turtle Beach By Rex Resorts Tobago/Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing