We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Agua Hotels Riverside
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I keep coming back to this little gem by the river. Great views from all bedrooms to river, upgrade to a junior suite and you get 75sm of great space. Reception, housekeeping staff are great.
Beautifully pool, free wired net and wireless in public area.
The only downside is its needs a bit maintenance in room, just a bit of fresh paint. All together a great place to relax and close to everything if you got a car.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank hotpedro51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
There are newer reviews for Agua Hotels Riverside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights late in the season so it was fairly quiet. The reception staff were ok, nothing special. The room was gorgeous however, lots of space with a beautiful bathroom and good storage and the cleaning was top notch! Like lots of other reviewers have mentioned, the smell was awful and unfortunately made us want to be in the facilities for as little time as possible!
Breakfast was ok, again nothing spectacular but the evening meal was a farce. We had lamb which was like chewing on a dog toy and the smallest pasta dish ever to be served to an adult, when we complained the rather surly waiter explained that lamb was meant to be rubbery!?!?!?
We had to get taxis to most places which made the holiday rather expensive but we did have an amazing time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justlovereviewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I can't understand the comments of some people. My wife and I spent two weeks all inclusive at the Agua Riverside and we thought it was great! The bar is open from 12 mid-day to midnight. Isn't 12 hours enough time to have a drink? Drink service can be a bit slow. The food is typical all inclusive, some not so good, some really tasty, if you're willing to try something different (and it's not all swimming in oil as someone said) The lunches and breakfasts are particularly good. At lunch you can order from the extensive a la carte menu and it's not at all oily, so unfair to say it is.
The rooms are spacious with a terrific bathroom and enormous shower, (lighting in the bathroom is quite dim.) The smell from the river? We were there for two weeks and only noticed it a few times. It didn't last long and you could NOT smell it in your room! The area is not a slum, it is a Portuguese poor area and not commercialised. All of the moans I have read on Tripadvisor about this hotel seem to be from narrow minded people who didn't bother to research the hotel first and then moaned afterwards because it was different from what they expected. If you are planning on going, just get in touch with me and I will be pleased to give you accurate info about this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank nicciandderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We went to this hotel on all inclusive in June
Although clean and it's great bar staff who cannot do enough for you, the reception and management staff seen untrained and have little care for guests.
Food is plentiful and boring, breakfast is OK but lunch and dinner oily and bland.
If you like bread live on that.
Bar closes at midnight with no where else to go so order lots of wine and sit on your balcony if you are feeling thirsty.
For two weeks we had no entertainment as described on their web site, however the four or five CD,s they play constantly I now have logged into my memory.
The location is dreadful in a crumbling scruffy village on a river that sticks when it tide is out
No riverboat available in June which was part of the sales patter.
There is a ticket system to get your bedding etc changed or the room cleaned which you hang on the door, we did not have one of these in our room and so after a few days had to ask for cleaners, again no attention to detail.
Poolside foot baths mostly empty and located so that anyone with a child buggy coming from the car park has to go through them. We saw one buggy get its wheels complete with dog muck washed off in the already dirty water.
We watched children and adults walk around the infinity area of the pool where the water cascades over - downright dangerous when you look to see a 15 foot drop onto massive boulders.
No warning signs anywhere and no staff reacting to this danger.
My wife broke her foot on a loose poolside slab - hospital treatment including stitches and a ruined holiday followed but not a sniff of remorse or sympathy from staff, it took two days to discuss the incident and the dangers with the ineffective manager who offered a free spa for my wife by way of some sort of shut me up compensation (classic really when her foot was heavily bandaged) and as for asking for the accident book this brought comments from reception staff such as we will get the police and lawyers onto you!
The hotel has too many dangers especially for the very young or elderly, beware!
Portugal is a fantastic country filled with lovely people and there are many better places to stay.
You will no doubt guess that we are not going back to this one.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We arrived for the week on the 8th of January, this is a very modern hotel which is minimalistic and austere in appearance, but that is down to the poor design for a hotel. Because there was bikes parked in reception we thought we had found the gym entrance and not hotel reception. The whole building gives the aura of an apartment complex. The rooms are clean, and large, but smooth lines, no frills, the corridors are very dark and concrete (I initially thought I was in a service corridor) The restaurant is entered from outside. There is no real sitting area, this is not a hotel for communing with your fellow man, nor for families, as you are rather isolated from anywhere interesting( unless you count the Chinese shop) The food is ok, but not great, all staff friendly and helpful, but reception could'nt help with bus or boat schedules. All in all though, we paid little for quite al lot.

Room Tip: For an excellent view of the river choose a higher level
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Well where to start the hotel looks not to bad and most of the staff were really good especially the restaurant could not do enough for you so 10 out of ten for them. that was the good point bad points are...

1. We paid for quick transfers supposed to be 55 min max it took 1 and a half hours. The hotel is around 60 kilometers from the airport so there is no way that transfer could be done safely and was the same going back to airport. My advice if you really want to go to this hotel take a taxi more expensive but you will get there without losing the will to live.

2. We arrived at the hotel with the words of the shuttle driver you are in the middle of nowhere and a wry smile and it's like driving through a war zone to get to the hotel i know i have driven through war zones.

3. Got into the hotel and first glance it looks not to bad with some water features in the middle of the hotel we went down for dinner and it was ok very limited menu and it's the same every day lots of oil with everything but managed with the staff to adjust some of the food so i could eat it as i have a nut allergy so as i said before 10 out of 10 for them although it seemed to upset the chef.

4. When in the room as the tide went out we got the full smell of the sewage as when you go down to the rivers edge you see raw sewage floating around and the smell last a couple of hours twice a day not pleasant at all this was definitely a big put off for us.

5. Now some people may think we were nitpicking about the hotel we are very down to earth couple and always look on the positive side about anything we do especially holidays no one can control everything about a holiday but the odds are against this hotel.

6. We went on this holiday to celebrate a major birthday and was disappointed with the hotel all in and to top that the start of the holiday a member of staff drove right over a dog that was sitting in the carpark and i really mean run over. We went down to help the dog but the dog had dragged himself off out of site the staff member could not give a hoot she was on her phone when she run over the dog. We got hold of the owner and spent a long time trying to find the dog as anyone would be upset if it was there dog and the owner was back every day looking for his dog with no results up till we left for home.

7. To sum up the holiday we would not go back to this hotel which is a shame as the staff were really good except for one with the dog incident.

8. The spa you had to buy a swimming cap at nearly €4 went to the spa jacuzzi was not to bad after that went to go into the pool was stopped dead in my tracks as the sun was shining in a film of whatever was on the pool and looking closely the pool was dirty so a no go.

Room Tip: can't give travelers tips other than if you want a 4 star hotel go somewhere else
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blackmaria1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Was ok. Said it was quiet and yes it was. Same cd playing constant. Entertainment disaster. Same guy both nights same songs. That was all only entertainment.
We stayed all inclusive. Food was not good for me. Same slop every night. Lunch was nice. Waiter service.
If you want to go out for dinner. There is nothing local. Have to taxi At least 10 euro. We spent 3 nights out 100 - 150 euros each time. Alvor is well worth the taxi ride. Ronantic glass of wine my the sea !!!! A must !!! Spend the cash and go as worth every penny but go early to see the sunset.
Go again to this hotel ! No !!! However very clean. Modern. And relaxing. If you are wanting just this then do it. That's what I wanted but got soooooo bored after day 4 and the fact you can not even get a coke or orange juice till after noon. All inclusive was a waist for us. Aimed at older couples I thought. I am 40 and felt young.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrina72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoa
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,227 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,030 reviews
13.3 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#23 of 75 in Portimao
317 reviews
16.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,344 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Hotels Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Hotels Riverside

Address: Quinta do Parchal, Lagoa 8400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range: $36 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Agua Hotels Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Agua Hotels Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Hotels Riverside Hotel Lagoa
Agua Hotels Riverside Portugal/Lagoa, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing