We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Guests!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wedding Guests!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Excellent stay, excellent service and definitely something worth coming back for.
The villas are just absolutely gorgeous and serene.
There are no distractions and it is so peaceful.
A lovely place to come and relax even if its just a short period of time.
Looking forward to coming back in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    175
    59
    32
    20
See reviews for
243
544
21
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Really enjoyed the personal service. Staff anticipated to our needs and we felt really pampered. Room service is prompt.

Rooms are comfortable and clean. Good ocean view with beautiful horizon over the indoor pool.

Indoor dining was another great experience and strongly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

As a frequent traveller, Banyan Tree Ungasan has definitely exceeded my expectation. The handling of our stay throughout, the services of staff with a warm smile, the facilities in the villa, beautiful garden landscape and the wonderful environment were all just perfect for a relaxing holiday break. The Resort is a paradise!

My family and I had enjoyed so much that we wished we could extend our stay for a few more days. Yes, as always, nice things just end too soon.

Thank you, team of Banyan Tree Ungasan, keep up the excellent job!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

there are no words to describe this hotel. its the closest thing to heaven in my opinion. the room was amazing. service was great. the view was breathtaking. i would recommend this hotel to everyone. when i was looking for a hotel in Bali, i did thorough research. I prefer new, modern and contemporary hotel... other popular hotels like the four seasons don't have what this hotel has... the view, luxury and this level of privacy! this hotel is 3 yrs old i believe vs other resorts are traditional and old... privacy that was available here, i don't think any other hotel offers that level of privacy.. when i read some reviews on this hotel before making reservation, i was concerned about noise from mining but when i stayed there, i didn't hear anything.. it was nice, peace and quite... felt like it was just me, my wife and the Indian ocean... no one else... too good to be true! a must visit hotel!

in addition, their signature restaurant has amazing food! worth trying! you will not be disappointed.

location wise, it is not the best b/c this is at the very south of Bali, but about 20 to 30 mins from happening places which we didn't mind b/c of what this hotel had to offer.

hope your experience at this hotel if you choose this hotel is as good as ours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank zeemak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stunning view...
I stayed with my wife and two children, well set up for my babies! Thank you...
Always amazed with the size of the bathroom...nice room and overall the villa too...
Love the set up at bamboo restaurant! Ju-ma-na,again stunning view! Love it! But need a cool air-con though..., Menu at bamboo... Need to have more variety..,
Thank you Banyan tree!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainan, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The welcome ceremony is fantasy and the room was the biggest one I have live. Location was also good in bali. Amenities was good. I love the bose radio system and the swimming pool. The reception was also good for me to check the schedule.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Marshlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Banyan Tree has a great brand name and we came with high expectations. The villas definitely impress on first walking in. The entryway with the floating stone walkway, and the very spacious glass-walled bathroom with big bathtub, and the ginger spice incense they prep the room with instantly put you in a state of bliss. But there are problems, all very minor, but just enough to add up. Such as a rusty hinge so that doors cannot be locked. Or mislabeled light switches that don't seem to do anything. The toys in the kid's center are just a bit too worn and the jigsaw puzzle faded from the sun (we had a small child with us). The breakfast, although very good, is just a tad shy of gourmet. The cliffside restaurant has an amazing view, but when we went there for afternoon tea, there was no one, so the air conditioning wasn't even on upstairs.

Our biggest disappointment was with the spa. After spending four days taking care of children and parents, my wife and I booked a two-hour massage to pamper ourselves. Soon after the massage started, we were disturbed by construction noise from both the hotel and outside the hotel. Our masseuses, who were all trained to move slowly and deliberately, then proceeded to slowly and deliberately insert earplugs into our ears. When we complained that we can't hear the soothing spa music, they replaced the earplugs with iPod earbuds. They then kindly explained that there are construction on new villa projects nearby and this affects the spa at various times through the day. Well, thanks for telling me that before I spent almost US$300 on the treatment! When we complained, we were asked to fill out a generic comment card.

During my spa session I thought it'd be nice to hear traditional Balinese rindik music, but was told that their music menu is standard in all the Banyan Tree spas. To me, that is a reflection of both what's right and what's wrong with this resort. It has a certain level of quality that you'd expect from a Banyan Tree, but it's missing some flexibility and personal touch. Also, note to parents of young children: the resort makes you sign a waiver that says they are not responsible if your child gets hurt on their premises. That's because the villa designs, although very stylish, is not very safe for young children. Please take that into consideration.

All in all, with the friendly staff and breathtaking ocean views, this is still a premium resort, but for the price, there are some better alternatives, such as the Alilas Uluwatu resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJXuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
1.5 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
5.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.6 mi away
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton
#7 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karma Kandara
Karma Kandara
#2 of 11 in Ungasan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bulgari Resort Bali
Bulgari Resort Bali
#2 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali

Property: Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
Address: Jl. Melasti | Banjar Kelod, Ungasan 80364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the cliffs near to the Uluwatu Temple, Banyan Tree Ungasan brings definitive fine cliff top living to the renowned beach island of Bali. An all-pool villa resort located at the southernmost point of Bali, Banyan Tree Ungasan offers one of the best unparalleled views of the Indian Ocean, complete with a level of comfort and privacy synonymous with the Banyan Tree brand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali Hotel Ungasan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing