We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas(Lagoa)(Great Value!)
$165
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$263
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colina da Lapa Resort(Lagoa)(Great Value!)
$124
$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quinta Tapada do Gramacho(Estombar)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,157)
Filter reviews
1,157 results
Traveler rating
289
487
237
76
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
487
237
76
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverjunior suiteminute walkindoor poollovely hotelbeansout of the waya la cartefishing villagereception staffsteam roombed and breakfastslight smellread the reviewsrelaxing breakhuge balconylocal supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
354 - 359 of 1,157 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful and very modern. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. We stayed for 12 days half board and were very pleased with the meals. There were a lot of choices to choose from (breakfast).. and dinner time menu was amazing. Every dish was gorgeous! All waiting staff were very professional. Maria, Bruno and Alexander were very helpful and very polite! We were very happy with the service! We had a bottle of Quinta de Santa Christina which was a rose wine EVERY NIGHT as it was so beautiful and affordable. Cocktails were lovely too!
Hotel was very clean throughout and was very peaceful! We went in the middle of March so there wasn't a lot of people around which was perfect for us!
The beaches around the area were absolutely gorgeous and the weather was very nice as well. Shops and restaurants all around, local food was brilliant and cheap!

Overall, we both were very happy as we had a perfect holiday and would be returning to Agua Riverside Hotel in the future!

Room Tip: Third floor with a river view as it was the most beautiful thing to see when you wake up in the morning!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank erikaploy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I really liked this hotel, its easy to find as long as you have already got directions beforehand. Arrived at 11pm and the friendly security officer checked me in and then escorted me to my room,a nice touch.
My room was on the 3rd floor with views of Portimao, glad i had a outside aprt with views of river. As for the smelly river, it wasn`t!!
The bathroom was really lovely, shower massive and good hot water and pressure, double sinks and very clean. The double bed was fairly comfortable, the linen good quality.
Wifi in the restaurant and reception area (free) and you can have wired internet in your room using a ethernet cable for laptop, forgot yours? ask at reception and they will let you borrow one!! superb service !!

Great A/C, i picked 3 days of rain and wind when i went, ((i know!! only me) so the air con on heat was welcome.

I went B&B, breakfast was lovely and plentiful, not a massive hot selection but was very adequate and the coffee machine gave excellent hot chocolates!!

I would definatley recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a 3rd floor aprt, and one which overlooks the river (either side)
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank simonstreatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Well, for me that was hoping to relax and take advantage of the hotel SPA, I ended up a bit disapointed, since it seemed that I was on a childrens kindergarten.
Even on the SPA, you couldn't realax for 5 minutes, because every time one of the many children on the space would start screaming or crying or just running around. No I do not think its a good ideia to allow 1 year kids to go in to a SPA, Jacuzzi or massage center!

If you have kids, maybe this is a good place to go to, with some place for them to play outside safelly, but if you are in the mood to relax, you should choose another place to go!

Hotel is nice though, nice accomodation (restaurante is not the best in the world for diner, but breakfast is ok).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I've read most of the recent reviews and they really do give a fair reflection of this hotel. I will add my views to the mix: i have no right to complain about anything because i paid virtually nothing for the whole holiday - £500 for two inc. flights, transfers and all inclusive drinks (this a must). Take off the flights etc and the actual hotel cost £248 B&B inc. all drinks - and we did have a few great cocktails made by the fantastic Hugo. There were only about 10 people staying in the hotel most of the week so it was really quiet. We were upgraded when we arrived to a junior suite but this was on the non sunny side of the hotel, so i asked if there was any chance of changing. Not a problem for the lovely Andria on reception and we got a great room with views over the river toward Portimao which got the sun from 11am until sunset. It was lovely.
As other reviews have said, the hotel is a bit isolated and we felt a little for others who were All Inclusive as they were rather tied to the hotel and there was nothing to do. We got out and about and ate some fantastic food all week. The fishing village of Ferragudo is a 30 minute stroll away (we are in our 40's and happy to walk) or 6 euro taxi. It is a must! Beautiful setting, and some great restaurants in the square. I would highly recommend 'Portarade' (search restaurant reviews for more on this) and Italia. The food is excellent and at 10 euros a head for drink + 3 courses + coffee it is superb value.
We went dolphin watching from Ferragudo which was fantastic too and we saw loads of dolphins. An experience not to miss.
We worked out the local bus service too and had trips to various beaches and villages. All beautiful with great food. Ate in 'Fishermans' in Alvor which was amazing: a whole sea bream each with veg for 10 euros, cooked in front of you on the grill.
Don't be afraid of using the buses, they are on time, clean and cheap. All the drivers spoke English and were friendly and helpful. Carvoeiro has a great beach but also some great scenery if you walk up the cliffs.
I hope this is helpful and please message me for any advise.

Room Tip: The even number rooms are on the best side of the hotel and get the sun most of the day.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Reg138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Booked a few days here, went for bed and breakfast option. As a previous review states, its got pros and cons, but nothing that was really bad.

Pros
Quiet location if seeking relaxation
Big rooms
Good aircon
TV
Very clean
Nice modern bathrooms, twin sinks, big shower
Massive balcony
Nice views even though its not directly by the sea
Friendly staff
Complimentary bubbly

Cons
Its by a river, so yes there is a bit of smell, but once inside the hotel not noticeable.
The twin beds pushed together didn't work too well as one side was more worn than the other so was a bit uneven, and just a personal choice i would have liked a firmer pillow and mattress.
The design of the hotel is very modern, so it looks really cool, but unfortunately we could not access the restaurant via the block we were in, you have to down down to first level then walk across the gardens to get to it, same with the gym etc.
restaurant was small but still pleasant, very clean.
breakfast options are not amazing, usual cereals, toasts, breads, yogurts, cakes, croissants, they had a small area with minimal cooked breakfast. Teas and coffees from machine, no problems with juices too. Didn't go all inclusive here.
For a woman who likes to get glammed up, there was only one mirror with lighting and that was in the bathroom-now the lighting was not good in there, LEDs I'm thinking quite dim, so it was difficult to get ready.
No Tea and coffee making facilities, maybe something they could look into, it would draw more customers, however all due respect we asked at reception and were provided with a full size kettle to use in our room, this made us happy :)

So to summarize, a nice, clean modern hotel, helpful staff breakfast adequate, not amazing but ideal for a small break.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river 3rd floor is good for views ask for a kettle at reception if you love tea!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank needmoreHolidays0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews