We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Banyan Tree”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Beautiful Banyan Tree”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have been lucky enough to stay at the Banyan Tree twice this year, two weeks each time.
I adore this resort for many reasons.The location- so peaceful and beautiful what more can you ask than to wake up in the morning and look out over your pool then the ocean, a wonderful way to calm the soul and clear the mind- something we all need in this crazy world we live in.
The staff- warm, friendly and caring, they will try to do everything they can to make your stay perfect. I think we could all take a lesson from the Balinese on human kindness.
The villas are spacious and stylish with lovely outdoor area and large pool, you can also have sun or shade whichever is your preference.
The restaurants have a good variety of dishes with buffet/ Balinese dance twice a week.
The drivers are fantastic so it's easy to go to Seminyak for shopping and dinner.
I travel a few times a year and the Banyan Tree is one of my favourite destinations, I highly recommend it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank R167FOSandrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamal_Hussain, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for the gracious comments.
WE all here at Banyan Tree Ungasan truly appreciate it.
Thank you & with very best regards,
Jamal Hussain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    176
    59
    32
    20
See reviews for
245
546
21
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in an ocean view villa last July 2012. Whenever my husband takes a vacation, he's the sort who would not want to leave the resort, instead preferring to just relax within the resort grounds. Which is why he always tries to choose Banyan Tree, for their huge and luxurious villas, exemplary service, personal touch and gorgeous settings. Ungasan delivered most of that.

First up, they have the most beautiful villas compared to all the other Banyan Trees around in the region. Expansive outdoor area with gorgeous views of the ocean, a pool and jacuzzi right outside your bedroom, very large but warm living, dining and kitchen area furnished with top notch furniture and fittings, and the very best of the best to-die-for bathroom/vanity/dressing area, which incidentally, is larger than the bedroom itself! I am very particular about the layout of rooms, 'traffic' flow and the user-friendliness of any floor plan, and this is where I was most happy with.

Food was good, though not particularly great. We dined in Ju-Ma-Na, had drinks at the bar watching the sun set, had our breakfasts at Bambu, which had such postcard-perfect views of the ocean and in-villa dining as well.

Service is what one would expect of Banyan Tree - nothing short of excellent, gracious and efficient.

The only aspects which I felt lacking was the spa and its setting. It did not have the kind of serenity and lush, green surroundings you would find in other top resorts (including other Banyan Trees). Instead, I had a view of parched and barren land, which also happens to be the immediate surroundings outside the resort (it is not a picturesque drive into the resort). Also, as one other reviewer here noted, somehow the entire resort feels a little soulless, perhaps lacking in warmth, ironic for a place in Bali.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susantiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamal_Hussain, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear bowserpianist, Singapore,

Thank you for the kind and considerate comments posted here regarding your recent stay at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali. We truly appreciate it.

My apologies for some of the shortfalls experienced. I am truly sorry that you felt a lack of "warmth and "soul" which we certainly strive to achieve on a daily basis. My unreserved apologies.

I do sincerely hope that your overall stay was a pleasant one and that you were able to take home fond memories of your vacation on Bali.

With very best regards,
Jamal Hussain
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Even better than expected. Ocean villa offered amazing view. Service was excellent and everybody always smiling... Total privacy, quality food (including remarquable in-villa lunch and dining services), etc. ... Spa and in-villa yoga class were top-notch. We were in Bali for 3 weeks and stayed 10 days in the Banyan Tree and it was so hard to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 29, 2013

For me Banyan tree was and still the best hotel in every thing : the rooms are wonderful and clean the view is great the service is perfect the spa is the best, also the staff and the managers are really helpful and cooperative. Especially Suwara and mr Jamal hussain
We will definitely come back again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in a cliff edge villa as part of our honeymoon and it was absolute luxury.
The staff were incredible and extremely helpful throughout the stay and helped wherever possible.
The food at the restaurants was delicious and the room service option was just as good as going to eat at the actual restaurant.
The only downside was how expensive everything in the mini bar was. My tip would be to get a taxi to the local supermarket to stock up on snacks etc for your stay.
I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a chilled out stay and I would look into other Banyan Tree's also after this wonderful experience.

Room Tip: It can be a bit noisy near the quarry when outside, so it is best to get a room furthest away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandeep84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamal_Hussain, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear amandeep84 London,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay here at Banyan Tree Ungasan Bali. We truly appreciate it. We have taken your comments very much to heart and will be reviewing changes towards a more "friendly" pricing in the Mini Bar.

With best regards,
Jamal Hussain
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great start to our Indonesia holiday. The ocean view pool villa was spacious and well laid out. Unfortunately very windy conditions throughout our stay which meant the pool water was a tad cold for extended swims.

The good:
- Prompt buggy service
- Great food at JuMaNa restaurant
- One of the best massages ever at the spa
- Decent gym
- Friendly service

The cons:
- Isolated, so good if you want to chill, not so good if you want to explore Bali
- A little bit soulless - it all works, but not much atmosphere, for example, JuMaNa - food great, atmosphere a bit dull.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were in the Banyan Tree Ungasan for 10 days.
We had a double pool villa, which was very nice, with a big pool, two big bed-and bathrooms.
The service in the villa and in the total resort was excellent! The staff is very friendly and courteous.
The food in the restaurants is excellent and varied.
The holiday was wonderful and we will come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamal_Hussain, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for your gracious comments. It is truly appreciated.
Jamal Hussain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
1.5 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
5.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.6 mi away
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton
#7 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karma Kandara
Karma Kandara
#2 of 11 in Ungasan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bulgari Resort Bali
Bulgari Resort Bali
#2 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali

Property: Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
Address: Jl. Melasti | Banjar Kelod, Ungasan 80364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the cliffs near to the Uluwatu Temple, Banyan Tree Ungasan brings definitive fine cliff top living to the renowned beach island of Bali. An all-pool villa resort located at the southernmost point of Bali, Banyan Tree Ungasan offers one of the best unparalleled views of the Indian Ocean, complete with a level of comfort and privacy synonymous with the Banyan Tree brand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali Hotel Ungasan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing