We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“avoid the "restaurant"”

Slide & Splash - Water Slide Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.92*
and up
Slide & Splash Entrance Ticket
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Lagoa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
N Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“avoid the "restaurant"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

great waterpark - we have been twice with our kids aged 14 & 12. I would recommend hiring loungers & parasol at only 5 euros, the grass is very wet from sprinklers. As expected queues for the rides are inevitable but the rides are good and well maintained & supervised. The lunchtime experience in the cafe is horrendous however. The queues are atrocious, surrounded by hot, sweaty, scantily clad diners (I am pointing this out as a bad thing :) ). We waited for an hour and 15 mins & when we sat down to eat the food is was disgusting - mushy chicken burger & squidgy, pink beefburgers. We couldn't eat it but hadn't the energy to queue up to complain. My promise to myself was I would highlight it on tripadvisor so be warned. If you are lucky enough to be staying in an apartment with cool boxes provided then a picnic is the way to go.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jcnireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    937
    674
    187
    48
    55
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great park for whole family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went with our 4&9 yr olds and an 11 yr old..got there an hour after opening and park was already full Tip: try to avoid going in aug. as this is europes tourist season. I was with my 4 yr old and there is a huge kids area of little slides/ splash area and by the huge one person adult slide there is a medium slide that my 4 year old loved and could have spent all day there and was also good for my 9 year old.. i also took son on tornado which is a 2 person ride on a inflatable boat-like device ..if your not a slide person there is a hug pool u can go in. Lines for rides can get extremely long especially in august(peak tourist season) can spend up to 45 minutes waiting on most popular rides!! You can rent 2 lounger chairs for 5 euros can also get an with a 10 euro deposit that they return back when u hand in the umbrella. On day we were there in August we spent 30 minutes on a food line! YOU CAN BRING IN YOUR OWN FOOD AND DRINKS(no glass) i would highly advise this and use your time to go on lines for rides instead!! Park starts to empty out around 5 when most tour buses leave so i would do the busiest rides after then..park closes around 7:30.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank candcmoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice place - too busy!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

S&S is very well maintained with a good selection of slides. More family orientated and smaller than some waterparks - not many "Big" slides. The real problem is that the place is massively busy so you're standing in line for 20-30 minutes each time, which for the price is simply not worth it. Queuing to get in is a farce - you have to queue twice! Once to pay and once to get in and they are very disorganised - even if you pre-purchased tickets. 3 times if you want a locker. Despite the other reviews we thought the food wasn't too bad for this sort of place - way better than the quality of food you'd get in England at most attractions. Good quality too if you avoid the burgers and dogs. Get there early to bag a locker and a brolly and if you want a less crowded "Pitch" head for the rear of the park. Out of season then the place would be better. In high season plan to go for the day but take or rent a parasol. I say the day because you need to be there early and late to beat the queues as the park buses will start leave from around 3pm. They do close the park when it reaches capacity but by then you're in for a 30 minute wait. Blindingly expensive for what you get (in high season) so think twice in July and August unless you can get very good discounts.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CRVontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Busy busy splash world.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

A great park with great rides. But get there as early as you can as becomes very busy with long queues for the most popular rides. If going by taxi, stay no later than 5pm as otherwise you will be stranded. You can't pre book a return trip with any of them. If in own car stay till they kick you out and enjoy it all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tonylfc1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable day out, but not the cheapest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We visited for the third year in a row with our two children. We always come in August, but this year it was the busiest we have see it. There are plenty of offers and discounts on tickets (online, leaflets at airport). We hired a small locker to put our valuables in (5e plus 10e refundable deposit) and a parasol (5e plus 5e refundable deposit) which is a must as there is very little shade on the park. The rides are excellent, although this year the queues were long so we didn't go on as many as we would have liked. If you can take a picnic for lunch. We opted to buy lunch but like the rides the queues were massive, and it is not cheap. It cost 30e for 4 burgers, fries and drinks. Overall an enjoyable day out, if a little expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slide & Splash - Water Slide Park also viewed

 
Alcantarilha, Faro District
Algarve, Portugal
 

Been to Slide & Splash - Water Slide Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing