We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quiet spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Colina da Lapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colina da Lapa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good quiet spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We took a villa here in July 2012 and it was lovely.It was clean,the staff were friendly and helpful and the villa was well equipped with a dishwasher,washing machine and microwave.The lounge and bedrooms had air conditioning with remote controls which was so good in 30degree heat. We stayed a week and loved it however our plan was not to hire a car but it was really necessary to do so as the mini market on the complex was closed down so to get milk/bread essentials meant a trip in a taxi if the tiny shop ten minutes walk away didn't have what you needed.It took us 40minutes from Faro airport.The nearest beach was 10/15 minutes in a taxi as was Carvoeiro and reception had to ring for a taxi for you which usually meant a 15/20 minute wait for one to come up from the town.Taxi prices were reasonable between €6-€9 to go to the beach/Carvoeiro,price depended on time of day and day of week.But I would strongly recommend hiring a car as its quite an isolated spot otherwise.Theres a good selection of restaurants in Carvoeiro and Ferraguda the other side but check Tripadvisor on these too as some are much better than others. The complex felt really safe and secure but geared towards a younger age group,families with children would adore it.We have older teenagers and they loved chilling out but felt a bit removed from the action and any nightclubs etc.
It'd be ideal for families or friends to holiday together,hiring villas beside each other. To note,there's wifi available in the reception area but not in the villas.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroomed villa (56)and it was near pool and tennis courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    139
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
204
118
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here in April and had the best holiday we have had in 30+ years.The villa was faultless and the setting perfect.We enjoyed several beautiful walks and a short trip in the courtesy bus to Carvoeiro.Portimao is worth a visit,we went reasonably in a taxi.Regarding the villa,this was well equipped including a washing machine.The staff were very friendly especially reception.We can,t wait to return next April.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oneill14-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We returned from Colina De Lapa last week having spent the first 11 days of July there and thought we would add to other reviews for this complex and resort. First impressions are always lasting impressions and this did not disappoint, the complex is well set out and the villa/apartments are all set in lovely grounds. The 2 bedroom villas are very spacious with a full size kitchen and all the utensils and equipment you could possibly need including a washing machine, dishwasher and microwave. We liked it because you weren’t too close to your next door neighbour and had plenty of different places to sit outside. There is also air conditioning in 3 rooms which was needed as it was very hot while we were there. Although some people think a car is needed to get about we did not hire a car. We arranged transfers from the airport through Monarch and was dropped off at our accommodation. A courtesy mini bus is provided to either Caneiros beach or Carvoeiro 7 days a week and is pre-booked through reception the day before, we found this really excellent. As the main resort of Carvoeiro is a long walk away we took a taxi in and back for approximately 7 euros each way in an evening. There is a supermarket about 15 minutes flat walk away which has most things required, and next door is a pizza café. Another 5 minutes further there is an Italian Restaurant (Donatas) where the food is excellent. We also booked 2 trips through reception Loule Market which we would recommend and Zoo Marine which we are still talking about now. All in all we would certainly recommend Colina De Lapa and Carvoeiro and are thinking of returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lydegreener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just returned from Colina da Lapa,unfortunately, to the miserable Scottish weather.Well what can I say regarding this complex. After much searching online for reviews prior to holiday booking. We didn`t know what to expect. Yes, complex is out of the way ,about 45 minute walk either way to carvoeiro and ferragudo, but complex runs free mini bus twice a day and public transport avialable in Carvoeiro to various main resorts. taxis usually 6 euros back to complex Complex was very quiet, site and accomodation top notch, especially 2 bedroom apartments(semi-villas). Staff there first class and bent over backwards to help. If you want an excellent quiet retreat, then great choice, although car hire would be recommended only if you want to go further afield. well done.Used tennis courts every day with my 15 year old son.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartments are semi villas with two balconys and 3 verandahs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iain c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibraltar
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Visited 4 times now with an expanding family.


The accommodation is clean and spacious with aircon and recently updated Flat screen TV's.Lots of outdoor space for the kids to run around and a fantastic pizza place 5min walk from the gates.

A cars a must but plenty of parking

Room Tip: Go for the cheapest Villa option,Theyre all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stumpytcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is my 6th time here and it never disappoints. We booked a lovely 2 bedroom villa, which was clean spacious and out of the way. The villas have everything you need if you want to cater for yourself along with washing machine and dishwasher. The staff are very friendly and willing to help. My only negative this time would be that the staff at the bar/ restaurant who I felt it was a little too much trouble to serve you. But by no means would that stop us returning again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jemima2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We arrived quite late,eat in the restaurant on site food was average but the place was very clean and the staff are so friendly,nothing was to much trouble for them. We had a two bedroom Villa which was very spacious and clean we had a washing machine and a dishwasher. Both bedrooms had a balcony which over looked beautiful grounds. The villa's was cleaned every day. You do have to get a taxi into town which cost around 8 euro's,even the taxi drivers were all friendly and chatty. The pool area is clean and the pool is not too cold so the kids enjoyed it. We will be returning next year to the same place and can not wait.

Room Tip: two bedroom Villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulspence_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoa
0.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Suites Alba Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Vale d'El Rei Suite & Villas Hotel
3.0 mi away
Rocha Brava Village Resort
Rocha Brava Village Resort
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colina da Lapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina da Lapa

Property: Colina da Lapa
Address: Sesmarias-Farragudo, Lagoa 8400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colina da Lapa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colina da Lapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Da Lapa Hotel Lagoa
Colina Da Lapa Carvoeiro
Colina Da Lapa Portugal/Lagoa, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing