We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$251
$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas(Lagoa)(Great Value!)
$190
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,153)
Filter reviews
1,153 results
Traveler rating
289
487
234
76
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
487
234
76
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverjunior suiteminute walkindoor poollovely hotelbeansout of the waya la cartefishing villagereception staffsteam roombed and breakfastslight smellread the reviewsrelaxing breakhuge balconylocal supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 1,153 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile

We came here for a week and was not expecting much due to reviews but honestly the hotel itself and the staff were all fine. The hotel does have the odd occasion of smelling but it's nothing that bothered me. Maids cleaned our room remarkably well everyday clean towels and bins emptied. One thing we had to do was report our air condition leaking three times and still nothing was done but because we didn't spend much time in the room this did not affect us. Nights are cold and it's fairly quiet. I would visit again.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MollyAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile

Booked here last minute for a short break with my daughter. We stayed 4 nights. The hotel is on the outskirts of portimao... Clean and comfortable. Plenty of sun longers around the pool area which was well maintained. We had breakfast and lunch each day and both had a good selection of food of an excellent standard. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We took a boat trip from the hotel to the caves and this was a great entertaining experience. If you are looking for a peaceful location that is away from the real tourist centre this hotel is ideal. We used ubers in the evening to go to some traditional restaurants. Fares only between 3 and 6 euros. A relaxing break would consider returning.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank gilmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017

Hello
Like Lee and Cass we were told of the Trip Advisor report about the awful smells at the hotel. We were concerned so my daughter sent them an e mail. withing a few hours they had replied explaining about "the smell". Being Jersey folk we are used to sea smells and thats all it was and certainly NOT gut wrenching sulpher smell! So much exaggerating! We arrived at 11.30pm to 2 lovely ladies in reception who were extremely helpful and still smiling even at tha time of the day. Went to bed and awaited to see what this hotel ( which does not deserve these negative reports) would hold for our 6 day stay. The food was abundant, fresh and as much as you could possibly eat. We were booked in just bed and breakfast but the staff was so great and food so good, at least 3 days we had our evening meal there whilst listening to the evening entertainment and sipping cocktails served by the lovely Vander!
We had a junior suite, even though our daughter is not junior and it was fantastic, spacious, clean and overlooked the riverside. Please do not believe everything you read and go with an open mind, dont look for faults and just enjoy your stay. We have not yet travelled the world but when we retire, The Aqua Riverside Hotel will be top of our list and will defnately be returning.
Ps Please get to know Delphine our Riverside Taxi boat who takes you to any beach you want and picks you up at an arranged time! What a service and a great guy.
Thank you to all staff that made our trip a great experience xx

Room Tip: The whole hotel is quiet in the evening as away from roads and 3 sides of hotel surrounded by water
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Collette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is situated next to a river. You have a nice view at it when you're at the infinity swimming pool. The staff was friendly and the rooms were big (especially the bathroom with rainshower). The breakfast was good. Not everything was tastefull (scrambled eggs, orange juice) but we had enough choice to pick from. We had no problems with the smell of the river (i think this depends of the wind because the first evening when we came back from portimao we had this smell on a bridge 3km from the hotel). I could say we liked our 2 day stay in the hotel!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank KevinPelkmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

This is in a lovely quiet complex next to the river about 10 minutes from Portimao. The suites are spacious with cooking facilities, large fridge freezer and a microwave.
The restaurant is basic, doubling as the bar, and the food is basic but reasonably priced. The buffet option for dinner is a little tired and options limited and possibly a bit pricey for what's on offer. This included roasted meats, some fish, vegetables and a few pasta dishes.
The pool is quite small but there's plenty of room for sunbathing. Poolside drinks and ice creams are reasonably priced. There's not much children's entertainment to speak of even though it's offered as a feature of the hotel.
Had a very comfortable stay, despite the iffy smells from the river from time to time. Remember to alternate your parking space from one side of the hotel to the other to avoid spontaneous combustion when you go on an outing!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank julianrixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews