We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Variety in the Breakfast Menu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More Variety in the Breakfast Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Coming back to Banyan Tree Ungasan after a very long and tiring meeting is always bring us back the energy for the next day meeting.
The bedroom is clean and the atmosphere is very relaxing.
I found the breakfast menu has more variety, especially in their Chinese corner. Try its roasted pork, it is really very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Paulus K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Busfield, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Paulus K K, Thank you very much for choosing Banyan Tree Ungasan and sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that we exceeded all your expectations during your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future to experience another great stay at Banyan Tree Ungasan. Warm regards, Anne Busfield, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    173
    59
    32
    20
See reviews for
242
543
21
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was our second visit to Banyan Tree Ungasan and Bali in general has changed so much since 4 years ago when I came, but so has Banyan Tree - for the better!

It was a surprise trip organised by my partner, who booked the Romance in Ungasan Package. The moment we reached Denpasar airport, our driver was already there waiting for us. We were offered bottled mineral water upon boarding the car. When we reached the hotel after about 20 minutes, a friendly staff greeted us and performed the typical Balinese welcome ceremony on us similar to what they had done 4 years ago. Check-in was quick and we booked our spa treatment immediately since there was an available slot. We had a 90-minute massage and it was so relaxing and comfortable, thanks to our highly-skilled massage therapists. They also gave us time and privacy to enjoy our refreshments consisting of fruits, yoghurt and hot lemongrass tea. We've also gone to the gym which we had the entire facility to ourselves. The gym has quite a variety of equipments and although there wasn't any staff around, bottled water (chilled and non-chilled), pears and towels were available for us to help ourselves with.

Our cliff-edge villa (villa 218) was just next to Jumana restaurant. We requested for 219, but it was not available. Villa 218 was perfectly fine for us - no disturbance at all although it's situated right beside the restaurant. The villa has not changed much, still the usual extravagance - huge villa with a living room, dining area, kitchen area (note there's no kitchen equipment at all, not even fork, spoon, chopsticks, etc), a huge bathroom (separate toilet cubicle, separate shower area, bathtub facing a small tv), a separate toilet between the living room and bedroom. I noticed the doors from the living room to the outside area, as well as the doors from the bedroom to the pool, have been changed such that they are automatically closed once you've open it. I guess the purpose is to keep insects or monkeys away. There's no perfect words to describe the view - you have to be there to experience it yourself. The crashing waves were really a beautiful sight to watch daily. Complimentary fruits were provided and changed everyday so that we would always have fresh ones. Plenty of bottled waters were provided and placed in various places around villa; you can request for more bottles too.

We had in-villa seafood BBQ once and it was well worth the money. The seafood were very fresh and I love the garlic butter sauce which goes very well with prawns. Our chef, Desu, is friendly, knowledgeable about the food served and prompt in his service. After he cooked the last dish for us, which was a whole snapper, we told him that he could excuse himself to rest or do other work instead of waiting on us as we could easily help ourselves. He then helped us to set up the desserts inside our room, rather quick-thinking on his part. The dessert consisted of small chocolate tarts and various fruits.

Through the guest services staff, we booked a tour to Tanah Lot temple. While the staff is friendly and fairly knowledgeable, I'm surprised that she is not aware of the latest prices of the entry ticket to Tanah Lot temple. She shared with us that it cost about $20,000 rupiah the last time she went which was about 2 months ago. However, when we went there, we were told it cost $32,500 rupiah. Since Tanah Lot temple is a major and popular tourist attraction, I suppose she would know the latest price of the entry ticket unless Tanah Lot temple changes its price everyday. Also, I'm surprised that she does not know whether it would be high or low tide during the period of time which we intended to visit. I understand that there's no fixed period of high and low tide, but given that Tanah Lot is a tourist attraction, I would like to suggest that perhaps Banyan Tree can work with Tanah Lot more closely to keep each other updated on the price of entry ticket and periods of high and low tide. These are useful information to visitors in my opinion. To save cost, I advise all to book tours with reputable drivers (can do a google search for recommendations) directly instead of with the hotel.

Monkeys do roam around some places in the hotel. Once, we woke up to find a family of monkeys hanging out outside our living room and around the edge of the pool. One of the monkeys was even trying to open our doors. We were so scared as we're afraid they'll attack us. So we called for help and a security came to chase the monkeys away. The monkeys never came back during the rest of our stay in Banyan Tree, thankfully. So just make sure to keep your doors closed at all times although I believe the doors at the bedroom can be left open during the day as it is unlikely that the monkeys will enter the room due to the pool.

Special thanks to the staff at the reception area who helped us to change our Jumana dinner to a hotpot dinner - didn't take note of her name unfortunately (she looks senior, wore spectacles and hair tied up). The hotpot dinner was expensive but the beef stock was excellent. We had in-villa dinner several times too and I must say the quality of the food has improved. The only problem is ice water was not automatically served when we didn't order any drinks; it doesn't hurt to provide complimentary iced water given the high prices we pay for the food. Most 5-star hotels do provide that for in-room dining.

Buffet breakfast was provided. The high quality of the food still remains, however there seems to be lesser variety of food - perhaps due to low season. Turn-down service was given to us every night at around 7pm except the last night, which didn't come at 7pm and we couldn't wait anymore as we would like to swim and use the bathroom. As part of turn-down service, they also provided night snacks and hot tea too, which was a pleasant surprise.

It's really nice coming back to Banyan Tree Ungasan once again and while the cliff-edge villa is expensive, it is definitely worth the once-in-a-lifetime indulgence and an ideal place for honeymoon. We hope that one day we can afford to visit Banyan Tree Ungasan every year to celebrate our anniversary.

Room Tip: Villa 218 is equally good too, if you can't manage to get 219.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hun_house
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Busfield, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Hun_House, Thank you for returning to stay with us for the second time. It was great to read that you felt we have enhanced our guest experience since your last stay four years ago. I was really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and that our team especially Desu and our Spa therapist took great care of you. Thank you for your detailed comments on our facilities and services that created such a memorable stay for you. Many thanks for your feedback and especially on the areas where we can improve our guest services, they are very much appreciated. My very deep and most sincere appreciation to you for sharing on TripAdvisor your wonderful experiences and memories of Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. to celebrate the special times in your life like your recent anniversary.
Warm regards Anne Busfield General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

I had heard that the Banyan Tree family of hotels has always set the benchmark for luxury villa stays but the Ungasan property takes that luxury over the edge.

With sweeping views of the ocean, the drive into the property is breath taking in and of itself. We enjoyed the little welcome ceremony and the complimentary refreshments they served us while checking in, but nothing prepared us for the amazing cliff edge view room, decorated with an understand yet elegant opulence. Outdoors,the infinity pool is so well designed, it does really seem to blend into the horizon.

Service was impeccable, and yet warm and accessible and the restaurant breakfast was a very relaxing way to start the day. The golf cart mode of transport was far more convenient than we had imagined it to be and took us all around the property.

The only downside to staying here is that, it is a little far from most of the sights in Bali. And if you are a first time visitor to Bali looking to travel to the various sights , you may not be able to spend as much time in your beautiful villa. If you do make the time though, it is hard to imagine a better place to disconnect from the world, to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: The cliff edge villa is clearly the room to stay in with the best views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kampungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Busfield, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Kampungirl, Thank you very much for choosing Banyan Tree Ungasan and sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that we exceeded all your expectations during your stay including your sensational cliff edge villa, amazing private pool and the sensational service that our team gave to you.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future to experience another great time at Banyan Tree Ungasan. Warm regards, Anne Busfield, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Let's put it straight - "This is the best resort i have ever stayed in my life". Calm, Peaceful & Relaxing. Located on a ocean side cliff it is a beautifully designed resort. We were greeted with a traditional balinese ceremony where they sprinkled divine water & put some rice on the forehead, & offered cool towel with a cold ginger lemon tree to drink, this really worked & we were recharged within minutes even after 8 hours of flight. We had booked a Garden view villa which was upgraded to a sea view villa by the hotel at the time of check-in. The villa in it self was fabulous with a big bedroom, an equal sized bathroom, even larger living & dining area, a separate toilet, big sized private pool (literally BIG) with fountain, a private jacuzzi, a bale, sun beds for couple, open rain shower in side garden - all designed beautifully in traditional Indonesian architecture. There was every amenity in the room which one can think of, 3 televisions all accompanied with Bose music systems were installed. We were welcomed with a rose petal bath in our bathroom, & cake as it was my birthday. The ambience was elevated with different aromas everyday. Service was beyond excellence as we never heard "NO" from any staff in the hotel. The response time was very quick, besides such a vast spread of the resort. There were buggies available on call to roam inside the resort, it never took more than 5 min after request for the buggy to reach my location. Breakfast is very lavish & chefs were themselves attending hotel guests. as we are vegetarians the chef prepared different dishes for us every day on request, & that too with various options. The food was delicious & we always ate more than our appetite. Each staff of the hotel recognised us by our names & room whether we had met them earlier or not, & gave me birthday wishes which felt really special. There is a big pool located at the centre of the resort besides the breakfast area, it straightaway faces the ocean. We went to see the beach which is a 5-6 mins buggy ride down the cliff, the time we visited ocean was bit harsh. You have to take almost 100 steps to the beach from the point buggy drops you off. frankly, i will not recommend this to people who would like to stay at the beach all the time, as i am not much of a beach person so it didn't bother me. There is a restaurant called Jumana on a exotic location in the resort, & it is a delight to have dinner over there because the view & setup is amazing. The resort is located at a decent distance from 2 major city centres - Nusa Dua & Kuta, almost 20 - 25 mins ride from both locations by car. The resort also has a fixed time free shuttle service for both these centres every day. i enjoyed my stay a lot, as it was really relaxing & peaceful.

Room Tip: All the villas are same built except difference in view - garden view, sea view or ocean view. we go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pankaj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Busfield, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Pankaj A, How wonderful to read that the Banyan Tree Ungasan is the best resort that you ever stayed in your life  The words you used to describe our resort are simply perfect …..calm, peaceful and relaxing. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed so many experiences during your stay with us from the beautiful Balinese welcoming ceremony through to your evening at our award winning cliff top Ju Ma Na restaurant & bar. My very deep and most sincere appreciation to you for sharing on TripAdvisor your wonderful experiences and memories of Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Warm regards Anne Busfield General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed in villa 219, which has the best view of the ocean we're told. The villa was clean, the private pool was clean, the jacuzzi outside was very warm, no mosquitos, and everything worked just fine. The staff and service are some of there best we've ever encountered! They are all so truly gracious and very helpful. Anything we needed was attended to immediately. Our in-room grilled seafood dinner was made and served by our private pool with candles and flowers! It was very romantic and the quality of the food was excellent, not to mention the service was outstanding!

The best way to the private beach is by buggy (golf cart) which always arrives quickly to take you anywhere you want to go as the property is big and spread out. Once dropped off we walked down several steps to the private beach where the staff had umbrellas up and nice chairs with cushions. They served us ice water with lemon, which was very nice. Not many people there, small, so we felt isolated from all the crowds and noise that we have experienced at other beach resorts.

The food in the restaurant is very good quality and they had a good variety, along with great service by the staff, as always.

We were only there for one night and it was worth it! We hope to go again some day. Yes, the resort is a little off the beaten path but if you're looking for some peace and quiet, or a romantic get-away, this is your spot!

Room Tip: Room 219 has the best beach view with a private pool right outside your bedroom! The infinity pool o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Busfield, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Tonya B, Thank you very much for letting us know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us so much. I was so pleased to read that villa 219 was such an enjoyable experience for you. I was delighted to read that you managed to experience our personalized in villa BBQ and that the food and service were outstanding.
It was great to learn that you visited our beach, it is a hidden gem and we are thrilled that our guests can enjoy the beautiful natural environment.
Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Warm regards Anne Busfield General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The natural environment is excellent in Banyan Tree Bali, the service is excellent , friendly staff and effecient service.The private beach is wonderful.
The villa is big and nice.

But in my opinion, a few places are room for improvement:

1.) The room named "Oceanview Pool villa" is very misleading as I can only
see very very little seaview in the villa..
2.) I ordered the steak for dinner at "bamboo restaurant" and requested for
medium cooked but finally it came with a well done one and the steak is
really hard and taste badly...
3.) There is a jacuzzi hot water pool near to the private pool but it doesn't
work..
4.) There is no DVD player in the bedroom , the DVD player is only avaliable
in the sitting room so that I can't watch DVDs in the bedroom..
5.) The kids' center is not attractive at all with only a few facilities and
activities for kids.
6.) There is no free courses offered during our stay like Yoga class or other
any other else.It made my stay a bit boring.

Room Tip: The view of garden view and ocean view villa are the same and prefer to choose the villas near to J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Angel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Busfield, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Angel W, Thank you very much for letting us know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It was so lovely to read that you found our team to be really friendly and that they gave great service during your stay.
I also adore our beach and was delighted that you felt the same way too  I was really happy to read that you enjoyed your time in our amazing villas with their private swimming pools and rejuvenating Jacuzzis.
Many thanks for your comments about the areas where we did not manage to meet your expectations. I will spend time reviewing each point and ensure that we take all the appropriate actions that we need to for improvement.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future. Best regards Anne Busfield, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Have been to Indonesia several times and have stayed at other Banyan Trees - this property is exquisite but has several flaws. It is very isolated and is not actually on the beach. The beach is accessed via a cliff face and long steep stairs. Beach is gated and locked until 8 or 9 in the morning. I run so I needed to climb over the barricade to access the beach. The air conditioning in the room apparently runs on zones - one of our zones was always off which made for a very hot portion of our suite. The personal pool is gorgeous but the fountain worked only intermittently. The food was mediocre and way over priced. The selection was strange - was never able to actually order fresh fish?! We reserved a sea view - no way - totally over-grown which was corrected the next day by a massive pruning of trees along the cliff side. The staff attempts to be helpful but there is a serious language barrier at least I hope it was. Several excursions did not happen either due to poor communication skills or just laziness. I must commend Yori and Andi at the Front Desk for their extraordinary efforts. Overall - not real sure that it is worth the high price particularly in Indonesia.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Busfield, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Charles R, Thank you for choosing Banyan Tree Ungasan and sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you found our very special resort so beautiful and especially the private pool in your villa.
Many thanks for your feedback regarding the access to the beautiful beach, I am so sorry that the gate was not opened in time for you. Your comments about your dining experiences are much appreciated and will be reviewed by our Executive Chef. I will address each one of the other areas where we did not meet your expectations with the Department Head concerned, to ensure that we improve our guest experiences. I was so pleased to read you experienced wonderful service from “Yori and Andi” who work in our reception team. I look forward to personally meeting you when you next choose to stay with us. Best regards Anne Busfield, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
1.5 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
5.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.6 mi away
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton
#5 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karma Kandara
Karma Kandara
#2 of 11 in Ungasan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bulgari Resort Bali
Bulgari Resort Bali
#2 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali

Property: Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
Address: Jl. Melasti | Banjar Kelod, Ungasan 80364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the cliffs near to the Uluwatu Temple, Banyan Tree Ungasan brings definitive fine cliff top living to the renowned beach island of Bali. An all-pool villa resort located at the southernmost point of Bali, Banyan Tree Ungasan offers one of the best unparalleled views of the Indian Ocean, complete with a level of comfort and privacy synonymous with the Banyan Tree brand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali Hotel Ungasan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing