We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation”
Review of Colina da Lapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colina da Lapa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great accommodation”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We recently stayed with the family in two adjacent 2 bed villas (one for the two "oldies" and one for the kids and grandkids) The accommodation is great; roomy, everything you need in the villas (although one or two shortages (plates etc) would have made catering for six in one villa difficult) but having a dishwasher and washing machine is a godsend with children. We also made very good use of the juicer with the wonderful oranges to be bought by the roadside! The pool area was fine and we had it almost to ourselves, and there was lots of grassy area around the villas for the little ones to let off steam. The kids' playground left something to be desired (one swing and a small slide.)

Room Tip: The quietest villa is probably No 44 at the far end of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina da Lapa, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest and friend

Many thanks for your review here on trip advisor , as you know are very important for all uf us
continue with a good service

many thanks for your kindly words .

I hope see you very soon once again

regards
José mAtos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    142
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
206
119
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the colina da lapa for 8 days at the end of February..we booked with low cost beds. The complex was a little difficult to find due to a lack of sign posts! But when we did find it we were pleasantly surprised.check in was easy no problems at all.
The 2 bed villa we had booked was ready even though we were early. We had villa number 50 and found its location perfect near to reception/ basketball court pool view etc
We loved the villa and complex but wouldn't fancy staying without a car. I have to say the reception staff were great answering all our questions and sorting any minor problems straight away well done to the team.
The villa and complex were spotlessly clean and we had maids visit 6 out of 8 days which was great.
It was out of season so the heating and log fire were a nice touch and as it was out of season the complex seemed quiet even though it was our school holidays we didn't see any more children on the site.
We would defiantly return and recommend to people.
Would also recommend low cost holidays and drive 4 fun car hire
A lovely break in a lovely location :-)

Room Tip: Number 50 was near everything and had sun from late morning till sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hellcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina da Lapa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Customer, guest and Friend

Thanks for your review here on trip advisor , us yu know are very importante for us resort and staff.

Encorage the staff to continue with the good service and increase more quality.

In my name and name of all my staff a big thanks and hope to see you once again and very soon

Kind regards

Director José mAtos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in self catering apartments here and it was brilliant for the ridiculously cheap price we paid.

Rooms: Although a little dated and simple, they were extremely spacious and had all the facilities we needed. Bathroom, 2 bed rooms, kitchen, living area and balcony.

Activities: The pool was fairly big (not very deep) and quite quiet... Although some attempt was made for entertainment during the day. They had an itinerary of activities but I think due to the timing of our visit there were not enough children willing to join in the fun and games.
This hotel has a good balance as there is not an annoying animation team disturbing you from your book... But there is still loads to do. There are tennis courts, pool tables, volleyball courts, basket ball courts and a young children's play area... so I would recommend it for children and families.

Location: There is not much to do around the hotel, however, the town Carvoeiro is not too far away and the hotel offer a free shuttle there each day. I would recommend a taxi there of a night, yet we did walk a few times and it took around 35minutes.
There is a small beach there, a few little shops and restaurants but not like your usual built up beach town and nothing like Albufeira. Most restaurants are located down the side street and a really nice Italian as well as some average bars and Karaoke.

Entertainment : At the hotel of an evening isn't the best, but they did do one karaoke night. The food is ok for snacks during the day (burgers, ice creams , hotdogs) but we didn't eat here of an evening. About 20minute walk away is a mini supermarket (go left when you exit the complex and just keep walking). I would recommend the hot walk here as opposed to rip off prices at the pool! I suppose ideal if you wish to cook at the apartment one night.

Last of all, staff were really friendly and helpful. Wifi at reception was good. No noise or other problems. Ps. you should go to the water park.

Would recommend this hotel for a short short stay with family or friends

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina da Lapa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Client Guest and friend

Thanks for your review here on tripadvisor

As you know are very importante for all team to encourage and keeptd the good work
and give more and more quality

I hope see you very soon once again , of course all staff will give you a welcome

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This place is receiving 5 star reviews which I think is overly generous.

Have stayed at other apartments in the algarve that supplied some basic cleaning supplies such as washing up liquid, dish clothes, ant spray. Or emergency candles, torches. None of that here. Bring your own beach towels as none supplied. Also bring coffee cups as those supplied are espresso sized and don't expect the coffee machine mentioned on websites because there wasn't one. And although kitchen does have a kettle, microwave, toaster, and juicer, there is only one plug so no multi tasking at breakfast time.

No DVD player which does seem to be a basic in other holiday apartments nowadays. Other reviews and websites have said flat screen TV, this wasn't the case in our apartment.

Some of the apartments have been repainted, some haven't and they really need to be. Also great to regrout and reseal bathrooms but maybe clean out the black mold before you use clear sealant over it. Balcony paint and tiled floor were dirty, as was the tiled ledge of the balcony, and the balcony table had ground in dirt and needed to be replaced. And both brick uprights on the balcony were invested with ants, kitchen also invested to a lesser extent. Beds are rock hard and furniture throughout the apartment very dated even by southern european standards. And although there is a safe in the room, it is a key type lock and you have to pay a deposit and a weekly charge on it.

We could hear the people in the apartment next to us stomping about the place at all hours, and they were smoking constantly on their balcony even though the apartments and balconies are non-smoking which meant we couldn't open our bedroom window.

Bring a torch to see at night as not much outside lighting. Tuesday nights were karaoke nights, very loud, and went onto about midnight. You need to book the day before if you want to eat breakfast in Colina restaurant!

Free wifi available at the reception area only. Had seen reviews that stated it was available in the bar area too but that does not seem to be the case.

Mini market on site was open but only sells bread, water, some soft drinks, suntan lotion, and not much else. Seemed to open at 9.30am most days for a couple of hours, then open again later in the day sometimes.

Pool bar was open when we were here. Good selection of ice creams and beverages but everything here was about 40cents more expensive than elsewhere.

I really think this is a 3 star resort which is fine if you know that beforehand, otherwise you could be in for a surprise.

Good things.

Nice location in a quiet village half way between Carveoiro and Ferragudo. We didn't see or hear any of the scary dogs mentioned in other reviews.

Masseuse is excellent although she doesn't speak English. Lots of sun-loungers at the pool area.

BBC1, BBC WorldNews, and ITV1 the English speaking TV channels in the apartments if you want to watch some telly while you are away. There is also a small selection of books in the apartments.

Small mini market in sesmarias open until around 8pm and has a good selection. Bar Luisa beside the mini market does nice pizzas and is good value. (For those of you not hiring cars, none of the restaurants and bars in Sesmarias other than Bon Bon appear to open on a Sunday).

Intermarche on way to Carveoiro has been done up and has a good selection of household goods and food. The bakery beside the checkouts is first class and reasonably priced. New Aldi between Lagoa and Carveoiro which is also supposed to be good.

Good selection of different types of eateries and bars in both Carveoiro and Ferragudo.

And although we were slightly disappointed with Colina da Lapa we will still be going back to Carveoiro / Sesmarias next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzanneUNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina da Lapa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest Customer and Friend

Many thks for your review here on trip Advisor , As you know all reviews are important for us, because we can see the less positives points and continue work to kepted teh good ones.

In my name and name of my staff a big thanks for your kindly words, is a incentive and encourge all staff continue with the good work.

I hope see you once again in our conplex and hope are very very soon

Kindest regards
José Matos
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The 1 bed apartment was large with well furnished kitchen, balcony front and back so sun most of day, upper apartment had concrete balcony though so blocked sun in evening. Better to have ground floor if you want evening sun .
Maid service first class however, too fastidious in taking away towels only used once!

One complaint was that we arrived at 10.45 and resort was not full but made us wait right until 2pm before we could get into the apartment! Long delay after travelling from 4am!

The resort centre of Carvoiero bit too far to walk but use of hotel shuttle during the day very convenient, then taxis in evenings to eat out. Don't miss Monte Caroiero lovely restaurants,
esp O Salmonella.

Near by bout 15 mins walk small local Italian, basic but ok, but further on at water tower Donato italian was better and reasonable. Beware the mini market closes 1pm Sunday got caught out.

Room Tip: Room 85 was upper floor sun on balcony off kitchen in morning and most afternoon. Concrete balcony o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pammy699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina da Lapa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest Customer and Friend

Many thks for your review here on trip Advisor , As you know all reviews are important for us, because we can see the less positives points and continue work to kepted teh good ones.

In my name and name of my staff a big thanks for your kindly words, is a incentive and encourge all staff continue with the good work.

I hope see you once again in our conplex and hope are very very soon

Kindest regards
José Matos
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Not a single negative aspect about this place, the location or the staff. The hotel grounds are immaculately kept- there are so many beautiful flowers and trees. Very peaceful place, friendly and helpful staff, set in the most idyllic town.

Shop, restaurant, pool, poolside bar and tennis court on site. Short walk to a few restaurants and the prettiest beach. The italian restaurant nearby is spectacular and very good value for money. The restaurant on the nearby beach is definitely worth a visit- quite pricey but the views and food are incredible.

I booked a two bedroom apartment and was upgraded to a two bedroom villa without mention from the staff, which was a lovely surprise. This place is perfect if you are looking for a romantic holiday with lots of privacy.

Taxi to Carvoeiro is around 7/8 euros and so car hire is not essential. We found that it was cheaper to get taxis and walk to places. The hotel also provides a free shuttle which leaves late morning and returns 4pm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sian156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina da Lapa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest Customer and Friend

Many thks for your review here on trip Advisor , As you know all reviews are important for us, because we can see the less positives points and continue work to kepted teh good ones.

In my name and name of my staff a big thanks for your kindly words, is a incentive and encourge all staff continue with the good work.

I hope see you once again in our conplex and hope are very very soon

Kindest regards
José Matos
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

we went to Calina da Lap 14-21 September 2013, this was a last minute holiday and we was thrilled with what we chose. we booked to be in apartments, and on arrival they upgraded us to a two bedroom villa, we couldn't have asked for better. The villa was fantastic and it was so quiet, just what we were looking for, we couldn't have asked for better. All the staff that work there was so nice and polite and they couldn't do enough for you, they were so helpful. The pool was clean and very quiet, you could get a sunbed any time of the day. The site is very large, but very nice and peaceful to walk around. The entire grounds and villas were spotless clean.
we will be back for another visit as soon as we can. we will be telling our family and friends about this place. If you want a quiet and relaxed holiday, this is the place to be. A big thank you for the staff for making our holiday special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonia70walsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina da Lapa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest Customer and Friend

Many thks for your review here on trip Advisor , As you know all reviews are important for us, because we can see the less positives points and continue work to kepted teh good ones.

In my name and name of my staff a big thanks for your kindly words, is a incentive and encourge all staff continue with the good work.

I hope see you once again in our conplex and hope are very very soon

Kindest regards
José Matos
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoa
0.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#1 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Suites Alba Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Vale d'El Rei Resort
3.0 mi away
Rocha Brava Village Resort
Rocha Brava Village Resort
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colina da Lapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina da Lapa

Property: Colina da Lapa
Address: Sesmarias-Farragudo, Lagoa 8400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colina da Lapa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Colina da Lapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Da Lapa Hotel Lagoa
Colina Da Lapa Carvoeiro
Colina Da Lapa Portugal/Lagoa, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing