We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand night of Fado”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were in our favourite pottery shop in Porches. the pottery capitol of the Algarve ,having a conversation with the propiertor who told us that the Vale D'el Rei a suite and nature hotel nearby on the road to Carvoeiro was having "Grande Noite De Fado" and it was actualy on that evening the 6th February.
Well any of you know the Algarve at this time of the year , know you get glorious days of warm winter sunshine.But most of the area at this time of the year is like an old wild west ghost town.Nearly everything is closed.But the restaurants and hotels that stay open and offer what Vale D'el Rei gave us last night are to be prized,it was a glorious evening!
We drove the four odd kilometers to the hotel and were lucky to get the last available table.We stayed and had a cup of coffee on the patio and saw what a lovely hotel this was in its extensive gardens.
We returned to the hotel at 8PM and for over two hours we were feasted and entertained to such a high standard that I give my five stars without hesitation. For 19,50 Euros we had a six course dinner including coffee plus the entertaintment of two musicians on mandolin and guitar and a young lady and a more senior gentleman performing Fado to a very high level.
What made it very special was that many of the Portuguesse joined in the choruses at the right time, and now for the menu .
The meal started with Couvert and a choice of six "Tapas".It was followed by a fish soup an then a trilogy from the sea consisting of Tuna,Golden bream and Shrimp on butter sauce and lemon sauteed potatoes with vegetables.If this was not enough, Pork tenderloin with clams and bread stew,mashed potatoe and asparagus followed.My wife had a pasta dish instead of the pork.The desserts were made up of an Algarvian Sweet variety.Coffe followed. The price also included water, soft drinks and a half bottle of wine!
I cannot recommend this hotel enough for what it offered us last night. It was a glorious evening. i believe that they will be having a special evening every Wednesday now.We will be back in London ,we go tomorrow,but next time we return to our holiday home in Salgados we will visit the Vale D'el Rei again , without doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear LondonBarry,
Thank you very much for visiting us and we are very pleased that you've enjoyed the Fado evening and the dinner as well, really appreciatted your review. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Joao Costa-GM Details Hotels & Resorts (gm@detailshotels.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 656 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

We returned from a four night stay at Vale D'El Rei today and would love to be still there.
The hotel had just reopened after the winter break so was very quiet and so we had the full attention of all the staff and they made our time so special.
From Check-in to check out everything was perfect. The hotel is spotlessly clean and up to date. The room was quiet,comfortable and relaxing,with a modern bathroom,balcony and an enormous double bed. A number of television channels are available including BBC 1 & ITV so we could stay in touch with the news and weather at home and enjoy the contrast with the peacefullness of the Lagoa area and the clear sky and sunshine and a comfortable 18 degrees every day.
In previous reviews some people had commented on the food,well I would like to reassure you in that regard the food was truly amazing. The half board included an ample breakfast with Yoghurts,Cheese and ham,fruit,cereals,breads and a cooked breakfast with fresh orange and tea or coffee. It was the evening meals that really set the standard. The three course meal with two choices of starter,two choices of dessert and three choices of main course. The food was far better than a lot of restaurants we have eaten at and as good as any hotel we have ever stayed at.
We used the free shuttle bus to the nearby town of Carvoerio,an ideal place to shop,take a stroll around the rocks and beach or sit in a nice pavement bar and relax with a drink. Our driver was friendly,polite and always on time.
The hotel has a beautiful pool area and gardens to relax in or stroll around. In the summer they have an out door bar,bbq area,tennis courts,cycle hire,table tennis and even a Gym,which I used one afternoon.
At night the pool area is lite up and the pool itself has coloured lighting.
The Spa is a very relaxing place with a turkish bath (steam room),Sauna,Jacuzzi (Whirlpool),Jet showers,and the most relaxing room possible. You can also have one of the many massage treatments available. We used the Spa every afternoon of our stay and my partner had a Reflexology session which she felt was amazing.
Two things I would recommend when you choose to stay here would be to hire a car so you can explore more of the surrounding area and ask for a 2nd floor room which faces the pool area or towards the sea as this gets the sun so you can sit on your balcony and your warm gets the sun. All rooms have air-conditioning so can be as warm or as cool as you desire.
The reason we will return to the Vale D'El Rei was the staff who work there.. Every staff member went that extra mile to make our holiday memorable. The restaurant staff treated us like royalty and we felt special,important and valued as customers. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here and the quality of service is as good as it gets in my opinion. Gracia (sorry if thats not the correct spelling) is the lady who runs the Day Spa,and I would like to give a special mention to her because our daily visits to her Spa where the highlight of so many highlights on this holiday. Freindly,genuine and welcoming,she made us feel so at home,and so relaxed we looked forward to seeing her each afternoon.
Quiet,relaxing and a chance to recharge our batteries in idyllic surrounds with top quality service from an excellent team of staff.

Room Tip: Hire a car to see more of the local area. Ask for a second floor room with a view over the pool or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeffofbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear jeffofbelfast,
Thank you very much for your preference at Vale d'El Rei-Hotel & Nature and for your review. The reason being of the change in food quality is due to our new Head-Chef Luis do Resário and the new Maitre'd Paulo Simões together with the existing team they took the winter break for training and changed totally the concept of the restaurant and quality of the ingredients, this the way it will continue and we are very pleased you've appreciated. It is really rewarding. Also that you've pointed out the use of the free Shuttle Bus into Carvoeiro. We look forward to welcome you back again. Kind regards Joao Costa-GM Details Hotels & Resorts (gm@detailshotels.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in an older style villa, but it was clean and comfortable. Food is good, the spa is excellent, the staff are very fiendly and accomodating. They even allowed us to use a room o shower before leaving for an evening flight.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donsyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear donsyb,
Thank you very much for you preference. We hope too having you with us again soon. Kind regards, Joao Costa-GM at Details Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week. Came back yesterday and miss it already!!! Staff friendly and shuttle to town/beach too. Very quiet and peaceful. Rooms lovely. Not good for people who want a hectic lively holiday. Nice relaxing holiday, would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank suslu06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear suslu06,
Thanks very much for your review, the way you review the Resort is really fine and accurate. Kind regards, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Resort
We stayed from 19-26th September. We arrived after midnight and the hotel looks very nice at night. It is a small hotel with two floors, the rooms were nice, and the TV has a small selection of channels - BBC, CNN, and quite a few German channels. There is also a channel dedicated to the delights of the Algarve, which helps with thinking of things to do.
We were initially given a smaller room than what we had booked (in which we slept the first night), but the receptionist was helpful in making sure we would have a new room by the morning.

Hotel Vale D'El Rei itself is in an isolated location, so car hire is recommended to travel around the Algarve, else be prepared to hold back some euros for taxi fares. This may limit your entertainment options if you plan to go out a lot.

Customer Service
Excellent, the front of house staff were all smiles and more than helpful - all the questions I had could be answered by them. On the last day we had to leave early in the morning and they arranged a lunch pack at sort notice for us. Overall, very impressed.

Breakfast
Served 7am - 10am. Decent selection of fried and continental options. The fried eggs always seem to run out by 9am but kitchen are able to cook more on demand, and have them taken over to your breakfast table as well.

Restaurant
We tried both the buffet and the A La Carte menu - the A La Carte menu is small but has a decent variety; we went for the fish mains.

The buffet was disappointing, and had a small selection on offer - the dessert options were varied but average. Having said that, it came up to 29.95 for two people.

Room Service
One of the surprising things about the room service menu is the price, it's refreshingly competitive and if you order over 15EUR they waive the tray charge.

We ordered during the busy dinner period so the food was sometimes slow to arrive.

Shuttle Service
Very efficient service, book yourself a seat via reception and if you aren't in the hotel lobby by the designated leaving time they will give you a call to let you know the shuttle has arrived. The drivers are friendly and knowledgeable, and there are a few shuttles per day going to Carvoeiro (small town with a lot of restaurants, shops and a beach) and Praia La Marinha (amazing beach), with the latest around 5pm. If you are out beyond this time, you will need to make your own way back.

Entertainment and facilities
Swimming pool is a decent size with pool side service from the bar, the sun loungers are of a good quality, and there is a table tennis table as well. In the bar there is a pool table (2EUR per game) and a PS3 (4EUR for an hour).

The resort has its own Spa facilities, but we never made use of them so cannot comment.

In Summary
A fantastic hotel, with some of the best customer service I've experienced. If you are after a relaxing holiday, I'd recommend staying here. Be prepared to drive if you are after a broader Algarve experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor will get you a balcony. Our room, 201, faced the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Simon D,
Thank you very much for your compreenshive review, I'm sure it helps a lot future visitors, really nice the way you described it all. Kind regards, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Me and my husband have just came back for here last month we went on our honeymoon here as is had very good review..... dont get me wrong the hotel is nice very clean but the travel agent fails to mention that its in the middle of nowhere the nearest town is a 10 min taxi ride away n tbh its not much livelier..... we asked for a quiet-ish resort but this was just too quiet so unless your over 50 i wouldnt even bother with this place lovely hotel but just in the wrong place
if you want to go on holiday to sleep then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank emsie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear eremsie33,
Thank you very much for your contribution, we look forward to seeing you again when you're 50. Kind regards, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you're looking for a relaxing holiday then this is the place to go. A lovely hotel with good amenities situated in the countryside which may not be ideal for everyone. If you enjoy lying by the pool then it's perfect but a hire car is the alternative if you want to explore the surrounding area. The pool area and the extensive gardens are excellent. Our room was spacious and well appointed. All the staff members were extremely professional and obliging. The downside was the food. We tried the buffet three times but the choice was virtually the same every night so it was slightly boring. The bar food was also restricted in choice and the restaurant wasn't even open! (We were there in September). We ate in the nearby town of Carveiro for the rest of the holiday. The times of the shuttle bus also need to be addressed, a slightly later bus into the town in the evening would be a good start. However the positives definitely outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuddyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear RuddyScotland,
Thank you very much for your review and suggestions which will taken into consideration.
Kind regards from the Algarve, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoa
2.6 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,584 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Suites Alba Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,071 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas

Address: Quinta Vale d'El Rei, Lagoa 8400-421, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range: $62 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a typical Portuguese rural landscape and just 60 km west of Faro Airport, Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas is near to the village of Carvoeiro, south of Lagoa on the way to the famous Marinha beach. Surrounded by flourishing vineyards, and endless stretches of Atlantic coastline, this is a unique place where nature imposes a slower pace life. A relaxed atmosphere, supreme comfort and authentic Algarvian hospitality ensure that each visitor enjoys a genuine "home from home" experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale d`El Rei - Suite & Village Hotel Lagoa
Vale d`El Rei - Suite And Village Resort
Vale Del Rei
Vale D'El Rei Hotel & Villas Portugal/Lagoa, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing