We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Taichung, Taiwan
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

As soon as we arrived, we received the warm and friendly welcome from reception which was a good start. ^^

We had a sea view pool villa which is amazing beautiful that we can’t stop screaming! The view from Jumana restaurant is breathtaking and the private beach is so nature! Not to mention the unforgettable spa ever!!! We really loved this hotel!

Besides the hotel location and facilities, the service is also outstanding!

It’s our first time visiting Bali, we tried to book the dolphin activity but worried about the transportation. The staff from activity center did a very good job to assist us booking for the dolphin dodge and arranging the transportation. It was very thoughtful and I can’t say how much we appreciated the high quality service!

Excellent team!

P.S. We just come back but can't wait to plan our next trip back to Banyan Tree.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Yen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Yen L,
Thank you for the gracious comments.
We all here at Banyan Tree Ungasan truly appreciate it.
Thank you & regards
Nicolas Belzic – The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    176
    60
    32
    20
See reviews for
250
551
21
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

i stayed only for 3 days 2 nights but this trip will be an unforgettable as it was a beautiful experience.
i arrived at the resort about 6pm as my flight was delayed, my partner and myself were greeted the moment we step out of the car at the entrance of the lobby.
check in was very fast ( less than 10 mins)
service was really good (beyond expectations) in this resort from the 1st second i step out of the car to the last day i step back into the car leaving for the airport.
i had food delivered to my villa most of the time and the food was a still hot and everything was delicious.
this is a resort not to be miss if you want a relax holiday.



  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank 726ashleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Ashley S,
Thank you for the kind and considerate comments posted here regarding your recent stay at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali. We truly appreciate it.
Thank you & regards,
Nicolas B. – The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I was there 5 days and spent 2 days touring around. I regret I spent so much time outside. I should have stayed more time inside Banyan Tree or visited the beach more. It is so peaceful to be in the private pool or even the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Louis L,
Thank you for your gracious comment.
We are very happy that you had a good stay here at Banyan tree Ungasan Bali.
We all look forward to welcoming you “home” in the not too distant future.
Best regards,
Nicolas B. – The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Very new, clean and spacious. It's really comfortable and relaxed like being in heaven. We satisfied almost all facilities of villa. Only gazebo is not so comfortable so that we didn't stay much because it's warm sitting or lying on the sofar. Since there is no shops and restaurants near the hotel, we hope in-villa dinning is more delicious and more choice. Overall, we are happy and we would like to return again. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank pata171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear pata171,
Thank you for your gracious comment. I truly appreciate it.
We do take your comments very seriously.
We will be working to improve on the areas mentioned.
Once again thank you.
Nicolas B. – The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Amazing hotel. One of the best rooms we have ever stayed in. Most people never leave the villa and you can see why. That is however an issue if you want to see a little life around the hotel as mostly deserted even around the pool. The beach is a long walk down too and only ever a couple of people on it. The only disappointing thing was the food. Very westernised and restaurant deserted by 8pm some nights. But if you like peace and quiet! Would definitely return though but maybe stay for four or five days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Grigs,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay here at Banyan Tree Ungasan Bali. It is truly appreciated. My unreserved apologies for the areas where we could have done better.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Nicolas B. – The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I (mid 30's) spent several nights at the Banyan Tree Ungasan in November of 2013. We stayed in an ocean view pool villa and cannot exaggerate how beautiful and relaxing the villa was. The view was extraordinary and we barely noticed the one row of villas that were in front of (and below) us. The villa itself was exquisite and had every amenity you could imagine. As the first stop in our trip to Southeast Asia from Washington D.C. all we wanted was a bit of relaxation and pampering before heading to Ubud where we knew we were going to be spending alot more time engaging in active pursuits. Arriving at the Banyan Tree Ungasan (amazing arrival process that is done quickly and efficiently with a nice welcome gift), taking a dip in our private pool, and then having some wine on the most comfortable lounge chairs overlooking the Indian Ocean is not an experience I will soon (or ever!) forget. If you are looking for the ultimate in luxury and relaxation, this place is for you.

It is important to keep in mind that the resort is catering to couples who want to get away from it all. The resort is, therefore, located in an unbelievably beautiful, but isolated, location. This was perfect for us but people seeking more adventure should keep in mind that there really aren't alot of things to do in close proximity to the Banyan Tree. We did manage to pull ourselves away from the heaven that was our villa to go to Seminyak one day. It is about a 30-40 minute drive (with traffic... always traffic in Bali!) from the hotel and has an amazing beach, great night life and awesome restaurants. It was well worth the journey but, again, it was not particularly close nor convenient to the Banyan Tree. Nor are the other beach areas. We knew this going in but anyone seeking alot of night life might want to reconsider the Banyan Tree and stay in Seminyak or the other major beach areas instead.

The only criticism we had was that the Banyan Tree's beach (as opposed to the rest of the property) appeared to be more of an afterthought than anything else. Number one, it is FAR from the resort. We walked there but it took about 15-20 minutes to get to the beach itself down a long winding path. They do offer golf cart shuttle service but it would be nice if the beach was a touch closer. Once there, the Banyan Tree's beach is a tiny plot with a handful of nice beach chairs and not much else with random garbage and other items strewn about. It would have been nice if they made it a bit more inviting particularly since if you walk a few minutes down the beach you encounter other beach clubs that have far more inviting beach front areas (even live music at some).

At the end of the day, this was just a mild criticism and the rest of the resort was simply exquisite. The breakfast buffet was one of the most extensive we had in Southeast Asia and drinks or dinner at Ju-Ma-Na at sunset, although expensive, is not to be missed (try and call ahead and reserve a table closest to where the sun goes down). Also try and wake up at sunrise and watch the large family of monkeys frolic on the roof of your villa as they make their way down to the lower parts of the property! The resort gets an added kudo for having excellent room service and offering somewhat reasonably priced wine in the room. The staff are also all generally amazing and very friendly.

We went in November which was right on the cusp of rainy season. Although it did rain a bit, the weather was overall amazing and we were able to get a discounted rate.

Last tip would be to use local drivers rather than the resort's transportation options. The local drivers we used were about half (if not more) the price and just as good.

In sum, this resort is the ultimately in luxury and relaxation and we can not wait to return some day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear travsav,
Thank you so much for the kind and gracious compliments. This is truly appreciated and will certainly encourage and motivate all of us to maintain and even exceed on our current standards of products and service.
Yes, you are right that the beach is bit far from the resort and we do try to ensure that all our guests understand that we are a cliff edge resort. Our neighbor is a specifically built beach club with a restaurant and bar whereas ours is more of a natural beach for strolling and sunbathing for and for a beverage (at the most)
Thank you once again.
Nicolas B. – The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with family and we had most of amazing time. The hotels is indeed beautiful and offer true luxury. The rooms we had was very spacious with biggest private pool we ever experienced and with great privacy too. We were very happy although haven't enjoyed all the facilities yet. Kids are happy with the pool and the meals, the breakfast buffet was great, thanks for the poached eggs and those abundance buffet menu. We were very impressed by the Balinese blessing upon check-in, a very nice indigenous touch. The staff are gracious, warm, polite and very attentive.

We would like to thank Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali and all the staff for making our stay memorable and amazing, It was truly amazing family time at Banyan Tree Ungasan with its exceptional services, we hope to come back to Banyan Tree Ungasan soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W_Wandira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear W_Wandira,
Thank you for your kind and flattering comments on your recent stay here at Banyan Tree Ungasan.
We truly appreciate it.
Regards,
Nicolas B. – The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
1.5 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 8 in Uluwatu
953 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
5.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Bali
The Ritz-Carlton Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,680 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karma Kandara
Karma Kandara
#2 of 11 in Ungasan
1,274 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bulgari Resort Bali
Bulgari Resort Bali
#2 of 8 in Uluwatu
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali

Property: Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
Address: Jl. Melasti | Banjar Kelod, Ungasan 80364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the cliffs near to the Uluwatu Temple, Banyan Tree Ungasan brings definitive fine cliff top living to the renowned beach island of Bali. An all-pool villa resort located at the southernmost point of Bali, Banyan Tree Ungasan offers one of the best unparalleled views of the Indian Ocean, complete with a level of comfort and privacy synonymous with the Banyan Tree brand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali Hotel Ungasan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing