We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame!”

Darnley Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Darnley Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Athboy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I attended a wedding at this hotel in November 2012. The staff were excellent and the room was cosy and very comfortable. This hotel has since been closed which is such a shame as it really was a traditional country hotel with plenty of charm and character.
Best wishes to all the staff.

Room Tip: The stairs are a little rickety (adds to the charm) and could cause issues for those less mobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 97 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

My son and his family live in Athboy so I felt I would give them a little space this year and stay in a hotel locally, the Darnley seemed ok and the the rates were not to dear
On arrival the hotel seemed pleasant enough, the first issue was that I was informed the hotel was closed over the Christmas period and there would be no staff other than the night watchman who would prepare my breakfast, that if I went out I would have to ring him to gain access
So no chance of this pleasant Irish welcome each time I returned and what about my full Irish breakfast
As already stated there is no lift in the hotel and I was in room 6 which was up a couple of flights of stairs, the room initially was not that warm, but of a reasonable standard, with plenty of storage space, I was disappointed that the bathroom only had a shower rather than a bath, because it is one of my pleasures to indulge in, I tried the TV but could not tune it in but felt would sort out later
I returned just after 12 midnight and as already stated the place was closed so was let in by night watchman (nwm)and returned to my room, it was a not quite as I had hoped I was hoping there would of been members of staff and public to make it a more welcoming experience,,but I was ready for bed, I tried the TV again for some company, but it would not work,
The next morning got up went down, NWM did a basic breakfast, do remember this was Christmas day, I have to say the amount of scrambled egg is the best I have ever had, I was sat in poorly lit seating area, there was plenty of toast and coffee, I mentioned the TV, NWM explained that as they had changed over to Digital not all rooms had been converted, so he moved me down to room 2, this again was a pleasant room, I sorted out clothes then again went out for the day, the village was totally deserted but had some atmosphere with the street not being busy with vehicles coming and going
Again back late in the day, went through same process, with nobody about and TV was still working, got a good nights sleep, again next morning went down, NWM spent some time chatting to me and this time there was another resident to chat to, after breakfast went to sons, this day the local supermarket and bookies were open, but nobody else about
Returned a little earlier this time, to a totally different hotel, the bar and disco was now open, but as had an early start the next day decided to go to my room. I now understood why I had been placed in a high room, the bass of the disco could be heard and felt and was quite intrusive, it finally stopped about 2am so much for my peace and quiet
The next morning I went down,. there were staff about and I finally got my full Irish breakfast it was substantial and filling, unfortunately there was still nobody to speak to, when i went to check out at 9.30 there was nobody about at reception so man who worked behind the bar took payment
I am not sure how good the place is as a hotel normally, I would not recommend staying there during the christmas period unless you want total peace and quiet, or they can guarantee that the place is open to normal users, beware of low rooms on nights that there is a disco, also that there is at present no lift or working TVs in many of the rooms

Room Tip: As already stated if fit and healthy go for a high room and make sure if Christmas period that the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ahappyTog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I go here with my parents on regular Sundays and it is without doubt one of Ireland's best carveries. Taking into account how busy they always are and how often you see empty plates on the tables, I think the facts speak for themselves. Especially delicious is the roast beef, stuffing, veg and potatoes, and the atmosphere is a nice balance between respectful and easy going.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreedyMessiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

I couldn't rate the hotel high enough after our wedding day and the fantastic treatment we received. As both my husband and I are locals, with many new hotels open in the area, we didn't think twice about the choice of venue for the big day. The Darnley has what the new hotels lack, it's a true genuine homely hotel and has the personal touch. Great complements to Joe who looked after us from day 1 when we booked our wedding. The food is also a speciailty, with everyone offered second helpings of their dish. The residents bar was another aspect which surprised many of our guests, they're just not that bothered about closing time as many were leaving as the staff were preparing for serving breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fizawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We had our wedding in the Old Darnley lodge on the 22nd March 2010. It was fantastic, Our Thanks to Sean, Joe, Shiela, Geraldine and all the staff for all they done for us on the day. They made our wedding Day the best ever.
The food is fantastic always, and a warm welcome.
I highly recommend this hotel for any occasion, Can;t say enough good things about this hotel.
Well done to all the staff.....

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Brilliant staff, went above and beyond our expectations even with our little "hiccup" situation regarding a wedding cake!!! Good on ye

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shenn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

this hotel is small in size,but makes up for it with great staff-great location in town centre..everyone that stays in this hotel -will enjoy every aspect of it & their stay..the manager sean ,is the man that starts & keeps the otel running like clockwork backed up by a fantastic team.. i have stayed in this hotel many times over the years & each time i book in the eperience just gets better& better....the hotel bar is a great place to meet people or the locals willstrike up a conversation with you....failing this you could always try out a local watering hole "floods " bar just 100 yards up the street.. athboy 9/10

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bernardcameron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athboy
10.0 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
657 reviews
21.8 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,554 reviews
7.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
654 reviews
8.2 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
10.3 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darnley Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darnley Lodge Hotel

Address: Main Street, Athboy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Athboy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Athboy
Price Range: $115 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Darnley Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darnley Lodge Hotel was the estate office for the Darnley Family who owned the town of Athboy and surrounding land from 1770. The family had an enormous influence on the development of Athboy until the power of the landlords was finally weakened by the Wyndham Act of 1903. They eventually sold the town in 1909. The Darnley estate office, was finally closed in 1948. The Darnley Lodge Hotel is a haven of tranquillity in the Midlands. The Darnley Lodge hotel has 15 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms. Our hotel is an ideal place for you to relax and unwind with its homely charm and welcoming feel. Co. Meath is known as the royal county and is rich in heritage, boasting2 heritage towns, Kells and Trim. You can visit such places as thehistorical Newgrange, Trim Castle which is where the Hollywood Blockbuster Braveheart was filmed, the hill of Tara and the fun packed coast to the tranquil gardens and Boyne walks. Meath offers something to satisfy all interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Darnley Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing