We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Agua Hotels Riverside
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Preston
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Lovely hotel, lovely staff, beautiful food. Nice and peaceful. Just the ticket for a relaxing break. Went with our 3 children and although not much for them to do they played all day long in the sunshine and the pool! So good we have booked again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lindsey_singleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    393
    194
    62
    51
See reviews for
244
477
22
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed at the Riverside 14-21 Feb 2013 with my husband and 6 year old grandson. Clean, spacious, well equipped junior suite. We were on the ground floor but still had fantastic panoramic view of Portimao and the river. Very quiet and peaceful hotel and lovely relaxing week. Weather was warm and a dramatic improvement from the snow we left behind in Newcastle! Not a lot for children (more a couples getaway) but our grandson still had a great time and was happy with the indoor pool and small playground. We walked to Portimao and Ferrugudo without any problem (even with a 6 year old). Taxi ride to Portimao is only 5 euros if you aren't able to walk that far. Praia de Rocha, Carveiro and Alvor all easily accessible on the local bus (fare was 2.20euro per person) but taxi not much more expensive. Supermarket and huge chinese gift shop about 200 metres from hotel - both are very reasonable and have a good selection of goods/gifts. We all loved the meals, the staff were great and nothing ever seemed a bother to them. Special thanks to Maria and Hugo who are a real credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms look fabulous - Junior Suite if you want that extra touch of luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trabri50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

On arrival at the hotel a glum looking lady stopped us & asked if we were staying there, on our reply "yes" she said "well good luck"!!!!
I have no idea why she would say that!!! We had a lovely time, it is a very quiet resort, just what we needed, food was excellent, staff couldn't do enough for us, spa was free & very clean, although the sauna was out of use, the rooms were immaculate,cleaned daily with fresh towels.if you are to use the spa daily you need to take a swimcap if not they sell them at reception for €3,
There isn't anything to do locally, it's located in a very poor village although you can take a taxi to portimao, where there is a huge shopping centre agua Portimao. We also travelled to priar de Roche, beautiful place & the beach beautiful. If you want a relaxing holiday then this is the place to go. Although there's nothing for children to do.there is only a WiFi access in reception & bar area

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsB0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is an excellent, nearly new hotel in a very good location. Although the area is quiet, the hotel is near enough to walk to Portimao, or catch one of the regular busses or trains which run nearby. We did not need a car and regularly walked into Ferragudo village. Sitting in the restaurant with ceiling to floor glass overlooking the river and mountains beyond - and a flock of storks wheeling overhead - was amazing. The food was excellent when we ate there in the evening (although we also ate out several evenings in local bars and restaurants) and the buffet style breakfast provided was sufficient to keep us going all day, unlimited coffee, hot and cold food, cereals, fruit, croissants and more.

The environment has been well laid out, with water features and lots of glass. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and immaculate. Our room overlooked the river and an almond grove, very pretty. A bonus is that all the staff speak excellent English.

When it was Portugese holiday time, it was interesting to note that Portugese use this hotel - which speaks for its' high standards.

We were a bit dubious as reviews were almost too good, they are actually all true! Just one review said it was too far from facilities but we did not find this to be the case. We can really recommend this hotel and it certainly does deserve its four stars.

Room Tip: Ask for south facing third floor room if possible. More sun - we went in the winter - quiet and bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janyB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Visited this hotel in April 2012. Got a discounted rate for our room, through LateRooms.

Had no trouble reaching the hotel from Faro airport, using public transport - the train station is just a 5 minute walk away.

Room was lovely, balcony looking over the river.

Breakfast was included in the price of our room, good selection available. We chose not to eat any other meals at the hotel, deciding to either eat in and cook (our room had a small kitchenette) and walk to a local restaurant.

Nearest supermarket was about a 10 minute walk away (a LIDL), but there were some much nicer ones in Portimao itself.

Few miles walk into Portimao town centre, didn't bother us - although there is a bus available if you would prefer. In the summer, the hotel also runs a bus across the river, meaning you're only 10 minutes from the centre of Portimao.

Beach is a short walk away, with a lovely beach in Ferragudo. Found an amazing restaurant there as well!

We weren't too lucky with the weather during our trip, so didn't get to enjoy the pool or beaches properly. However, on the rainy days, was great to make use of the jacuzzi and indoor swimming pool.

Really enjoyed our stay, and would love to go back!

Room Tip: We had a room with a kichenette, which meant we didn't always have to eat out - saving us money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
446 reviews
306 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I could have also started as the other reviewer "you'll get what you pay": rates start 32€/night in double room with 2 breakfasts, parking, internet, Pool, Sauna. What can you expect for that money??

The hotel is new, modern, spotless clean and the rooms are actually very nice - all with balconies and views to Portimao (or the N125 bridge), AC, good linen but only shower in bathroom. However the hotel might be 4* level acc. to local standards but I'd more rate this to 2,5* as e.g. there was no hairdryer by default on the room (by request from lobby)

the low rates attract complete families to stay here, if these folks are all at same time in indoor pool area it can be noisy and tight! Sauna is small but ok (2 stories) however it misses privacy. Indoor/outdoor Pool, Fitnessroom, Sauna, Steambath Jacuzzi are free of charge for hotel guests...

Wifi is available only in lobby, in the rooms you need to use LAM via cable (this is outdated 2013 - remember the hotel was built 2011 only but seems that the designers/architects didn't think about the role of internet 2013?)

Breakfast with coffee from vending machine and very thin juice (what a shame as Portugal has best freshly squeezed orange juice!!), food from breakfast buffet isnot a Asian Hilton buffet but quite good....

As all Aguahotels the "design" rooms have gaps in towel holder, missing carpets (cold feeling), no paintings on the wall, empty minibar, stoned floors etc. The equipments are mainly cheap and poorly maintained, lobby is more a showroom than a lobby (by purpose). In our first room the cable LAN didn't work and the "front desk" couldn't fix this issue (I suppose it was never working before)

Good for some nights if you want to stay in the area (eg. Casa De Pasto O Calvario) - sometiems the river stinks sulfate

Room Tip: as for Portimao view on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here for a relaxing week in September 2012. Absolutely beautiful hotel and spotlessly clean- cannot fault the facilities whatsoever, however the all inclusive package was disappointing to say the least! The pool was so busy you had to be there for about 10am each morning to get sun loungers however the all inclusive package didn't start til 12pm. This would be perfectly fine but the staff wouldn't even give you a glass of water outwith the designated hours and being pregnant and very dehydrated in the burning sunshine I found this pretty bad practice! The brochure also said snacks were available in between meals but this did not happen which again is very unusual for an all inclusive resort. My other main concern was the food in general. My friend who I travelled with is vegetarian and the evening meal did not include any vegetarian options. For the whole week she ate very basic salad without so much as a dressing or resorted to eating a plate of chips. We asked the staff is they could prepare some sort of hot pasta dish but they refused. All in all it wasn't a bad holiday but more helpful staff and protocols would go a long way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank L0rr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoa
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
9.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,958 reviews
17.5 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#33 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
8.3 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
18.3 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Hotels Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Hotels Riverside

Property: Agua Hotels Riverside
Address: Quinta do Parchal, Lagoa 8400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Agua Hotels Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Agua Hotels Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Hotels Riverside Hotel Lagoa
Agua Hotels Riverside Portugal/Lagoa, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing