We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Cliff Edge View in Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Having spent five nights in a Cliff Edge Villa at Banyan Tree Ungasan 2nd to 7th May 2013, we can only give praise to this amazing room. Our villa #219 was the best we have ever experienced and we did not want to leave...everything to do with the villa was beyond our expectations including the in room service, facilities and decor. We also enjoyed the spa facilities, although not the best we have experienced, but still very nice. The rest of the resort is lovely and matches the quality and service in the villa. The only disappointment was Ju Ma Na restaurant...although still nice, it did not live up to its previously claimed excellence as was as one of the best in Bali?...service was average and the building needs a bit of maintenance and has lost the ambiance that is depicted on the web site and magazine adds...however the villa is the place to be, and we can't rave about it enough...our recommendation would be to stay in this resort and have in-villa BBQ's & Dinners...but then visit Bulgari's Il Restorante for that special dinner!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank JossandLotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamal_Hussain, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor member,
Thank you for the very gracious comments on your stay. I have taken note of your comments on JuMaNa restaurant and have highlighted your comments to both the Executive Cher and Dir. of Food & Beverage. We will certainly be aiming to improve on both product and service in this Restaurant. Once again Thank you.
Jamal Hussain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

561 - 567 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our villa was beautifully situated and tastefully decorated in keeping with Balinese surroundings. The villa pool was a delight to jump into with abandon and spontaneity. The food at the hotel is delicious. The grounds are immaculately kept. The service is warm, rich, friendly and not overbearing - just enough to make you think that there really are good people on this earth. And finally, the piece de la resistance - the magical cliff and beach below. Not since Tahiti have I been blown away by the pristine waters and the clean sandy beaches. Swimming is for the very experienced but on this day, there was enough calm and not too strong a current to body surf in crystal clean (!) waters. And a walk along the coast was also possible. This place took my breath away and I shall return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Macnadsterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamal_Hussain, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor member - "Breathtaking Paradise"
Thank you very much for your gracious comments. We truly appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear your praises of our product, service and overall resort.
Thank you once again.
Jamal Hussain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A very relaxing retreat that located on the cliff, spacious villa for more than 1000 sq.ft. each. The pool in the villa is lovely as unlike others, it is not just a bigger tub which I can actually swim with privacy. The Jacuzzi is great but the water just evaporated quickly, we have to ask for water refill in the early morning. Dining options are very limited as there is no restaurant nearby the resort within walking distance. The renowned Ju.ma.na has changed its schedule to close on Monday starting from February 2013 which disappointed me quite a lot as I visited on the first Monday on Feb. We were given a discount coupon upon check-in but all options require 24 hours advance booking which is absolutely useless for one night stay guests like us. The private beach down the cliff is mainly for sun bathing and relaxing, not possible to swim as too rocky and no other water sport facilities at all, be sure you know that before u going down the three hundred steps stairway as no elevators / escalators could bring you up.
About food served at Bambu, my opinion is the raw materials are very fresh and of good quality, portion size is also perfect, but the cooking style and seasoning are of room for improvement.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamal_Hussain, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Frederick C,
My sincere and unreserved apologies for the shortfalls experienced. Yes, we began closing JuMaNa on Mondays starting February this year as this was the slowest day of the week and we took advantage of this day to carry out regular maintenence and deep cleaning.
Yes, you are absolutely right that the ocean by the beach is not a swimmable one and we do try to ensure that all our guests understand that we are a cliff edge resort.
I do hope that we will one day in the future still have the opportunity to receive you once more here at Banyan Tree Ungasan.
With best regards,
Jamal Hussain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I love the hotel, the villa is so spacious, with a private pool and a Jacuzzi,
you can just open the bedroom door and directly jump to the pool.
this resort has 73 villas, no rooms, perfect to just spend your time to relax, enjoy the view, the pool and the villa.
hope you can keep up with maintaining the villa and the facilities, so it will always at top condition.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rheza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamal_Hussain, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Rheza, Jakarta,
Thank you for the kind comments on your stay here at Banyan Tree Ungasan Bali.
It is truly very well received.
With best regards,
Jamal Hussain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

we had a cliff edge villa, when we arrived our mouth opened and we staid mouth open for a moment so amazed we were, by the view, the place, then the villa itself. the room is really a maxing, the resort is absolutely perfect, and the restaurant are great food super quality and service there perfect we loved the french restaurant. now for you info some details could be better, no butler service, waiting for turn out, and then for towels, day light straight to your face despite curtains (take your eye shade) the great noise of waves breaking is noisy, take your ear plugs, in fact the house is not at all noise isolated, so waves and birds are the only noise. you may have to wait on line too long to get one person, and many others small details, but the view and the location make you in love with this place

Room Tip: all the rooms are great but definitively the cliff edge is amazing. ask for more west possible to en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamal_Hussain, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Pierre B
Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Dear Pierre B,

Thank you for your kind comments. They are truly appreciated. We all here at Banyan tree Ungasan look forward to your next visit.

With Best regards,
Jamal Hussain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

An awesome hotel, the villas are totally amazing with lovely private pools with amazing hill cliff views! You will think that an everyday midnight and morning dip is a a way of life. The place is so idyllic and peaceful. One did feel eventually that you were in Prisoner's The Village, or a bond villain base, but in a good way! I now need Duck and Dim Sum for breakfast every day.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnrock100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was great staying at Banyan Tree Ungasan. There was a couple of mishap during the stay but their response to solve them was immediate ans satisfying. The villa was huge and quite with an amazing view! In-villa BBQ was exceptional! The only downside is that there is a construction going on next to the resort but it is not noticeable from inside the villa. I would definitely like to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Seoyoon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
5.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
1.5 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 10 in Uluwatu
1,069 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,040 reviews
11.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karma Kandara
Karma Kandara
#2 of 11 in Ungasan
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali

Address: Jl. Melasti | Banjar Kelod, Ungasan 80364, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range: $542 - $948 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the cliffs near to the Uluwatu Temple, Banyan Tree Ungasan brings definitive fine cliff top living to the renowned beach island of Bali. An all-pool villa resort located at the southernmost point of Bali, Banyan Tree Ungasan offers one of the best unparalleled views of the Indian Ocean, complete with a level of comfort and privacy synonymous with the Banyan Tree brand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali Hotel Ungasan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing