We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Royal Treatment in the Royal County” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Darnley Lodge Hotel

Darnley Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Darnley Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Athboy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Royal Treatment in the Royal County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

From the moment you enter the reception area to when you leave you can be assured of a warm welcome, great service and a great feeling of being looked after. Although there are local guide books you're far better talking to the reception staff who will direct you with great ease. Don't be surprised if management check with you occasionally to ensure your stay is going well or is there anything they can do to enhance it. The food is wholesome and hearty and if you fancy something a little different look no further than the menu for a myriad of choice. As a base for sightseeing it's ideal with Trim Castle (scene of Braveheart Filming) just down the road and the Boyne Valley and Hill of Tara nearby; you truly are well placed. Security monitored parking and weekend nightclub separate to the hotel for the young at heart means most bases are covered. There is only one downside - if you have mobility problems then the stairs may be a little testy but I believe renovation plans inlude a lift. Oh, one other thing, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Co Meath!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DinjoLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    14
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
22
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

i stayed in this hotel for a Hen Party and I cannot recommend it enough. Everyone was so helpful and nothing was a problem for any member of the staff. They could not do enough for us, nothing was a problem. i would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends.

thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 53elephants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMcE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

The hotel staff were so accommodating, friendly and could not have done more for us. 22 of us on a hen party, they did everything they could to make our stay brilliant. I cant rave enough about the hotel, staff, location. I will be telling everyone about this fab spot.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_stephster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

Just back from my hen weekend with a large group of girls, and this place was by far one of the best places we'd even been to. We started arriving on Friday evening expecting to get "pb grub". Instead we had the options of fillet steak, chicken curry, fajitas, etc, all of which came with huge portions of chips/wedges etc. Having eaten our fill we ventured to a local pub for a few tipples. Some managed to stay up late chatting to the manager Joe, having gatecrashed a 21st!, and Joe kept the girls all well fed, with a few free plates of sandwiches abotu 3/4 in the morning!!

Some had a few more than others which meant they missed breakfast. Not to worry - no additional charges for room service, or for the toasted sandwich one of the girls had about 12ish.

We then got the complimentary bus to Causey Farm, when jumping (or falling into) the bog as well as miling cows, feeding chickens, irish dancing and bread making were all included. After some scones and tea, back to the hotel, where they had kindly put the champagne we brough with us on ice for us!!

For our meal that night, they gave us a separate room to ourselves, with out own printed menus celebrating my hen. Food once again, was delicious with too many side portions of everything, and complimentary wine!!

We eneded up staying in the hotel, and joining a charity 80's/09's night for hours of dancing. Once again magic sandwiches appeared very very late in the night /early morning.

In the morning, once again the staff were so pleasant and friendly that some of us didn't want to go home, or wanted to start organising the next trip back down.

Definitely a place to stay for the fabulous food, warm welcome and super efficient and friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the_stephster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

A wee bit slow in reviewing but walking my daughter down the aisle after flying over from Toronto, Ontario, I was astounded at the great service, great food and great accomadations that awaited us at The Old Darnley Lodge. Travelling throughout North America and thinking I had "been there, done that" I was just amazed at all of the exceptional high quality offerings. The reception went off without any problems and the pictures were just amazing and all you need do is to look at the gardens to see why. My daughter and my son-in-law recently moved to Athboy and I am hoping to make the trip once again and hopefully see my granddaughter for the first time. Exceptional Staff coupled with Exceptional Presentation makes this a GEM of a place to stop. Please treat yourself to The Best and stay at The Old Darnley Lodge, and please say hello from Canada for me.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiveaxle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2009

Very friendly efficient staff, rooms were clean and tidy. Would highly recommend this hotel if only for the food. Only writing review now as not long joined travel advisor and even though its been 3 years since I stayed in the hotel I am a native of nearby Kildalkey so I do know this hotel well.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MightyMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

Cannot speak highly enough of the Old Darnley Lodge Hotel - especially the Food, the service and everything about it. Would like to make special mention of "Aydan," the friendliest, most helpful, most obliging and he is so cheerful at all times. We often call into the Darnley for Breakfast, and he is a breath of fresh air.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athboy
21.8 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
7.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
10.0 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
7.1 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darnley Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darnley Lodge Hotel

Property: Darnley Lodge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Athboy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Athboy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Athboy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Darnley Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darnley Lodge Hotel was the estate office for the Darnley Family who owned the town of Athboy and surrounding land from 1770. The family had an enormous influence on the development of Athboy until the power of the landlords was finally weakened by the Wyndham Act of 1903. They eventually sold the town in 1909. The Darnley estate office, was finally closed in 1948. The Darnley Lodge Hotel is a haven of tranquillity in the Midlands. The Darnley Lodge hotel has 15 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms. Our hotel is an ideal place for you to relax and unwind with its homely charm and welcoming feel. Co. Meath is known as the royal county and is rich in heritage, boasting2 heritage towns, Kells and Trim. You can visit such places as thehistorical Newgrange, Trim Castle which is where the Hollywood Blockbuster Braveheart was filmed, the hill of Tara and the fun packed coast to the tranquil gardens and Boyne walks. Meath offers something to satisfy all interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Darnley Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing