We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Nearby Hotels
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Haven Hotel(Bacolet Bay)
$135
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort(Lowlands)(Great Value!)
$289
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$294
$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$135
$110
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Acajou Hotel(Grande Riviere)
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt Plaisir Estate Hotel(Grande Riviere)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,335)
Filter reviews
1,335 results
Traveler rating
307
492
249
164
123
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
492
249
164
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleatherback turtlesturtle watchfishpeter coxswim up barboat triprum punchlay her eggsgreat holidaynylon poolsunday schoola ground floor roommeal timesthree startunakids poolnightly entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
616 - 621 of 1,335 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have spent a week at turtle beach hotel in tobago in march 2013. This hotel is located directly at the beach and almost all rooms have a nice sea view. Try to get one a bit far away from main pool facilities etc which offers the best sea view.. The food was very delicious and the refreshments at the pool bar were very good quality. The staff is always very helpful and polite. The only thing which was a bit boring is that the hotel guest were all above 60 and this is definitely not a place for young tourists traveling alone..but surely the right place to relax and being lazy..in tobago, the public transportation is very limited and for all purposes you need either to rent a car or you pay a lot of money for taxis arranged by the hotel. I recommend to find a local taxi driver who offers acceptable prices and ready to drive and pick you up whenever is needed. If you aren't looking for an all inclusive style holiday, there are a lot of guest houses with very nice rooms for low budget.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ma-winterfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a good family resort. The rooms are also nice, and the pool is wonderful. However, I must say that I was disappointed with the food and the staff service. They were not friendly, and tried to avoid us. I am not sure if this is because we are locals.

However, we did book a day excursion with Keith (he comes by the pool area). His trip was the highlight for us!!! So wonderful - his bbq on the beach was DELISH, and we went to a secluded island - absolutely the most fun and beautiful memories were made!

Also, don't be fooled - we stayed at this hotel to see Turtles, as the concierge calls the rooms when the turtles come up to lay their eggs. However, they called our room AFTER the turtles left - this was a HUGE disappointment as it was one of the reasons we stayed here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a great hotel and beach! A family holiday with my wife and 6 and 8 year old daughters couldn't have been any better. The hotel food is very good with a good variety of traditional dishes too. The staff were fantastic, really friendly and helpful. The kids loved the pool which underwent a full clean at the request of a friend (following a recent tidal surge, the sea water effect the clarity of the pool water). The location of the hotel is right on the beautiful beach. I have travelled a lot in the Carribean and my adice would be don't expect the Americanized Bahamas style luxury hotel, but if you want a clean, fresh, friendly and safe experience in a fabulious island location this is the place. Hire a car and drive around the islane too!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarponflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at the hotel last May..the cost of the hotel for 4 day has increased drastically ..has the menu been uped up ..don't mind if steak, shrimp or lobster is being added to the menu.. though the service was good and staff efficient and helpful a lot has to be done in order for a person to be charged more for the same room with no upgrades ..this is a colonial style Hotel with backdated furniture ..Holidaying soon in Jamaica and is paying less for room with all inclusive.. Holiday Inn Resort & Spa..thought I may visit here again but have changed my mind..

Room Tip: I booked a Turtle Seafacing all inclusive room for my daughter and myself..should have been advised about the distance from the lobby with no one to help with luggage..thank God for Raul a worker he came to our assistance..Ac was not working properly , mosquitoes keept singing..
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindaraghoonanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

If are going to Turtle Beach and expect a 2/3 star hotel you will not be disappointed, if you expect 5 star you will be. We stayed for 2 weeks from the 4th March 2013.
We flew BA from Gatwick via Antigua and all was fine with a slight delay on departure from Antigua meaning an 11 hour flight. On arrival at Tobago we were off the plane and out to a pre-arranged taxi in 20 minutes and about the same to get to Turtle Beach.
Check in was quick AI armband attached and pointed to our room, which happened to be in the far block on the 3rd floor. No lifts so if you get a room starting 3xx be aware this is where you will be. However, it is directly on the beach with great views and you go to sleep listening to the waves, or when it was rough for a couple of days they may keep you awake, apparently someone complained to reception about the noise the waves were making!
The room was basic but clean with large bed, plenty of hanging space, tv, coffee machine and efficient, quiet AC unit. Electric sockets were UK style and in plenty supply. Decor was paint over "mottled" concrete. Door had bolt lock as well as locking handle, no in room safe but safety deposit boxes were available behind reception at no cost. Simple bathroom with over bath shower, always sufficient hot water, although the valve between bath and shower could be temperamental. Also had mini fridge which was refilled once per week.
Meals were buffet in the main restaurant and despite a little limited in choice was always something to be enjoyed and in general fairly European in style. For dinner men had to wear long trousers, in an open restaurant with no air conditioning.
Pool bar was open from 10:00 into the evening and was where most guest congregated at night, but do remember if there are a few people at the bar you are on Tobago time, seating was plastic chairs and wooden tables. Pool was cleaned daily and apart from an issue for a couple of days looked very clean, there was a plentiful supply of loungers by the pool and on the beach. Beach towels were available to be changed daily from the water sports centre. Whilst we were there the sea was very rough for a couple of days and so we didn't go in, indeed at adjacent bay unfortunately an elderly holiday maker drowned on one of those days, so apply common sense especially if with children as on a quieter day my wife was tossed around like drift wood. There are security patrols 24 hours per day as it is a public beach that the hotel is built upon. However, please do not be put off engaging the local craftsmen who are just alongside the hotel wall, especially the man who makes bird feeders, or indeed Jackie whose own blend of equality was interesting, "women are made to spend men’s money". Most evenings there was entertainment in the pool bar from steel drums to vocalist and the limbo dancer. There was free wifi throughout the hotel including the bedrooms at the far end. Whilst you had to buy bottled water (40p per bottle) if you needed more than was stocked in the fridge it was also available free by the glass at mealtimes and from the bar all day.
We like to just chill on holiday so didn't go on any trips but those that did enjoyed them and the guy at the end of the hotel wall can fix you up.
The staff were all great and very friendly and the guys at the pool bar soon worked out your drink favourites.
There was quite a bit of construction work ongoing (noisy at times) and looked like more to come to modernise the hotel and this is where I think they have lost their direction a little. When the hotel first opened I am sure it was at that time a leading hotel, today however it sits a little uncomfortable in its skin. This is typified by the restaurant with its mix and mismatch of styling, the orange wall which houses the buffet dishes and the mural behind it, to the individual stands for water and salad and of course the dress code with trousers for men but no air con and the piped music, one evening it was very dodgy Scottish pipe music, Dashing White Sergeant for dinner!
The usp is without doubt the location and they should push this as a relaxing/chilled hotel on the beach and review some of the things they have done since no doubt it opened, dress shorts for dinner would be a start, it is not a fine dining restaurant, nor should it be, it should be friendly and informal as the staff were, they then may start to attract a younger crowd as apart from another 2 couples we were probably the youngest British visitors and we are in our forties and on many days the hotel felt almost empty until the 2nd Thursday which brought a greater influx of British visitors. The highlight of the holiday was the last Friday night where we lucky enough to see a Leatherback Turtle laying it’s eggs in a nest it had dug in the sand.
Flight back was uneventful, only tip is if first time in Tobago once you have checked in you are as well in the bar opposite as the departure lounge is minimal.
Overall we had a great time and got exactly what we expected and if you are going relax and enjoy yourself, Tobago style, yeah man!.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mike&Ceri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews