We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Semara Left Us Speechless, Relaxed, Amazed and Blessed - What an Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ungasan Clifftop Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Semara Left Us Speechless, Relaxed, Amazed and Blessed - What an Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

One amazing holiday that left us speechless, relaxed, amazed and above all blessed to experience such luxury.

Semara gave us the flexibility to: relax in our private villa, indulge in in-house massages, socialise down on the beach at Finns Bar and participate in snorkeling and kayaking. In addition when it suited we could venture out to the neighboring towns of Uluwatu.

The resort facilities immediately available in Villa Nora (one of 7 Villas at Semara) beyond the luxurious villa rooms with outdoor shower included a private pool with view of Indian Ocean, dining and lounge area, bar and entertainment room. The resort also provided facilities including tennis courts, gym, Day Spa and loads more which could be enjoyed by all.

For the team at Semara nothing was too hard, the amazing staff including Febri, Anik and Putra plus the team at Finns were always more than happy to do all that they could to ensure our stay was enjoyable and that our needs were met. In addition the team at Semara catered for our specific dietary requirements and without hesitation provided alternative meal options to meet our needs wherever we were in the resort (Villa Nora, Semara Restaurant, Finns)

This experience at Villa Nora Semara resort far exceeded anything we had ever imagined and to Febri, Anik, Putra and team I say a very heartfelt thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyEliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Eliza

Thank you so much for your lovely review!

We are pleased to hear your stay with us was as amazing as you had imagined and Febri, Anik and Putra were delighted to hear your feedback.

We do strive to provide a 5-star personalised service to each and everyone of our guests so we couldn't be happier that this is what you experienced.

Please join us on facebook to stay up to date with all of our latests news and specials. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Semara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    23
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
56
59
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

From the moment those wooden gates open you think you have just died and gone to heaven!
It is paradise!!! The gardens are immaculate, the staff are more than helpful and will do go out of their way to get you just about anything you need.

We stayed in Villa Nora and we were greeted by 4 butlers that were at your beckon call 24/7.

The rooms are luxurious and the outdoor shower overlooking the ocean was simply something special.

This resort is by far the best I have ever experience and is definitely worth its $3,500 AUD per night price tag.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Andreanna,

Thank you for your lovely review!

We do aim to provide a 5-star service across all aspects of the resort and we couldn't be happier that you experienced this.

We are also delighted to hear you enjoyed our new and improved personalised butler service.

Until next time,
Semara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We love to stay in here. OMG it’s heaven. Btw, we stayed at Villa Jamadara. Perfect view, perfect room, everything in this villa are perfect. Finn's Beach also brilliant!! The staff are lovely! One word for Semara Uluwatu, FLAWLESS!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wickeddevilzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the amazing review!

We are so happy to hear you fully enjoyed all aspects of the Semara Luxury Villa Resort.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,
Semara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Arrived in the villa car service on time and in comfort. The Villas were as though we had gone to heaven. Each Villa has 5 rooms and butler service for what ever you desire. I could keep going on and on but you need to see this to believe it. If luxury is what you are after then Semara if perfect for you. Do your self a favour spend a few days here and enjoy.

Room Tip: You need to book a full Villa of 5 rooms so take family and friends to lower the total cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Ian

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also happy to know you experienced our new personalised butler service.

Join us on facebook to stay up to do with all our latest news and specials. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Semara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We recently got married at Semara luxury villas. Words simply cannot describe how incredibly breathtaking this resort truly is.

Our group occupied four for the villas - Pawana, Tamarama, Jamadara and Chintimani. All guests were in awe of the resort, it is truly world class. Each villas has it's own individual style but are all so elegant, sophisticated and relaxing.

The service received at all villas was faultless. All butlers and villa staff could not do enough to meet our needs. A special mention goes to our butler in Tamarama, Surya, who went that extra mile to make our stay unforgettable.

All guests who attended the wedding were blown away by the cliff top views.

The views, the accommodation, the food and the service were outstanding. I wish I could rate it 5+!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoreyGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Gabriel,

First of all - congratulations!!

We are so happy you chose Semara Luxury Villa Resort as your wedding location. We are even happier to hear yourself and your guests were able to experience our personalised butler service. Surya, was very excited to hear your kind feedback.

We hope to see you back here for your anniversary - you must experience a massage in one our Finn's Beach Club Private Spa Bali - it is to die for!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,
Semara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I must first premise those review by saying I'm not easily impressed. And have stayed in quite a few five star hotels. This however absolutely took my breath away.

My friends and I occuppied two villas. The tamarama and the one next door.

The tamarama is a two stores 1800's Georgian mansion with a swimming pool and 4 external guest houses, followed by an infinity pool overlooking the cliff edge overlooking the ocean.

Our butler tended to our every need and the villa itself is but have been at least 1000 Sqm.

The decor was magnificent full of history and character, there was also a cinema room, downstairs entertainment drinks lounge and tennis courts on site. The day spa was magnificent at only $40 per hour which was expensive by Bali standards but cheap by Australian standards.

The villa next door was a Japanese themed modern villa. It was laced with a large coy pond throughout the equally large property with an open family room and bar overlooking what would be one of the most magnificent ocean outlooks I have ever seen. An infinity on the cliff edge with a dining area made it the perfect property to simply take in the sunrise.

I could go on hours but suffice it to say although it was expensive it has definitely taken luxury accommodation to another level.

I would love to return.

My only recommendation is to go with a large group the villas are big that it would definitely be less fun unless you were with a group of friends.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Benjamin,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.

We endeavour to provide an unforgettable and personalised service to each and everyone of our customers and we couldn't be happier you experienced this with us!

Great to hear you enjoyed our Body Temple Spa treatments. Our Themae products - direct from France are amazing.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Semara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

just spent 7 days in Villa Nora at Semara Luxury Villa Resort in Uluwatu. Location is an incredible cliff top perch. General Manager of the resort was A-class and the senior butler Anik was amazing. All of the resort staff were close to perfection. Enormous range of spa treatments and massages available in your own villa or at the resort base. Truly a spectacular place to relax. World class.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SozoHewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review!

Our staff, along with Janick (GM) and Anik were very happy to hear your feedback. We indeed strive to provide the highest level of customer service at all times, across all areas of our resort.

We are also glad you enjoyed our Body Temple Spa treatments. Next time you must try a massage in our Finn's Beach Club Private Spa Bale - the views and sounds of the ocean are second to none.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Semara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
0.9 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
5.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The edge
The edge
#1 of 9 in Pecatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
3.9 mi away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#4 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#6 of 52 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ungasan Clifftop Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ungasan Clifftop Resort

Property: The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Address: Jl Pantai Selatan Gau | Banjar Wijaya Kusuma, Ungasan 80362, Indonesia (Formerly Semara Luxury Villa Resort)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ungasan Clifftop Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort is located on the Bukit Peninsula overlooking the Indian Ocean at Bali's southern most point. Unwind in the discreet luxury of your own private villa or mingle with the crowd down at Sundays, our own private and exclusive beach club featuring one of Bali's best beaches. As the base for your stay, we'll personally guide you through Bali's highlights, from the vibrant dining and nightlife options, to the culture and timeless traditions. Stay and unwind or stay and play. Let us make your stay magical with Ungasan's service from the heart. If you're looking to escape, unwind or even dreaming of the perfect Bali wedding location, let us indulge you in an experience you'll never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ungasan Clifftop Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing