We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas(Lagoa)(Great Value!)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colina da Lapa Resort(Lagoa)(Great Value!)
$124
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quinta Tapada do Gramacho(Estombar)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,157)
Filter reviews
1,157 results
Traveler rating
289
487
237
76
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
487
237
76
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverjunior suiteminute walkindoor poollovely hotelbeansout of the waya la cartefishing villagereception staffsteam roombed and breakfastslight smellread the reviewsrelaxing breakhuge balconylocal supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 1,157 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We went to this hotel on all inclusive in June
Although clean and it's great bar staff who cannot do enough for you, the reception and management staff seen untrained and have little care for guests.
Food is plentiful and boring, breakfast is OK but lunch and dinner oily and bland.
If you like bread live on that.
Bar closes at midnight with no where else to go so order lots of wine and sit on your balcony if you are feeling thirsty.
For two weeks we had no entertainment as described on their web site, however the four or five CD,s they play constantly I now have logged into my memory.
The location is dreadful in a crumbling scruffy village on a river that sticks when it tide is out
No riverboat available in June which was part of the sales patter.
There is a ticket system to get your bedding etc changed or the room cleaned which you hang on the door, we did not have one of these in our room and so after a few days had to ask for cleaners, again no attention to detail.
Poolside foot baths mostly empty and located so that anyone with a child buggy coming from the car park has to go through them. We saw one buggy get its wheels complete with dog muck washed off in the already dirty water.
We watched children and adults walk around the infinity area of the pool where the water cascades over - downright dangerous when you look to see a 15 foot drop onto massive boulders.
No warning signs anywhere and no staff reacting to this danger.
My wife broke her foot on a loose poolside slab - hospital treatment including stitches and a ruined holiday followed but not a sniff of remorse or sympathy from staff, it took two days to discuss the incident and the dangers with the ineffective manager who offered a free spa for my wife by way of some sort of shut me up compensation (classic really when her foot was heavily bandaged) and as for asking for the accident book this brought comments from reception staff such as we will get the police and lawyers onto you!
The hotel has too many dangers especially for the very young or elderly, beware!
Portugal is a fantastic country filled with lovely people and there are many better places to stay.
You will no doubt guess that we are not going back to this one.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We arrived for the week on the 8th of January, this is a very modern hotel which is minimalistic and austere in appearance, but that is down to the poor design for a hotel. Because there was bikes parked in reception we thought we had found the gym entrance and not hotel reception. The whole building gives the aura of an apartment complex. The rooms are clean, and large, but smooth lines, no frills, the corridors are very dark and concrete (I initially thought I was in a service corridor) The restaurant is entered from outside. There is no real sitting area, this is not a hotel for communing with your fellow man, nor for families, as you are rather isolated from anywhere interesting( unless you count the Chinese shop) The food is ok, but not great, all staff friendly and helpful, but reception could'nt help with bus or boat schedules. All in all though, we paid little for quite al lot.

Room Tip: For an excellent view of the river choose a higher level
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Well where to start the hotel looks not to bad and most of the staff were really good especially the restaurant could not do enough for you so 10 out of ten for them. that was the good point bad points are...

1. We paid for quick transfers supposed to be 55 min max it took 1 and a half hours. The hotel is around 60 kilometers from the airport so there is no way that transfer could be done safely and was the same going back to airport. My advice if you really want to go to this hotel take a taxi more expensive but you will get there without losing the will to live.

2. We arrived at the hotel with the words of the shuttle driver you are in the middle of nowhere and a wry smile and it's like driving through a war zone to get to the hotel i know i have driven through war zones.

3. Got into the hotel and first glance it looks not to bad with some water features in the middle of the hotel we went down for dinner and it was ok very limited menu and it's the same every day lots of oil with everything but managed with the staff to adjust some of the food so i could eat it as i have a nut allergy so as i said before 10 out of 10 for them although it seemed to upset the chef.

4. When in the room as the tide went out we got the full smell of the sewage as when you go down to the rivers edge you see raw sewage floating around and the smell last a couple of hours twice a day not pleasant at all this was definitely a big put off for us.

5. Now some people may think we were nitpicking about the hotel we are very down to earth couple and always look on the positive side about anything we do especially holidays no one can control everything about a holiday but the odds are against this hotel.

6. We went on this holiday to celebrate a major birthday and was disappointed with the hotel all in and to top that the start of the holiday a member of staff drove right over a dog that was sitting in the carpark and i really mean run over. We went down to help the dog but the dog had dragged himself off out of site the staff member could not give a hoot she was on her phone when she run over the dog. We got hold of the owner and spent a long time trying to find the dog as anyone would be upset if it was there dog and the owner was back every day looking for his dog with no results up till we left for home.

7. To sum up the holiday we would not go back to this hotel which is a shame as the staff were really good except for one with the dog incident.

8. The spa you had to buy a swimming cap at nearly €4 went to the spa jacuzzi was not to bad after that went to go into the pool was stopped dead in my tracks as the sun was shining in a film of whatever was on the pool and looking closely the pool was dirty so a no go.

Room Tip: can't give travelers tips other than if you want a 4 star hotel go somewhere else
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blackmaria1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Was ok. Said it was quiet and yes it was. Same cd playing constant. Entertainment disaster. Same guy both nights same songs. That was all only entertainment.
We stayed all inclusive. Food was not good for me. Same slop every night. Lunch was nice. Waiter service.
If you want to go out for dinner. There is nothing local. Have to taxi At least 10 euro. We spent 3 nights out 100 - 150 euros each time. Alvor is well worth the taxi ride. Ronantic glass of wine my the sea !!!! A must !!! Spend the cash and go as worth every penny but go early to see the sunset.
Go again to this hotel ! No !!! However very clean. Modern. And relaxing. If you are wanting just this then do it. That's what I wanted but got soooooo bored after day 4 and the fact you can not even get a coke or orange juice till after noon. All inclusive was a waist for us. Aimed at older couples I thought. I am 40 and felt young.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrina72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Me and my partner have just come back from a 4 day all inclusive break at this wonderful hotel. On arrival the reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and for the duration of our stay. As it is January they kindly upgraded our room at no extra cost, which were very modern and very comfortable. The food at the hotel was outstanding, and the service was amazing. Breakfast is a buffet with more than enough variety to cater for everyone's needs. Lunch you order from a 3 course menu which was again plenty of choice and superb quality. Evening meal you order from a al a carte menu, which again spoilt for choice and quality of food was excellent. you will always remain full from these meals and enjoy them that much you will never have to eat out. The staff in the hotel we came across were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. While you are there you have to visit the spa, the facilities there are free which are very relaxing. However if you want treatments you have to pay. We just had to endulge ourselves for a massage and I have to say it was the most relaxing part of the holiday and well worth the money and the young woman who works in the spa is very professional and helpful. In The surrounding areas are a few small villages at either side, however if you want to got I the beach it is a short 15 mins walk to ferraguado, which we did. Or alternatively you can get a taxi for 4 euros. There is not much entertainment this time of year, so one night we booked a taxi into Praia da rocha where it is full of bars and clubs etc which only cost 8 euros and was well worth it. There is plenty to do in the surrounding areas, all you have to do is ask the staff at reception what you need to know and they are more than happy to help with any enquiry you might have. All in all a wonderful holiday and we will definitely be returning in the summer for a week. Just superb! Should be rated as a five star and I would suggest that no body listens to the people writing bad reviews.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sherona1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews