We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy Romantic Perfect Honeymoon Thank you Banyan Tree :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2011

AMAZING...from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the service, room, food, cocktails everything was perfect. We are definatley coming back for our one year anniversary and then every year after that hopefully :)

We stayed in room 124 Sea Veiw Pool Villa. We had a lovely view we could see the ocean and some rooftops but they have designed the place so that no one can look into any other villa at all no matter where you are standing. So its very private :)

The Bambu restaurant is a great way to start the day with a bit of room service for lunch then a nice meal in Ju-ma-Na to top it off :)

We fully recommend. The day spa is a little overpriced and we thought we had a honeymoon massage included but we didnt so for a 2hour treatment it cost around $120 per personAUD. We did have a romantic intimate moment included in our stay which was nice to come back to after the Balanese dancing night buffet.

If you want a perfect honeymoon book it now :) You will love it :) Oh and the Beds are so comfy. The only other thing we would recomend is that a dvd player is put in the bedroom not the lounge as most people want to watch dvd when they are going to bed all comfy so we swapped the dvd player from lounge into bedroom just had to call help to do so.

regards

Melissa and James Thew

Room Tip: Book 124 it was great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesMeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

800 - 806 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2011

We came here for our honeymoon and were absolutely loved our time there. Our room was beautiful and the view absolutely spectacular! The staff went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable and always had a smile on their face - from the reception staff, to the spa, to the restaurants, buggy drivers, gardeners and construction workers. We tried the day spa and every restaurant in the resort including the in-villa bbq and weren't disappointed.
The staff apologised several times for the noise as they were still working on additional villas in the resort however we never heard a thing! The resort was so tranquil and it was extremely relaxing stay.
Overall an experience that exceeded all (already high) expectations of the resort and we're looking forward to going back again in future as well as trying other Banyan Tree Resorts.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and stay at the Ocean Villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butterflylace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Refers to previous reviews, I guess I don't have to emphasize how beautiful the resort and the view are once again. The staffs are wonderful. From housekeeping, buggy drivers, receptions, to managers, everyone always smiled at us and never avoided eye contacts. They were always willing to serve us anywhere and anytime.

I tried both Ju-ma-na restaurant and in-villa BBQ. The foods were fabulous and with gorgeous dining atmosphere, I would definitely recommend it. The Banyan Tree Spa was the best amount 3 spas i had during this trip. (Prana spa, Lembah spa) Every detail was perfectly handled through the treatment.

Overall I think Banyan tree is definitely one of the best resorts in Bali.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingsleyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

i am currently staying in villa 314, service is perfect, villa beautiful, views wow...

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5starhotelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

From the gong announcing your arrival to the farewell wave as you leave....this has got to be one of the best resorts you could ever have the pleasure in staying at. Photos dont do justice to the luxury. The perfect way to spend some time - just dont even leave the resort. I only had 3 days but it was beautiful - suites are the best, great bars and restaurants, staff who cant do enough for you, cultural show and shop....cant wait to go back. Only down side was the price of wine - about $220AUD for a bottle of sauv blanc.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljk1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

Dear ljk1962,


Thank you for taking the time to share your review during your stay at Banyan Tree Ungasan.


We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you so much for your valuable comments on our resort facilities and the services. I will most certainly share your gracious comments with the team, who will be thrilled by your remembrance of them and for your much appreciated feedback.


In regards to wine prices, it is marked up due to Bali’s heavy custom duty and regulation payments for imported alcoholic beverages.


Once again, thank you very much for sharing your comments and observations as it is only through feedback from our valued guests that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities.


We all look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distance future.


Best Regards,


Reinhold Johann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

This is where hotel reviews become difficult because this hotel is gorgeous and well worth visiting for a few days of relaxation and pampering, but it is not perfect. The hotel itself is perched on a cliff 70m above a gorgeous secluded (non-swimming) beach in Ungasan. The location is spectacular. We were greeted warmly on arrival and offered a 15 minute neck massage before going to our room. The reception space is magnificent. The resort itself is exclusively villa based and the roads leading to the villas wind down from reception. Transport up and down is via a golf buggy system that works very efficiently. Many villas are close enough to walk to the main pool area etc. We had booked a 2 bed sea view pool villa (no 209.) I have to say the villa itself was spectacular with a beautiful lounge and master suite. The children's room was in a separate building next to the main suite. This wasn't ideal for us as it meant the children having their own front door. With children younger than ours this could be a problem. From the master suite doors lead to the terrace and pool. There is a heated jacuzzi on the terrace along with a day bed and sun loungers. The pool was not warm, but the weather had been inclement. It was still warm enough to swim in. Other people have written about their disappointment with the view unless you book an unrestricted ocean view suite. I have to say that I thought the view was fine, you do look down over roof tops towards the sea, but the accommodation really is so fabulous that I don't think it detracts. We opted to have an in villa barbeque in the evening. There were some hitches with the booking of this, but eventually all went smoothly and the chef and butler arrived to cook for us. It really was very good. It was expensive by Bali standards, but not ridiculous. Sitting on the terrace enjoying the sunset whilst they cooked for us was a real treat. Breakfast the following morning was in Bambu and was also very good with a vast selection of international food. We took a buggy down to the beach and lay for about an hour by ourselves watching the waves. There are a good many activities both at the beach and in the hotel. The children used the kids club briefly which is well managed. There is a library with books and a very limited stock of DVD's. We ate in Ju-ma-Na on our second night. The restaurant setting and ambience is amazing and would have been even better had the weather been kinder. Service was not up to scratch and certainly not seamless, lots of people fussing around and not knowing what they were doing. We ordered 4 starters and 4 main courses from the menu for our table of 4 and the waiter asked what order we wanted them brought in ?? Whilst the food was good it was nowhere near where it needs to be if it aims to be a fine dining destination. And this was when they had a guest Michelin starred chef in residence. The apple strudel was literally raisins wrapped in filo. The parpadelle they served one of the children (although from the main menu) was overcooked and the ribbons stuck together. The sauce was disgusting. There were some nice dishes however such as the potato and leek veloute with Tilapia and the Wagyu. In all honesty I think they need to change the concept or work a lot harder at it. The spa is beautiful as you would expect from Banyan. The treatments are expensive and 10 times what you will pay at a local spa. It is probably worth it, but might feel a bit like you are being ripped off. The journey back to the airport is only 30-40 minutes so not stressful at all, although the traffic in Bali is so horrendous that it may put us off coming back. Value wise we payed USD850 per night including breakfast for 4. For the size of room, location and wow factor this seems like very good value and I would definitely recommend. They need to work now on making the service feel less forced and clumsy. Once they have that I think this will be a stunning hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mustbefivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2011

Dear Mustbefivestar,


Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at Banyan Tree Ungasan.


Please accept my deep apologies for the disappointment of lack of service you have experienced during dinner at Ju-Ma-Na Restaurant, especially on the food quality of our special event “Michelin Master Chef”. We have shared your comments with the our F&B management team for improvement; to avoid reoccurrence in future.


Thank you for your gracious comments on our Sea View villa, BBQ dinner, restaurant ambiance and the other facilities of the resort. I am delighted that you found the rest of our services and amenities to your expectations.


Once again, thank you very much for your efforts in sharing your comments and observations as it is only through feedback from our valued guests that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities.


We all look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali.


Best regards,

Reinhold Johann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Banyan Tree Ungasan. My husband and I are big fans of the Banyan Tree resorts. We have stayed in Bintan 4 times and this was our first trip to Bali and Banyan Tree Ungasan.
The villas are second to none. The design of the pools in fantastic - out of your bedroom directly into the pool. Beautiful spa adjacent to the pool, bale, huge bathrooms, comfortable living room. You couldnt fault these villas - they have everything are like a little piece of heaven.
Having said that - whilst the design and layout is fantastic - the service and staff need some uplifting.
We were left waiting on a number of occasions - the pool bar supposedly opened at 11.30am however when we got there at noon it was not manned. We waited and waited, the pool attendant saw us waiting - did nothing.Eventually I went to the main restaurant Bambu nearby to get some assistance. Lo and behold the pool bar waiter was talking to the staff in the restuarant. He came straight away and was very good after that.
We were also left waiting in the Bambu restaurant while staff chatted away with each other. There appears to be a lack of mgmt keeping the staff on their toes.
We loved our stay and would go back however i would hope some of the staffing issues could be resolved. Whilst Banyan Tree Bintan is less modern the service and staff are very friendly and accomodating - you feel welcome.
The only other thing is that there is noisy construction work happening at the beach. We were not close to the beach however the noise travelled - and all day we heard banging - it did not create a tranqil environment. This is not the hotels fault however it does affect your ability to relax during the day.
All in all we would go back but think that the mgmt needs to look at Bintan for staff training in service and friendliness.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLKPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Dear CLKPerth,


Thank you for the valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at Banyan Tree Ungasan.
It is with regret we noted the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us, especially the quality of service from our team at the Pool Bar and Bambu Restaurant.


In our efforts to achieve a level of service whereby guest expectations are being anticipated and met, we have obviously failed on this occasion. Please accept my unreserved apologies for these shortcomings.


After having evaluated the shortfalls, emphasis is given to the Management in F&B and rest assured that they have been identified for the necessary improvement.


Once again, thank you for your time in communicating the comments. It is feedback of this nature that enables us to continually strive for better service to our valued guests such as yourself.


We hope our shortcomings will not place us in your permanent disfavour and we look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Ungasan in the near future.


Best regards,

Reinhold Johann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
5.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.6 mi away
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
1.5 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 9 in Uluwatu
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,007 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karma Kandara
Karma Kandara
#2 of 11 in Ungasan
1,466 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bulgari Resort Bali
Bulgari Resort Bali
#2 of 9 in Uluwatu
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali

Address: Jl. Melasti | Banjar Kelod, Ungasan 80364, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range: $464 - $936 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the cliffs near to the Uluwatu Temple, Banyan Tree Ungasan brings definitive fine cliff top living to the renowned beach island of Bali. An all-pool villa resort located at the southernmost point of Bali, Banyan Tree Ungasan offers one of the best unparalleled views of the Indian Ocean, complete with a level of comfort and privacy synonymous with the Banyan Tree brand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali Hotel Ungasan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing