We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury living with awesome ocean view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Greeted by warm traditional Bali greeting at the hotel reception area is a wonderful start, we were headed to our room, it has a great view, but my husband requested if we could have a cliff villa that overlook the ocean. We got it and I can't believe it could be anything better than the first villa but it is. We have our own pool, jacuzzi, bale, outdoor shower. the interior is very tastefully decorated with 3 plasma screen tvs around the villa. The view is spectacular, walking out to our pool from our spacious bedroom in the morning and watch the wave crashed into the rocks down below is a wonderful. The weather been great the whole time we are here, not too hot and we could just laze around the pool. The food at both restaurant, at Jumana and Bamboo are delicious although I favor the Bamboo more. You can also get a buggy ride anywhere around the resort area. Complimentary ride to nearby beaches available. It's a nice resort ways from busy town. Great for relaxing after long day tour and shoppings!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orientalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 834 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2010

This Banyan Tree had it's soft opening in December, and they are still finishing up beach access for the hotel, but quite frankly, it did not hamper our stay one bit. Once they get the access road constructed, this place will be a perfect piece of paradise on earth. The villa we booked was simply amazing. It is like a huge mansion with spacious seating in the living room, dining room, two bathrooms, and large bedroom. The infinity pool is a regular size pool vice a mini lap pool and there is an adjacent jacuzzi. There are huge windows/doors throughout the mansion and you can enter the pool from your bedroom or the living room. The entry way to the actual mansion/villa is lined with a beautiful water and plant designed walkway. We found it tough to balance all the great activities in Bali with our villa-mansion since we wanted to enjoy both! Oh, there is free internet access in the villa-mansions (unlike at the Four Seasons) and three flat screen tvs throughout the villa. Excessive? No way. Just a nice touch to ensure you have what you want. Also, the marble decor is stunning. I could go on and on about how wonderful the villa-mansions are, but will move on to the other positive traits related to the hotel.

The spa is equally amazing, and I highly recommend booking treatments in advance since they tend to get busy. Try out the traditional Javanese Lulur, a three hour bonanza of a spa treatment to get rid of whatever impurities ails you. Should you want to go off compound and enjoy some other activities (like day tours to Ubud, Snorkeling/Dive trips, etc), the hotel can easily arrange that for you as well.

The food is also outstanding. Bambu offers an excellent buffet breakfast. I normally despise eating buffet anything, but I have to admit that the breakfast here had great variety (American, Chinese, and Japanese) and was of superb quality (I love the mini-donuts and Dim Sum). The Jamana restaurant is also excellent with a good selection of drinks to enjoy with your pricey, but delicious dinner. Try the Wagyu beef. You will not need a knife to cut into this unbelievably succulent meal.

I have read some of the negative reviews about the new Banyan Tree in Ungasan, Bali, and the criticisms are largely unfounded and focused on stylistic ignorance. Who really cares if the orange juice is served in a different type of carafe? The OJ is still damn tasty and that is what ultimately counts! The staff really do go out of their way, in a non-intrusive manner, to make you feel comfortable and relaxed. So that is essentially the bottom line here: Excellent staff, supreme lodging, luxurious facilities. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parabola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We choose Banyan Tree Ungasan as the finale for our Bali Trip. And what a Grand Finale it was. We first stayed at Ayana, and it was great. So we had a big expectation coming to this place. But Banyan Tree really surpassed our expectation.

Our ocean view villa is simply breath-taking. It's very luxurious, with all the little details taken care of. As we enter the villa, the air cond was on, the aromateraphy was delightful (they change the scent every day), the nice Banyan Tree music playing in the background from the Bose lifestyle sound system.

The bathroom was as big as the bedroom, with nice oversized bath tub, with another small LCD tav, rain showers, and we found our luggages has been arranged on the space neatly. The amenities was simply amazing, the bathsoap and the body lotion was the best we've used in a hotel. (comparable to Intercontinental's Aveda toiletries)

Then our bedroom. With it's high ceiling, professional lighting, nice bed and pillows, huge LCD TV and the 2nd bose sound system. And stepping directly from our bedroom was our own private pool. It was simply amazing!!!

The staff knowing that it's our babymoon, surprised us with candlelight strewn across our villa entrance on the evening, and the bath-tub filled with rose petals, candlelights all around and complimentary bottle of wine! Delightful.

The breakfast at Bamboo restaurant was a class above. It's simply the best breakfast we've had in a hotel. The egg benedict is a must try! Superbly delicious, the juices, and all the food was great. Rudy the Hotel Manager also greeted us during breakfast. Working in a design industry, the thing that really impressed me was the attention to details. The design and quality of the cutlery, glasses, porcelains used was amazing.

The main pool was also nice, with the bed on the water being our fave spot. Our pool attendant was extremely helpful too. Setting up the bed, and giving us cold drinks on arrival. He also noticed our disapproval of the noisy lawnmower, and he personally negotiated them to go away.

The fitness equipments was top of the range. They also provide you with shoes and socks if you dont bring yours. (limited sizes).

The room service was amazing. They really keeps the villa in top shape, even arranging my iphone cable, etc. Super service.

We tried the spa on our 2nd day, having tried the Thermes Marines at Ayana, the Como Shambhala massage at Uma Ubud, I have to admit that the spa at Banyan Tree was the best. The room, the scents, the rituals (buddhist bells at the end our of treatment, etc) was a class above. Ayana is not far behind, they offer better value than Banyan.

We conclude our stay by trying the Romantic Destination dining at JuMaNa. And what an amazing experience it was. We enter to the top floor across blue-and-white flowers strewn across the floor. With candle lights guiding our path. The venue is simply breath taking. It offer unobtrusive view of the Indian ocean. Everything was perfect.
Having tried the Chef Signature Menu at Mozaic in Ubud, we came here with high expectation. The food is simply superb. The chef accommodates my wife’s pregnancy limitation. And it was simply amongst the best dinner we’ve had. Definitely in the same league as Mozaic in Ubud, and EST and Quay in Sydney. Our personal butler was also very friendly.

Sure this hotel is still in soft opening, lots of its grounds is still in progress, there’s some unfinished construction going around the resort. The main pool is not as breathtaking as the Ocean pool in Ayana. The library is very limited, with only a handful of old dvds available. And the distance from town is quite far.

Yes it's quite expensive, but what a valuable experience it was. Simply the best time we’ve had in Bali is in this resort. We will definitely return to Banyan Tree Ungasan!

Jeff & Ellyzabeth M

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rendezvous_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We have just returned from an amazing stay at Banyan Tree Ungasan. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome and special. Our villa was absolutely beautiful. The bathroom was spectacular, it was more like a resort spa. We celebrated my wife's birthday at Ju-Man-Ju restaurant which had the most breathtaking views. The Director Food and Beverage, Johannes Rabl introduced himself and made us feel very welcome. He recommended the champagne infused with Moroccan rose petals. It was divine. The staff presented a birthday cake and sang Happy Birthday. What a wonderful night and there was a full moon which made it even more magical. Also, we were amazed to find that throughout the resort, the staff knew us by name. An amazing and memorable stay, we hope to return again in July. Steve & Sonia.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveandsonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Everything was perfect. The welcome rituals were a lovely touch and the lobby is simply amazing. Our ocean view villa with the infinity pool was gorgeous and the service was excellent. We were thoroughly pampered by all, staff and management. Breakfasts were a delight, so were the evening services and the in-villa bbq was unforgettable. The kids' club was also very useful if you need your little one distracted. As always Banyan Tree does not disappoint!
ps There was some third party noise beyond the management control but because we were having such a good time we were able to ignore it. Also I would have given it 6 stars if it weren't for the noise!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cilla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We wanted to go somewhere very special to celebrate our 20 yr wedding anniversary... After 20 years of marriage, 2 teenage sons and the GFC we wanted somewhere where doing nothing was a treat. The villas are huge with complete privacy. We had our own swimming pool with infinity edge, jacuzzi and day bed.... when the staff came to clean or prepare out bath (with rose petals) they were non intrusive.
I loved the fact that this 5 star hotel had no feeling of pretentiousness.... it is the best hotel we have ever stayed in.... and that comes from a vast experience of living in Italy and the USA....
The staff made us feel very welcome and went the extra mile for our anniversary. The main restaurant was incredible for food, atmosphere, decor and staff.
The spa was great but I would have preferred a smaller cooler room for my massages... the therapists were very good.
The old mistake we made was to go into Seminyak for a day hence leaving our wonderful pool and room.... next time we will stay put!!
In short we loved it and are now hooked on the Banyan Tree resorts... it is our goal to stay at one per year.... esp once the kids leave school!!
The McNeill's

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franticsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We recently went to Banyan Tree Ungasan for part 2 of our honeymoon which originally took us to Cuba and Jamaica. I had originally told my wife that some of the most beautiful resorts in the world are in Bali but she was quite adamant of going to a different part of the world. Cuba and Jamaica were indeed wonderful, but nothing quite beats the flora and villa existence that is available in Bali.

We tried the Banyan Tree Ungasan as a last minute booking, catching the stay 2 nights get 1 night free promotion on the last day. It came with two free massages and 25% off F&B as well as free breakfast. This promotion was key as the rack rate is otherwise US$600 per night which is change we dont have.

This was out 9th trip to Bali so we were keen to see what Banyan Tree was adding to the scene. We arrived in the evening and went to Seminyak first for a dinner at Sip which was great. We got to the resort and checked in fuss free. The villa we got was out of this world - probably the biggest i have stayed at in Bali for two people. The real estate is seriously generous both indoors and outdoors, with the biggest pool for a one bedroom villa we have ever seen. And there was also a separate jacuzzi.

In the morning, our garden view villa also happened to have partial sea views. For those willing to pay more, the ocean view villas are truly spectacular because the particular part of Ungasan the villas are located has broad sweeping views of the sea, unlike even those in Jimbaran where eventually you may now see another resort or the Kuta/Seminyak coastline in the distance. Ungasan has seriously broad ocean views and its unlike anywhere else we have stayed.

So with great villas and also great service, why then could i not give this place a 5 star rating. The reasons are below. I will caveat upfront though that the resort is three months old and will have its grand opening in July I believe, so there will be teething problems. But one i am sure will get sorted out in the coming months. My own conversation with the general manager Rudy gave me some comfort in this.

Issues:
- one third of the villas remain under construction so there is some unsightliness here and there
- our first villa overlooks a road the village in constructing to the sea, which resulted in construction noise in the morning at 8am, the last thing one wants when on a lazy part 2 honeymoon - fortunately the hotel changed our rooms with no fuss and even gave us a 2 bedroom villa upgrade (we thought of calling the in-laws down!)
- the food at Bambu for breakfast was more akin to a 5 star hotel in China if you know what i mean - this buffet needs some serious work in terms of focus and quality; the bottles to pour the fruit juice from are also unwieldy and i am not surprised is someone drops it one day
- landscaping needs to mature and be improved in terms of lushness and that "Bali" feel
- there is a smell in the bathrooms of the villas sometimes due to imability to what i believe could be a sewage system that needs better workings (management is aware of this and i presume this would be a first priority to fix!)

All that said, we still had a wonderful time, namely on the back of the really great villas they have and the wonderful staff. Also, one positive surprise - on one evening we decided to stay in for dinner and tried their fine dining Ju Ma Na restaurant. The setting is unbelievable but it was their food that was amazing. I could not believe that hotel food tasted so good. The Wagyu beef was excellent and the attention to detail in the presentation in cooking was more akin an almost 1 michelin star place. Kudos to the chef.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marms&Elms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
5.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
1.5 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 9 in Uluwatu
1,040 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
0.5 mi away
Karma Kandara
Karma Kandara
#2 of 11 in Ungasan
1,430 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bulgari Resort Bali
Bulgari Resort Bali
#2 of 9 in Uluwatu
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali

Address: Jl. Melasti | Banjar Kelod, Ungasan 80364, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range: $481 - $936 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the cliffs near to the Uluwatu Temple, Banyan Tree Ungasan brings definitive fine cliff top living to the renowned beach island of Bali. An all-pool villa resort located at the southernmost point of Bali, Banyan Tree Ungasan offers one of the best unparalleled views of the Indian Ocean, complete with a level of comfort and privacy synonymous with the Banyan Tree brand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali Hotel Ungasan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing