We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balivillas.com Estate
Ranked #23 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Ungasan
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful service!”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

My family and I stayed 2x with balivillas.com - once in 2003 and the 2nd time in 2008. Subsequently stayed in 2009 in a villa not managed by balivillas because the former was slightly cheaper - big mistake!! The villa was terrible, and the service was only so-so (we had kind of expected the same level of service that we'd enjoyed under balivillas). In 2010, we stayed at a villa in Ubud but unfortunately balivillas had only Villa Dhyan which was unavailable. That other villa (I've done a review as well - Villa Kanti) was good but service was still not as great as balivillas'. So although the 2 villas we stayed at don't seem to be available on balivillas.com anymore, I'm writing this review basically to recommend the company because my family and I were truly happy with their service.

Their staff were well-trained, particularly the servants in the villas who were attentive without being intrusive. We especially liked their cooks who could whip up Balinese, western as well as Asian dishes, from starters to mains to dessert. And we found that all the staff from the butler to the house-servants to the driver were great with children - I guess generally Balinese are gentle people who genuinely love children.

Room Tip: Woudn't recommend villas at Bukit for those seeking nightlife or entertainment - it's easiy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    17
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
50
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Our group of four absolutely LOVED this villa. The views here are simply stunning. However, if you are not willing to accept living side by side with tropical jungle inhabitants, this is not the place for you.

The common living and dining areas are all open to nature. The sleeping areas are walled for privacy, but the walls are made from woven rattan. The roofing is traditional thatch. You will hear everything that goes on in the jungle during the night. You will also hear scurrying footsteps of who knows what moving along the walls in the darkness (my guess - lizards hunting for bugs). The full mosquito netting will prevent anything from getting into your bed. That being said, this is what gives the villa so much of its charm. During dinner, we thoroughly enjoyed having the different lizards taking their places along the thatch ceiling and the tree frogs taking their places along the half walls and poles. On each of our four nights there, we saw the same critters in their predesignated positions. Never did anyone intrude on our space. After dinner we would relax in the open air living room reminiscing about the days events, enjoying each others' company and spotting the different critters hanging about (again, it was lizards and frogs, as well as the occasional fly-by of a bat). Daylight brings out a whole different set of wildlife. Stunning birds and butterflies are everywhere amongst the gardens and surrounding jungle.

The 3-star rating is due to the somewhat rustic living. You do have modern plumbing and all the living areas are clean and comfortable. As with other villas in the Bali Villas collection, the staff here is wonderful, friendly and they aim to please.

For a truly glorious experience, this villa is a gem.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank warrenandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The good - Nice layout, nice pool, well appointed rooms, friendly staff.

The bad - poor location, cleanliness not great, huge overcharge on groceries, owner's sexual preferences advertised in master bathroom.

A bit more on the overcharging - Bali villas advertise that a cook is provided as part of an all in price - but each meal we had was charged at (New York) restaurant prices when we were only supposed to be paying for the raw materials. We still gave good tips at the end despite the fact that we were gouged on both the food and the outdoor pursuits (where the inclusive driver would take us to locations with only one choice of supplier for each activity).

Our overall experience was negative as a result of the above. And it wasn't cheap by any means.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We wanted peace and quiet, a relaxing holiday without hassle.
This is what we found, though it wasn't a cheap holiday. However
splashing out on the Villa was something we don't regret, and we plan on
going back.

The accomodation was the Water Spa Villa I, which had 2.5 bedrooms (the
study can also be a bedroom, it has it's own bathroom), was more
spacious than we'd thought. The beds were lovely and firm which, along
with the spa treatments every day, gave me the best sleep I've had in a
long time.

My bathroom, which was marble - or something - was perhaps a little
affected by wear, especially in the shower. There were also a few small
areas of wear throughout the villa, just from the climate and use I
would think. However the whole villa was cleaned every day and was
always spotless.

The area was quiet, the staff were great, we had our own private pool,
spa treatments every day, a fantastic cook who made eating out a lot
less interesting, a car & very helpful driver. It was wonderful and
we didn't have any hassles or worries.

Because we booked within 14 days of our stay, and we booked for longer
than 5 days, there was a discount of 20%, which helped us to decide on a
more expensive villa.
Booking at the last minute might not work in the high periods, but April
was fairly quiet, and the occasional rainfall didn't bother us at all.

Because we had a car and driver we were able to explore without any
problems, and actually did more than we'd planned. Our main objective
was to rest and relax, but it was so easy to get out and about. Wayan
our excellent driver also made sure we weren't bothered by harrasing
sacred monkeys at the temples or by shopkeepers when we did venture into
Kuta.

Darn, just talking about it has made me want to go back again....which
we plan to do next year.

Room Tip: We enjoyed having the study as a place to relax in airconditioning, to read, write, watch tv etc. ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talyn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon in May 2011. We stayed in the Water Spa Villa IV. I had read lots of good reviews before hand so I kind of knew what to expect. However, the Balivillas.com Estate definitely exceeded my expectations.

From arrival to the airport, until our departure, every need/want/request was met by the staff. We were initially greeted at the villa (after our driver picked us up from the airport and took us there) by our entire house staff. The butler helped us plan our daily activities as well as gave recommendations on places to see. The chef was GREAT! we had so much good balinese cuisine, it was always better than the food we had out on our own. Overall it cost us about $300 USD for the meals of 2 people over 10 days... this was usually only breakfast and dinner but there were a couple days that they went out and picked up pizza for lunch which is included in my estimate.

The only reason I dinged t he Location is because there are a lot of activities on the Northern side of Bali, and since this is located on the southern side of bali, you can expect 1+ hour drives to these attractions, sometimes 2 hrs. That being said, you have a driver for 10 hours a day at your disposal so its not that big of a deal, you just make a whole day out of it.

Can't forget about the massages... TWO HOURS of free massages every day. It was incredible.

I would recommend Balivillas.com estate to anyone travelling to Bali. You WILL save money when comparing it to a stay in a nice hotel. And, in my opinion, you will receive better accommodations and amenities.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SameThingBrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2011

A fantastic place to stay. Staff are very pleasant and willing to do anything without being obtrusive.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrenblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Great staff very attentive and helpful.
Lovely meals cooked by our chef at the Villa (with the limited resources don't know how he did it!).
Massages included were best I've ever had!
Driver excellant, on hand to take us all anywhere on island, pick up and drop off at airport well organised, and stressfree.
Gardens lovely! Small pool but great to relax in.
The Villa's is not at the beach you have to cross a road and short walk down the side of a Hotel, path flooded when it rained so not good if on foot.
Local pavements at shops near by not good for elderly and small children.
Local Beach and sea had lots of litter which spoilt it as it was otherwise beautiful.
Villa needs some updating, kitchen very dated, mosquito nets on bed had holes in them, shower head in our room needed replacing and soft furnishings need renewing very marked.
We stayed in the room above the kitchen which was far too dark and hot and very steep stone steps to room so no good for elderly or young children.
Ground floor bedrooms were much better, cooler with external showers and toilets.
Bali was much dirtier than I expected too much litter everywhere and facilities at some tourists sites were filthy .

Room Tip: Would only recommend if upgrading carried out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mylifeinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ungasan hotels
2.1 mi away
Karma Kandara
Karma Kandara
#2 of 11 in Ungasan
1,350 reviews
2.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
2.1 mi away
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Pandawa Surf Guest House
#9 of 22 in Ungasan
1 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sun Island Suites
Sun Island Suites
#5 of 41 in Ungasan
39 reviews
0.9 mi away
My Dream Resort and Spa
My Dream Resort and Spa
#10 of 11 in Ungasan
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balivillas.com Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balivillas.com Estate

Property: Balivillas.com Estate
Address: Gang Balangan 1, No. 100X | Jimbaran Hill, Ungasan 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Ungasan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 villas with a total of 24 bedrooms are set in walled tropical gardens with swimming pools offering total privacy. Trained full-time staff includes personal butlers, excellent cooks, maids, house boys, spa therapists, security guards etc providing service around the clock. Daily spa treatments and the use of a modern air-conditioned car with driver (exclude gasoline) for up to 10 hours every day are included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balivillas Com Estate Ungasan
Balivillas.Com Estate Bali/Ungasan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing