We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, maybe too far from beach ?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Agua Hotels Riverside
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were looking for a cheap break and this hotel came up,so we gave it a try.
It turned out to be very nice. The room was big,and had a good kitchen. We had a balcony overlooking the pool. There is also an indoor pool and gym. There are spa treatments available too.
The room was tidied every day.
We had bed and breakfast,which was perfect for us. Cereal,toast,coffee and a cooked selection,and then off for the day. I think AI is available.
If you have kids the location could be a problem,the hotel is a long way from priai de Rocha etc..
We walked in during the day,but wouldnt fancy walking home in the dark.
That said, a taxi cost €6-7 and there is a riverboat that launches from the pier at the hotel.
The river does smell a little bit. Not all the time,and not really that bad,but it is tidal,so you are always going to get a bit of a smell. Its nature. Enjoy.
So,for what I paid I was very pleased with what I got. If its a deal I say go for it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rod d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Riverside in July for an all-inclusive 12 night family holiday, in a group of 5 adults and a 5-year-old child.

The spacious rooms were excellent, all newly fitted (one of our rooms was a suite) with beautiful views over the river.

The pool / garden area was also perfectly kept and the infinity pool looks right out over the river next to it.

The restaurant staff were excellent, attentive and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The food was also of a very good standard, with plenty of choice every night and despite the fact we were there for 12 nights, the menu was not repetitive. The speciality seafood night was particularly excellent with oysters, clams and much more. Cocktails were also included on the all-inclusive menu.

The kids club kept our youngest entertained and there are climbing frames and games in the complex, so he had plenty to do. We also took advantage of the boat that went from the hotels private jetty to go on day trips to lovely nearby beaches. Crabbing was also a favourite with the kids on the jetty and in the surrounding rock pools.

We cannot fault anything about this holiday, we had a fantastic time and would highly recommend it. One tip though - we booked early so got a good price. When we compared it against what we would have paid if we had booked later for the same dates, it was much more expensive.

Thank you to all the staff for a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelBre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Ok there is some negative reviews on here regarding this hotel, some I feel are very to far fetched. The hotel maybe off the beaten track and away from the hustle and bustle of all the night life resorts it therefore makes you venture out to see that this country has to offer we had an all inclusive package here was worth every penny food was great cleanliness of our junior suite and the staff was brilliant and very helpful even the manager was always buzzing about chatting to guest well done riverside and thank you for making our honeymoon special joe and dawn

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013. We arrived to a tatty looking hotel that needed a good paint. We had taken the all inclusive package and found the food nice but very limited choice. Our room was lovely the decor was very modern and we had been upgraded to a room with a kitchen. We had flown out without our children and realised that this hotel was perfect for a young family (really wished we has brought them). The bar staff are lovely esp George who is a very friendly local. The all inclusive is limited in bar selection and wouldn't recommend. The hotel is nice bu not 4* and its too fancy for the surrounding areas. It's in a slum town with not much to do. D recommend short tax trip to neighbouring towns and the boat trip is lovely. We cut our holiday short due to a family death and the hotel were very efficient in arranging lifts to airports and help with anything. Have to praise them for their support. Overall an ok hotel with lovely staff but a bit out of the road. Also I would like to point out there was no iron as stated on website in room and ironing has to be sent to housekeeping. Also for applying makeup there is not great lighting in bathroom where only mirror is

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just returned from 8 days half board.Firstly would like to thank all the negative reviews,my expectations were lowered because of them and I was highly delighted when I arrived.Being a solo traveller the door that was locked outside every 2 rooms was an added bonus plus a security guard that did the rounds all night was very welcoming.Free safe,6 plug points,daily linen/towel change(there is a ticket to put on bed red side up if you want clean bedding and towels on floor get changed).Ticket for sunbed towels too,hand towel back for ticket back them same again day after.T.V with english news channels plus ITV 2 & 3 free along with free air con that does not turn off when card removed from electric.A to Z in room covers most.Shampoo and shower gel topped up all week if used.Drinks a bit pricey,4euro for large beer and 3.50 for small wine.Food quite good though choice a bit limited.Plenty sun beds lovely pool area and everywhere was spotless.Shop about 100 yards down road on left selling 6 bottles lager for 2 euro+ and wine for 1 euro +.No kettle in double rooms and dont forget your bottle opener.Great big store past shop which sells everything from bulbs, bikinis and buddhas to shoes, sewing kits and saucepans!All in all lovely hotel,would go all inclusive if go again.Taxi to Portimao 6 euro there 4 back!Singer on a couple of times in the week rather nice.Great for you 'ole' romantics out there

Room Tip: Car park with side river view got sun from lunchtime onwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avril B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed September this year for a five night break. I agree with other reviews that the hotel is a little out of the way,but it was just what we wanted. Praia Dr Roche is only a short taxi trip away.
The rooms are great,big and spacious and modern,and more importantly very clean. Food overall was good even though the evening meal was a little restrictive. We found the wine drinkable,beer fine and spirits OK although a bit on the weak side.
Always sun loungers available and plenty of shade from the hot sun.
Staff despite what other reviews have said, were very friendly and polite.
We were after a nice quiet resort for a short break away and found this hotel perfect. We went to praia de Roche one evening and although it was busy and beautiful it was just not us.
Would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keithygordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

It was a cheap holiday for a week I can't really complain-I would however have been very unhappy should I have been an all inclusive guest. The rooms were clean, modern, the whole hotel feels new but possibly not yet finished? Bathrooms are lovely and the pool is really nice too. Evening entertainment would have been nice as a little out of the way. No shop for essentials on site so once bar closes at midnight you can't get a bottle of water from anywhere. Perhaps some vending machines around the hotel would be an idea?

The river was smelly but only for a couple of days-I presume it's tidal but there's nothing the hotel can do about that.

Sometimes served snacks but decide not to offer it when 'too busy' this leaves you with a set menu for a high price, not ideal when you only want a snack.

The spa prices are ridiculous and the gym and jacuzzi were tired looking and filthy.

All in all though I paid £180 for a week so I can hardly complain-I wouldn't pay more than £250 for a week here though!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoa
17.4 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 152 in Albufeira
1,019 reviews
8.2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,517 reviews
2.4 mi away
Colina da Lapa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
7.2 mi away
Suites Alba Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Hotels Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Hotels Riverside

Address: Quinta do Parchal, Lagoa 8400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range: $39 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Agua Hotels Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Agua Hotels Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Hotels Riverside Hotel Lagoa
Agua Hotels Riverside Portugal/Lagoa, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing