We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilltop Oasis with panaramic views of Pizzo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Popilia Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maierato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights last summer in the beautiful hotel Popilia Country Resort.

The drive up to the hotel is almost 3kms up a small country road, the climb up the mountain can be a little nerve racking, especially for tourists not used to driving on Italian roads.
But once you reach the top of the mountain and approach the entrance to the resort, all those winding roads are just a distant memory.

The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and you are always guaranteed to meet at least one English speaking member of staff.
You have the choice of either staying in a hotel room or a self catering cottage, we chose the cottages, as we had more space, plus cooking facilities and of course a lot more privacy.
The swimming pool is large, the sun loungers are very comfortable and there are plenty of large parasols to help shade you from the summer sun. The pool bar is a nice addition, they serve poolside snacks, minerals, beer and wine.

The restaurant 'Antica' opens for evening meal around 7pm, its an indoor restaurant with lots of character. We found out that the owner of the hotel, also owns the Calipo factory in Pizzo, they are the biggest manufacturers of ice cream and tuna, this knowledge helped us decide on what to choose for dinner - you guessed it, tuna steak for main course and ice cream for dessert.
After dinner you can relax in the modern foyer of the hotel or chill out in many of the large terraced areas or garden.

Vincent, originally from Australia, but who married a local Calabrese woman, works in the bar, so he would stop by and chat and tell us about local places of interest, which was an added bonus.

Even in the middle of the high summer season, it can get a little chilly at night time when you are sitting outside, so it is advisable to bring a light jumper with you, just in case.
If you are looking for a really peaceful holiday or short break, then I would highly recommend a holiday at the Popila.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66,416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 815 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our friend's wedding, and the views and food were phenomenal! It's a bit off the beaten track, so if you are auto-less, travel around the area can be a bit limiting. However, Valentina and her staff were always so helpful and spot-on with issues that arose (there had not been any WiFi in the hotel for a few days) and with planning the next leg of our journey. Truly a hidden gem in Calabria, and if we were in the area again, we'd stay in a heartbeat!

The beaches nearby are pristine and magical, and though we didn't get to go to Tropia, we enjoyed even the more local sand and surf.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missennui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had to keep our eyes peeled to find this place and find it we did. Mind, it's more than 5km off the main road.
The building is quite new and hence the bathrooms were the biggest we'd had in all of Italy! Never enjoyed my showers in Italy like I did here!!
The resort has all the mod-cons, huge lifts, internet, swimming pool etc.
Breakfast is the usual continental fare - good but not great.

As the place is in the middle of the boondocks, you have to go out of town to enjoy the area. The staff are brilliant with that. They will advice you on where to go and what to do. There is plenty to do out of town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amj_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The views from this hotel are fantastic, though the road to get there is a bit of a pain and very dangerous at the bottom going towards Pizzo.

The rooms are fine, not trendy but spacious and they have what you need. The noise inside the hotel travels very easily and you may as well be sharing your room with several others, which is a pity-but not the end of the world.

We had several spa treatments, one therapist-a younger girl with dark hair was very thorough and good.

What gets me about this hotel is, once you are there-you are there!

The hotel food was very disappointing and in light of the fact that not only is it in an area of very good quality food, they also have many produce growing in their grounds and the owner also has a food company.

The service was confused and lazy,the food was below average and over priced.

We didn't return to the restaurant and we didn't look forward to breakfast.

This was the most disappointing element as the lifeguard and female receptionists were particuarly helpful and a real asset to the hotel.

I would say as this place for a B and B rate isn't so expensive, it is worth a stay for a couple of nights....Just get a table in town for dinner!





There were two members of staff who were very very helpful

Room Tip: Ask for one that would be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patchaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Myself and 7 other family members traveled to Italy from Pittsburgh Pa. USA . We traveled throughout Italy visited family and childhood hometowns of our parents and touring touristy towns. My father is from Maierato, so while there we stayed at the Popilia Country Resort, and were amazed at its beauty!!! Breath taking views of Ocean, countryside, Lake ect... Hotel grounds are very well taken care of, Bungalows are very clean, fully equip, beautiful decor. The staff was ever so pleasant and helpful!! And they knew English very well!! We had a wonderful stay there, just wished we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathyb432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed there with my family in June 2012 and had a fantastic time. The setting is great and the quality of the food and the service is excellent. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and genuinely eager to make your stay better. Would recommend it to families, anyone wanting a peaceful break and the discerning traveller. (By the way their tuna is fantastic - recommended.) *****

Room Tip: We had a challet down near the bottom which was really quiet and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickMcKigney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

During a road trip through the south of Italy, by accident we came across this marvellous country resort, curiously located on the top of a hill. It was a positive surprise since not only it is surrounded by nature (both sea and mountain) and extremely calm, but it turns out to be a new construction, that meaning: spotless!
It is five minutes away – by car - from the sea, and seven minutes away from civilization, although it seems lost in the nature.
Rooms are comfortable, very well equipped, elegant and spacious, with great landscape views. The resort itself includes sport facilities (tennis, soccer, stables…) and a very cosy wellness and beauty centre, discretely placed near the outdoor swimming pool, which overlooks mountain and see…
We noticed several bungalows, but I cannot describe them since we never saw the inside, each one of them with its own garden.
Last but not least I would mention the restaurant: food and wine will be difficult to forget, being of high quality, fresh and typical from the Calabrian area (although I must mention the nouvelle cuisine did play an important part in all the dishes, making them also very attractive to the eye!)…
Do take a pair of outdoor shoes if you were to go, I didn’t and I destroyed my shoes while walking through the woods, farm and lake…

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank macadamianutbrittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maierato
21.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Paradiso
Grand Hotel Paradiso
#3 of 4 in Catanzaro Lido
241 reviews
5 mi away
Residenza L'Antico Borgo
Residenza L'Antico Borgo
#1 of 1 in Filadelfia
181 reviews
21 mi away
Sunshine Club Hotel Centro Benessere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Piccolo Grand Hotel
Piccolo Grand Hotel
#1 of 10 in Pizzo
228 reviews
23.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Perla del Porto
18 mi away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 20 in Tropea
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popilia Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popilia Country Resort

Address: Localita Cuta, 89843 Maierato, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Maierato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maierato
Price Range: $93 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Popilia Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hilly area of about 140 hectares, Popilia Country Resort is a modern and refined 4-star hotel, just a few km away from the motorway exit of S. Onofrio - Vibo Valentia and 30 km away from Lamezia Terme International Airport. It is placed at 347 meters above sea level and overlooks a beautiful natural scenery, dominating on one side the Gulf of St. Euphemia and on the other side the green forests and the lush hilly landscape of the Serre. The property offers 16 elegant hotel rooms, furnished in classical style, with panoramic views of the sea as well as of the hills of the Serre. Around the pool are 58 bright cottages (with one, two or three rooms inside). Ideal for families, they are furnished in country style, equipped with all modern comforts and amenities such as air conditioning and private LED TV with digital terrestrial channels, free wi-fi access, safe, fridge, hairdryer. Some of them provide even a kitchenette. The Resort is equipped with a modern and exclusive SPA & Wellness Center, an outdoor swimming pool, an excellent restaurant that offers high quality courses, sports facilities including a 9-hole miniature golf course, fitness trail and nature trails. The elegant spa, with a great attention to details, offers precious moments of relaxation and give the mind a deep balance. The Antica Crissa is renowned for its high-quality food and a professional staff. Warmed by a large fireplace in the winter and cool during summertime, the restaurant serves delicious Calabrian and international cuisine, fine dishes based on fish or meat and genuine polychrome of fresh fruit, partly coming from Popilia orchard. Meetings and Incentives, conferences and conventions, Popilia Country Resort has various indoor environments with panoramic views of the beautiful and evocative Gulf of St. Eufemia. All halls are well equipped with modern facilities, functional for business guests. Always available, the staff will assist you during your stay by giving you advice on interesting places to visit, excursions and transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Popilia Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing