We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very Good Place to Visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ju-Ma-Na

Ju-Ma-Na
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $150
Cuisines: European, French, Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Place to Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Good Service and Good Food! View is Great! The staff is very attentive.
I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IK02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Director of Food & Beverage at Ju-Ma-Na, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear IK02,

Greetings from Ju-Ma-Na Restaurant!

Thank you very much for your visit and review.
It will always be a pleasure welcoming you back to Ju-Ma-Na!

With my Best Regards,
Nicolas B.
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    32
    11
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amzing Moonlight Dinner with Live piano music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Absolutely breathtaking view of the moon upon the sea at night and incredible Michelin style food! The staff are attentative and they even have lighted plates at night. Definitely recomended! :-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Director of Food and Beverage at Ju-Ma-Na, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear R C,

Thank you so much for your visit and your enthusiasm about Ju-Ma-Na restaurant.

Happy customers are our biggest reward, and it pleases us to hear that you really enjoyed our moonlight dinner event.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Ju-Ma-Na and would be delighted to be of service to you again in the future.

Best regards,
Nicolas B.
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budgewoi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Experience that we will never forget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I decided after reading reviews on here to surprise my partner by taking him here for his 50th birthday. From the moment the golf buggy picked us up from the lobby I knew we where in for a treat.
First we had a few drinks in the restaurant overlooking the ocean which was beautiful. You cannot see the sunset but it was still stunning.
I had booked the dinner for 2 which is separate from the restaurant it is further down the cliff face & it's just the 2 of you & your own waiter. They set it all up beautifully with lots of candles & the ocean in the background.
The food was Devine I have dined in many good restaurants back home but none off what such fantastic food, service & experience. The staff where so happy & polite. They did everything they could to make our experience a special one. They even bake a special birthday cake which I did not know about.
If you want a romantic dinner in Bali I would highly recommend it

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Waughzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Director of Food & Beverage at Ju-Ma-Na, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Waughzone,

Greetings from Ju-Ma-Na Restaurant!

Thank you very much for your wonderful words and review.
We do our best to satisfy customers and offer them a night of enjoyment in our restaurant.

The "Cliff Edge Dining" concept is made up of food, service and romance.

I am very pleased to hear we fulfilled your expectations,

Best regards,
Nicolas B.
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I recently decided to propose to my girlfriend while we were on a family holiday in Bali. I chose JuMaNa after a recommendation and after checking this website. I was not disappointed. The staff were amazing, super attentive and very very friendly. As they knew my plan, the staff organised a special cake for us and for the band on the night to learn our favourite song and play it during desert. We also recieved glasses of champagne and extra dishes as well as many visits from the chef to see how we were enjoying the meal, all for free. The location and the restaurant are both amazing as is the food and cocktails. The staff even took photos of the big moment for us to cherish (which few couples have) and gave us a copy of the menu which is set into a ceramic placemat which now hangs up in our kitchen. It all added up to make for a very memorable night and one that has been talked about over and over again since. Thank you to the staff of Ju Ma Na and especially Inez who helped to make our big night absolutely perfect. You now have many fans in Perth who have heard our story.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Director of Food & Beverage at Ju-Ma-Na, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Daniel L,

Greetings from Ju-Ma-Na restaurant!

Thank you so much for your recent posting to Trip Advisor. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here Ju-Ma-Na and are especially pleased that our associates exceeded your expectations.

The team work very hard and it is always very rewarding when they are recognised for their high level of service.

With my Best Regards,
Nicolas B.
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine dining in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

One of Bali's most highly acclaimed restaurants, Ju Ma Na is situated in the Banyan Tree Ungasan Resort, sitting on the top of a cliff with boundless ocean view. While it offers modern fusion cuisine, the choices on the menu are not excessive – an important fact to note for better quality control. What better way to start your evening other than having a drink or two while staring out to the ocean, and watching the sunset?

Imam Fayumi, the executive sous chef who recently joined the restaurant, is already serving up highly innovative dishes worthy of a Michelin Star. Imam greeted many of his diners at their tables, ours included. It turned out that he formerly worked in Dubai alongside some of the world’s best known chefs and is knowledgeable and skillful with Asian, European and Middle Eastern dishes. He was also the runner-up to a cooking competition. We were fortunate enough to have sampled ‘next month’s’ (June 2013) menu (see photos). Imam prepared for us an asparagus salad dressed with citrus vanilla vinaigrette, which was simply magical, drawing the maximum of flavor from the very freshest of ingredients. We also treated to the seared foie gras, which was mind-blowing to say the least! The warm, soft, savory foie gras contrasting the cold, sweetness of sorbet and crunchiness of roasted nuts. What a clever dish! For the main course, we chose something from the regular menu. Similar to previous years, we had the ‘surf and turf’. Presentation was also innovative with each component served separately on a 3-tier rack. Both the Wagyu beef and Australian Lobster were most delightful and were sensational. Ju Ma Na has a fairly comprehensive wine list which includes mostly those from French and Italian vintages, but also from Australian, New Zealand and California selections.

This recent trip was the third consecutive year we stayed in Banyan Tree and on each occasion, 50% of our meals were taken in Ju Ma Na. This indicates our confidence we have for this restaurant. (Please also refer to my review in May 2012 ( http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g1219108-d2649744-r132378621-Ju_Ma_Na-Ungasan_Nusa_Dua_Peninsula_Bali.html ). We are surprised that Ju Ma Na is not topping more online restaurants charts. We are not food critics, but as with all things, we are certain that there are many areas in which Ju Ma Na could still improve and we wish them the best.

Pros: High quality of food; décor; courteous staff

Cons: Location – a bit far to get to if you are not hotel guests; open kitchen concept – with your clothes smelling like food if you happen to sit near it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Director of Food & Beverage at Ju-Ma-Na, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear PhilPC,

Greetings from Ju-Ma-Na Restaurant!

Thank you for your wonderful review of Ju-Ma-Na. We are so glad you had great evenings with us here.
Hope to see you again in Bali soon. It will always be a pleasure welcoming you back at Ju-Ma-Na.

Best Regards,
Nicolas B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ju-Ma-Na also viewed

Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Ju-Ma-Na? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing