We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were left speechless after a 3 night stay here. I couldn't comprehend a 6-star rating for a resort until we saw and experienced this place. We loved the privacy of each room within the villa. Unfortunately due to pre-wedding duties we didn't have a chance to try the outside shower. Not only are the views of the beach to die for, each self-contained villa has it's own infinity pool, generous living areas and butler. The staff were very helpful and you often didn't notice the butler coming in and out to tidy the room. I was worried about mosquitos after being bitten the other 2 nights in Bali (Nusa Dua) but there was not one mosquito in sight due to being on the coast. The breakfast buffet was very satisfying and the complimentary massage a plus!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PurpleKFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, General Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for the great feedback you gave our fantastic resort. The views are truly breathtaking and the perfect backdrop for any wedding, birthday or get away.

Our Butler team are such a great asset to our resort so I shall pass on your comments which they will be pleased to hear.

We do regular mosquito fogging to ensure that there are as few as possible in the resort so our guets are as comfortable as possible during their stay here.

So glad you enjoyed your complimentary massage. The spa has fantastic views of the ocean and we also offer our Spa services in the privacy of your own villa should guests prefer that.

As for the outside shower, I guess you will have to come back and visit us again to experience that!

Many thanks and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Bali.

Warm Regards
Mandy McDermid – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    23
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
66
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We checked into Jamadara Villa which was a 5 bedroom villa within Semara villa complex. We had an opportunity to view the other villas as we were with some friends who were there to check out Semara as a wedding destination. They were all pretty amazing. I liked Santai Sorga the least. And felt Jamadara was one of the nicer ones. If you are coming with a large group of say 20 people go for their connecting villas Cinta Mani and Nora.

Service - For those who have checked out the prices at Semara you would expect a top notch service. However because it's not run by a large hotel brand it does not live up to such standards. Butlers and villa in house chef were clueless at very basic requests. For an example, we requested for soft boiled eggs for breakfast and after numerous attempts from overcooked to raw eggs they could not even get that right. French toast was dismal may I add. So those wishing to have amazing in house villa food I would recommend getting a live in chef from outside. I hear they are pretty affordable. The changeover of butler shift from morning to evening was also terrible. WE had to repeat our next day's request twice, once to the morning butler and once more to the evening butler. ANd for such a villa you would expect a turn down service every evening.

Maintenance & Upkeep - We took the master bedroom at jama dara, fans were not working, closet lights were not working, air condition was not working and leaking as well. Kitchen equipments needs some cleaning, pots and pans were not clean, oven was infested with ants, kettle needs some serious de-scaling done to them.

Food at hotel's restaurants - Don't bother, with the price you are paying and the quality you are getting, hire a local driver and go out for food. It might be worth grabbing a smoothie or a bintang and watching the sunset at Finn's beach club. You can check out trattoria uluwatu for some good italian food or head to alila villas for jap or local cuisine.

Outside guests at Finn's Beach club - I understand that the Semara Villa would like to fill up the beach restaurant by allowing guests from outside the villa to pay a small fee to relax at their beach. That is fine with me, but at least have a designated beach area with deck chairs for your in house guest with "better" attention and service. Trust me by midday the beach will be packed. It was annoying to be not able to find a deck chair to relax in and on top of that because of the sheer volume of outsiders on the beach service was dismal. It would not be difficult to have a couple of designated service crews look after your in house guests.

Oh yes and don't bother with their spa treatments it was terrible. If you were to go for it, go for the foot reflexology. For body massage head to jari menari at Nusa Dua, it's about 40 mins away by cab. It's worth the trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnappyFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, General Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our resort. We take all feedback very seriously and strive to always improve our services to make sure our guests will return time and again. We have a very large maintenance team so I am very concerned that you felt there were downfall in the maintenance in Jamadara. I will be sure to double check on all your points to make sure this does not happen in the future.
I am sorry you felt the service at Finns was not up to standard. We generally get very good feedback on both the food there which we pride ourselves on and the service of our staff. Again, I shall look into this.

As per the spa we have just employed a fantasic new Sap manager so our spa services are getting better and better.

We do hope you will return to Semara and Finns beach club again in the future.

Warm Regards and many thanks

Mandy McDermid – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We went to Semara in September for a friends wedding. They booked out almost the whole resort. It was absolutely amazing.

We stayed in the second group of villas from the lobby.
Our private villa was the second one on the left when walking through the entrance.
The room was nicely decorated with a modern / balinese theme. The garden and outdoor shower setting was beautiful.

I found the bed a little hard and the pillows too soft, but that is a personal thing and does not reflect the quality of the room.

Only a few small issues with the room. It did not have a safe. I was told it was broken and removed waiting on replacement. There is no fridge in the room. We could have used the fridge to store drinks, however they tend to be consumed much faster when left in a communal environment.

The view and infinity pool shared was stunning and the butler Soutar worked very hard to keep us all with a drink in hand at al times.

The beachfront restaurant Finns is nice and served good food. No complaints from anyone that was eating there and nobody got sick while staying at the resort.

There is a nice buffet breakfast, however the egg station is just soooooo slow. If it is busy you can expect a 10 minute wait if you want freshly cooked eggs. If you cant wait the poached eggs are done quickly.

We had a great time and the food and drinks with in the resort were very well priced. About $4.50 for a beer and $10 for a cocktail.

Stunning location and an amazing wedding experience for all who attended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle_and_Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, General Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Chantelle and Owen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on our resort. The Villa you stayed in was Pawana. Pawana is a fantastic villa for a wedding ceremony with the long bougainvillea covered walkway that all brides love to use as their entrance.

I do apologize for the inconvienence of no in room safe. This has already been repaired and replaced. Regarding the fridge, we do have a fridge in the kitchen for the guests personal use, most guests are happy with this as they are usually families or groups of friends. Thank you for the suggestion of having small bar fridges also available.
I will pass your compliments on to our Butler who will be thrilled to have such great feedback. They really work very hard to make sure all of your needs are met.

Apologies that you felt you had to wait for the eggs, we believe it is important to cook eggs fresh and not as a buffet item. I will pass your comment onto our chef so we can focus on service in the egg station..

We are so glad you had the time to enjoy our fantastic Finns Beach Club. Finns it truly a piece of paradise with its crystal clear waters and great food. We hope you will come back for a visit next time you are in Bali!

Again, many thanks for all your comments.

Warmest Regards

Mandy McDermid – General manger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, null, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Jamadara for one night, as our niece had her wedding in Uluwatu area and provided this accomodation for the family members.

Truly love the view, it is incredible, and if i have to describe in one sentence, i would say that it is paradise on earth :) well maybe some will think that i am exagerrating , but pls come and you will know what i mean :)


For the rooms ( if i am not mistaken, it called Jamadara) , the Master Bedroom is fantastic. But we stayed in different room, it is still ok, but no TV inside the room. We have a beatiful pool with the Ocean view. This is the perfect place for having your honeymoon, or to have a dream wedding :)

For the breakfast, it is good but not so special. The staffs- I dont find many staffs when i am around. So i had to find everything by self, such as went to the kitchen area for borrowing spoons for my daughter when she wanted to eat her cake in the room.

Overall, this is a very wonderful staying experince. Well, this is very pricey villa, but i really hope to stay here again one day, maybe the next year when i am celebrating our 10years wedding anniversary :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meilanny_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Meilanny K,

thanks for your review. With each villa a butler is allocated 8 hours daily. Of course we want the butlers to be attentive but yet many guests do enjoy the privacy of our villas and prefer to not have a butler always in full view. Needless your point will be mentioned during our next training session. We have recently made some improvements to our breakfast menu based on guest feedback. TV’s are not in each bedroom but are of course available in the living and media rooms. Most guests are happy with this as they stay at Semara to experience the villa and the comprehensive resorts facilities including the spectacular Finns Beach Club. We do appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you for your wedding anniversary.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Ten of us shared a villa for a friend's wedding over the weekend of the 3rd - 6th October 2013. First impressions were fantastic, but like Salt on the Beach in North Freo it promises so much and doesn't deliver.

Our rooms were crawling with ants and other small biting insects, no fridge in the room to keep the water cool and the only tv's were in the common rooms. The Butler did his best to play hide and seek every time we needed assistance.

The food selection was tasteless and expensive. The coffee $11 AUD for a latte? They should do themselves a favour and poach the chefs, barista, food, coffee and staff from the Sea Circus in Seminyak.....

Overall a great location that lacks the basics to keep people coming back. There are better spots out there that won't require you to spend $4000 AUD per couple for three nights.

Room Tip: Avoid the Semara all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MontrealStResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, General Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write feedback on our resort. We are so sorry that you found our facilities insufficient and felt that the Butler was not around when you required him. We pride ourselves on our attentive Butlers so were very surprised to hear your feedback, we will be sure to speak with him regarding this. I am sorry that you didn’t mention your dissatisfaction during your stay so that we may have been able to change butlers or rectify the problems while you were still here.

Each Villa has pest control on a daily basis in each room but will ask the pest control to look into your complaint. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Once again, such a pity you did not say anything while you were onsite allowing us to solve the problem right away.

In regards the price of our coffee, a latte here is Rp50,000++ (approximately US$6)

As per our website the rates are US$2244++ per 5 bedroom villa per night which works out to US$1,629 per couple sharing for 3 nights inclusive of tax and service.

In regards to your comment on the staff from Sea Circus, I have to agree that they are wonderful and great friends of ours. We wouldn’t dream of stealing their staff however, will refresh our staff on the necessary training to ensure that we meet our guests expectations.

I offer you our sincerest apologies regarding your stay and take your feedback very seriously. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Bali.

Warmest Regards

Mandy McDermid – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

WOW - wow wow.

Stunning resort that we were lucky to stay at for my brothers wedding last week. The whole resort was booked out so we got to see most of the different villas and every one has something unique and stunning. We stayed in Nora and it was the more modern minimalist of the villas with a amazing infinity pool and lovely gazebo right on the cliff edge.

The resort staff were very helpful & went well out of their way to meet our requests (including a last minute drive to Seminyak and back to pick up some concert tickets!) not to mention the nail polish remover...

Finns beach club was stunning as well & the Day Spa AMAZING - THAT view is what dreams are made of.

I will be back (when I win lotto).... Or I'm lucky enough to go to another wedding :)

Oh my only negative is that the restaurant isn't designed to cater for everyone at the same time for breakfast (in case anyone is planning on booking it out and having a group breakfast as food ran out and there wasn't enough tables & queue for eggs) - but with a view like that I am happy to sit around waiting for eggs!

Room Tip: Each villa is unique & stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myboyfriendsanerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, General Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for writing this review on our resort. So glad you had a great time at R & J’s wedding. Nora is a great villa and offers all the guests the utmost privacy so is great for sharing. We pride ourselves on the attentiveness of our staff in the villas so I am happy to hear that they helped out to make your stay special.

Your note regarding the spa is appreciated, next time you will have to come and try out our Spa Bales at Finns Beach Club. Heavenly!

I do apologise about the delay with your breakfast, we have looked into this and have changed the service style so as to be able to accommodate larger groups at ease.

Hope to see you again when you win the lotto!!

Warmest Regards

Mandy McDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The beauty of this hotel is beyond description. I saw the pictures on its website and wondered whether they look the same in reality (as you know, many hotels do not look so beautiful as they appear on pictures). But this one is a typical exception!!!!!

Once you stepped in, your eyes savor a divinely designed and perfectly maintained garden scattered by sublime houses (each of which has a vast pool standing on the top of the cliff, offering a breathtaking 360 degrees view of the Indian Ocean, Wow).

The public pool is in a curved design and looks so unbelievably pretty. Much prettier than on pictures!

The gym is smartly located in the midst of the cliff, offering a soul-soothing view in the course of your cardio and weights training, and the fragrance they used in here is a vast happy surprise. I love the fragrance so much.

The biggest highlight is the beach down under the cliff. I honestly the clearest water in Bali in RIGHT HERE!!! The ocean water near the shore is as crystal clear as that I saw in Maldives this June. And the beach here is so clean and not crowded at all. So you have an unobstructed panoramic ocean view all to yourself. The Finn’s Club, the unforgettably pretty bar & restaurant of this wonderful hotel on the picture-perfect beach, is accompanied by some thatched huts a bit higher on the hillside. I did a one hour long massage under one of the huts. The massage lady is named Tyra who did a wonderful job in Balinese massage. The view, the finger skills, the wind, the beach, the hut, the music wafting over from the restaurant, the sunshine, and the select guests of better quality (mostly white people, not so many Asians) who are quietly enjoying themselves by reading books on the beach chairs, all worked together to make the whole massage experience A Life-time Highlight!!!

Miss Linda, a comely Balinese lady receptionist, was so kind in showing my around some of their houses, each of which definitely stunned me by its ingenious design and captivating ocean view.

There are two tennis courts as well, much to my liking.

A gorgeous place to stay, when you visit Bali.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, General Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Duncan J,

Wow! Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a detailed comment on our stunning resort. It sounds like you really made the most of your stay here. There are 7 x 5 Bedroom Villas available, all with a different design so you can easily find one that suits your taste and groups requirements. There are also our Guest Suites that are perfect for couples.

I will pass your comments on to our fantastic Spa Therapists who will be delighted to have such good feedback. We also have massage beds in all the villas so next time you must try having a treatment in the comfort of your villa.

Thanks for your comments regarding Finns, it truly is a piece of paradise.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Please check your email for our past guest offers !

Warm Regards and many thanks

Mandy McDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
0.9 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
1.8 mi away
The edge
The edge
#1 of 10 in Pecatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#4 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
5.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.2 mi away
Karma Kandara
Karma Kandara
#2 of 11 in Ungasan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ungasan Clifftop Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ungasan Clifftop Resort

Property: The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Address: Jl Pantai Selatan Gau | Banjar Wijaya Kusuma, Ungasan 80362, Indonesia (Formerly Semara Luxury Villa Resort)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ungasan Clifftop Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort is located on the magical Bukit Peninsula. Only at a location like this, can we truly create something unique for every guest to experience. From the seclusion of our breathtaking landscape to the cultural sights and delights of Bali, we believe in making luxury simple and rewarding. Relax in secluded clifftop luxury at The Ungasan. Choose from our collection of 7 architecturally designed Bali Villas offering exclusively private accommodation and dedicated personal service. Let us create an incredible family or group getaway for you and your friends. Located within Villa Chintamani and Villa Nora, our collection of premium one bedroom villas delivers an intimate escape in an exclusive environment. Retreat to your own private villa or relax with other guests, it’s up to you. Venture down to the stunning stretch of white sandy beach, where our private Beach Club bar and restaurant offers a memorable ocean-front experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ungasan Clifftop Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing