We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect if you don't want to be in the centre of the tourist hotspots.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agua Hotels Riverside
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect if you don't want to be in the centre of the tourist hotspots.”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a new hotel which explains the trouble we had with getting taxis there, especially from the airport. If I was going again I'd hire a car, as it's a drive to anywhere except Ferragudo. Breakfast here is good and plentiful. Lunch is also good, but we ate out for dinner so can't comment.
The pool area is lovely, with comfortable beds around, which all have sunshades. Rooms are clean and comfortable, with balconies and air con, but ours had only a shower, no bath, in what was a fairly large bathroom.
The staff are not all fluent in English which is not surprising as the clients were mainly Spanish and Portuguese and this hotel is not situated in the English and Irish tourist centres.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orlamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    393
    194
    62
    51
See reviews for
244
477
22
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Visited the Agua Riverside resort in mid-June 2011. We left 2 days early (was a 5-day booking) due to the disgusting treatment from staff and long list of dissapointments. They did not even ask why we were leaving early.

Location: First impression- very remote, the site smelt of sewage and did not seem touristy at all. A trip to the main beach (Praia de Rocha) took about 20 minutes in a taxi (each taking different, longer routes each time, up to €17), whilst the return journey took about 10 minutes (around €9). It was also quite windy and cold by the waterfront and pool. Probably best if you had your own transportation (car/other), no restaurants nearby.

Hotel (decor and amenities): Was very impressive but did not seem finished (water feature half bricked..) and the staff hadn't exactly settled into their roles- took 2 hours to check us in past check-in time. The room was very nice, but did not have a great view.
The outdoor pool was too cold to swim in (even during peak temperatures- 24deg in June), and the indoor pool was very chlorinated. Also was required to wear a swimming cap in the indoor pool, at a price of €8 (Not included in booking)! A visit to the Restaurant will result in sitting outside in the freezing wind unless you make a booking (to the empty restaurant- no lie), so I cannot comment on the food as we left!

Cleanliness: The cleaners failed to clean our bedlinen during our stay. Otherwise was very nice.

Staff: The staff were the real let down for us. They seemed very hostile- muttering amongst themselves if we asked for a taxi or recommendations about sight-seeing/other. A taxi took over an hour to arrive on one occasion, whereas one would turn up immediately if a Portugese guest requested one. There was no tourist information inside the hotel and in general, they were not helpful in any way. I can only compliment one staff member, Vanda- for her helpfullness.

In summary, I would not recommend this hotel to ANY British peopl. Whilst me and my partner are young, another English group (aged 40-60) recieved poor treatment from staff- so I can only assume the staff severely disliked British people and were not ageist. I'm sure if you are a wealthy, driving, Portugese person looking for a Spa hotel then this hotel will be just aces.

Room Tip: Drive, be Portugese and make a reservation in the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Siobhan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

very clean hotel, modern design, room very nice and balcony good - however, the smell from the nearby sewage site is quite powerful, and put us off using the outdoor pool. Breakfast was excellent. However, dinner was indifferent, and the waiter was unable to provide a drinks menu. Shame, as this would have been a nice place to stay for a few days...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marypoppinsChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Very good hotel.
Excelent location but far from the beach. Around hotel with car you have the most gorgeous beaches of portugal like marinhas beach, carvalho beach, benagil, etc.
The view from breakfast it's amazing and you feel peace...and the food is very good.
The rooms are big and modern with all things you need...we stayed in a suit junior with kitchnet and living room and an fantastic view from arade river.
The sunset is amazing viewed from the hotel

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricardobt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel has opened just a few months ago which was easy to see. Everything was clean and unworn. The location is pretty good alongside River Arade, a couple kilometers from the city of Portimão, in a suburb of Parchal. On the other hand, when the tide was low, river's muddy banks were visible and they had slightly unpleasant smell. The bank behind the hotel should be removed from mud and covered with clean sand. Car parking was free, even in the garage with very narrow passages and close concrete pillars. There are two low ponds with almost still water and with awkward dirty bottom - hard to imagine their purpose (maybe they were unfinished). The dirtier pond was, however, cleaned later. But I didn't want to take any closer look at the obviously smelling water... Wireless internet is also complimentary. The hotel manager has still something to do when trimming his/hers team towards better service as we run out of toilet paper twice! However, our room's cleanliness was excellent.

Our room consisted of one living room with combined kitchen with all utensils and one bedroom: both very spacious. Air conditioning was perfect and whispering quiet, as it should be in such a new hotel. Contrary the toilet fan was noisy. Large flat panel TV (BBC, Euronews etc. besides Portuguese channels) in both rooms. Beds were comfortable with two pillows to choose. The balcony was as wide with access from both rooms.

Breakfast was included in our room's price and it was very good and offered a good variety of cold cuts, fresh fruits and beverages. However, we would have appreciated fresh salad and cucumber as well as tasty locally baked buns instead of pre-baked frozen and tasteless bakery industry buns. And once again, the bacon was not prepared properly.

The outside pool is a bit too small compared with the size of hotel but it looks good. Amount of sunbeds is rather limited. Currently it is not possible to swim in the river due to high and muddy banks. Besides gym there is also inside pool and jacuzzi, but we did not try them as a swimcap was required and the hotel did not want to give them for free. However, bath towels were complimentary.

If you are travelling with car and like basic but very clean and new reasonably-priced hotel with excellent sleep quality and comprehensive breakfast, this hotel is a very good choice! However, bear in mind that there are no leisure activities. Wonderful beaches of Algarve are just a short drive away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Finflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoa
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#2 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
17.5 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#33 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
8.3 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
18.3 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Hotels Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Hotels Riverside

Property: Agua Hotels Riverside
Address: Quinta do Parchal, Lagoa 8400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Agua Hotels Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Agua Hotels Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Hotels Riverside Hotel Lagoa
Agua Hotels Riverside Portugal/Lagoa, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing