We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic cliff-top villas with private beach access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

All seven villas, each with its own architectural design, sit side-by-side at the edge of the cliff overlooking the ocean. We rented a suite in Villa Chintamani but had the villa pretty much for our own use since there was nobody else at this villa during this season. Our suite was spacious, comfortable, nicely decorated. While it came with a plunge pool, it was just too small for our use -- would have preferred a jacuzzi pool instead. Nonetheless, we spent most of our time at the private Finns Beach and the common pool area in the villa. Finns Beach offers great fine sand beach to walk on, crashing waves in the morning to enjoy, great snorkeling fun in the afternoon when the tide recedes and stunning sunset viewing in the evening. Our 9-year old son thoroughly enjoyed the beach when tiny crabs and hermit crabs start to crawl all over the beach when rocks and seaweeds were exposed during low tide. The beach club provided snorkeling gears for us to explore marine life in the calm afternoon waters too. Access to Finns Beach was free for resort guests via an inclinator from the cliff-top.

I would have given this resort an "Excellent" rating if not for the limited dinning options (only one restaurant), 'so-so' taste of food (even for the poolside BBQ that we ordered) and less than coordinated butler service (our breakfast instructions were not correctly executed as the evening butler did not brief the morning butler properly; our check-out with the butler also took an awfully long time - 30min as he had to run between the reception and or villa a few times).

Room Tip: Not all suites have ocean views -- probably only 2 suites in each villa have such views.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YSLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear YSLin,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I was glad to read that you were really impressed with Chintamani villa. The plunge pool was designed to enjoy a quick dip whilst the larger pool within the villa is a better option to spend a few hours. By choosing this room category you have plenty of choices including Finns Beach Club.

However, I do apologies that your stay wasn’t perfect. It is disappointing to see that service from our butler didn't meet your expectations. We do work hard on making sure all guests are well maintained to a high standard. I’ll be sure to raise this review in the general meeting that we have to improve our service for all guests. I will also mention the issues that you raised about the food to our Executive Chef and we’ll discuss if we need to be a bit more creative with our food.

Thanks for choosing to stay at Semara Luxury Resorts and I hope that you will come back sometime and give us a chance to turn the 4 star review into a 5 star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 229 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We came here for a day trip and bought some friends here as they had never been to Uluwatu or Ungasan before. We stayed in a resort down the road last time which was beautiful but I heard fantastic things about the Semara so I thought we might as well check this place out! Omg!! So so beautiful!! My friends and their two children had never seen any thing like it before and this became the highlight of their trip to Bali!! Not only is the place gorgeous and totally breathtaking but, now as ritzy and expensive as the Semara is, I have to thank the staff so much for being so good to us that day and they are not pretentious in any way. We have been to places before as day guests and have had different treatment compared to house guests but the staff at Semara were great! As a day guest you must pay an entry fee of about 150000Rph ( sorry if that's wrong!) but then can use this as a credit towards your food & beverage, which is another thing. I wouldn't come here and not eat as the food, wow wow wow!! Is and was so divine!! We loved it!!!! Omg!!!! Everything from the swim in the beautiful pool, to the ride down with the cable car, and just the view going down and then, Finns!! Wow, you guys have a big winner there in that little secluded beach there! A peace of paradise!! My friends were in heaven! And so were we!! There was a wait to go down to Finns for lunch but the staff were so good and let us have a swim first ( as it was so hot) and then called us to go down to Finns when it was available and I tell you what! It was well worth it! We just wished we could stay there in the Villas! They just look so gorgeous!! If you are lucky enough do it!! You will be in heaven!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lusun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Lusun,

Thank you for making the effort to write and post a detailed review of your day trip to Semara Luxury Resorts, Uluwatu. My team and I appreciated reading your comments about our service and we’re all happy to read about the wonderful time that you had and glad to know that you and your friends enjoyed your time with us and able to swim in our infinity pool too. I’ve also shown this review to the kitchen staff and they are happy with the feedback. The entrance fee is actually Rp 250,000 per person, but as you said the full amount is credited back towards your food & beverage purchase.

Thank you for the 5 star reviews and if you find yourself back in Bali sometime in the future we would love to have you back and hopefully you would have a chance to experience a night of stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Having traveled the world extensively, I thought we had just about seen it all. The Semara took amazing to a new level. The location, ambiance, service, views, and overall wow factor were off the charts. Finns is a great place to hang out and enjoy meals. Swimming in the pools and the ocean were the best one could hope for.

My wife and I will try to return soon and this time with family members.

This is the best place ever unless one expects lots of night life and a party atmosphere. It is quiet, remote, and very soothing for the body and the soul.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gordonG999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear GordonG999,

It was a great pleasure to meet you both and we are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your recent visit to Semara Luxury Villa Resort and Finns Beach Club. Delighted to read that you enjoyed all the additionalfacilities we offer.We have one of the few tennis courts in the area, a well equipped gym, spa and putting green along with our gorgeous Finns Beach Club.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us and all TripAdvisor readers. We do hope to welcome you and your family back again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This beautiful villa has everything you could wish for (and more) – a breathtaking view of the ocean, well designed rooms with charming four poster beds, 2 showers in each bathroom (one indoor and one outside!!), 2 swimming pools, wonderful staff and a brilliant chef. I simply can't fault this place.
After staying in hectic (and dirty) Smeinyak and Kuta it was wonderful to arrive somewhere peaceful, beautiful and well-maintained. As well as having 2 private pools at the villa there is also a pool at the complex's restaurant as well as access down to the private beach where there is another lovely restaurant. There is also a gym, tennis courts and masseuses who can come to your villa (unlike some other resorts the massages offered here are at local prices – only $10 for an hour's massage!). We're already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: If you stay in Villa Tamarama nab one of the 2 sleeping houses at the front for breathtaking views f...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0ey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear JOey3,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience at Semara Luxury Villa Resort on TripAdvisor.

Lovely to read that overall your stay was a memorable one and that you got the chance to experience almost everything we have on offer and definitely a great reason to come back and enjoy again.

Your lovely feedback has been passed onto the team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is an amazing property! It has spectacular views, being on a small cliff. It is well suited for family reunions and celebrations because there are self contained units/villas with a pool, rooms, lawn, kitchen staff, common living area etc. the pools are all infinity pools almost atbthe edge of the cliff, which makes it a unique experience! The beach is accessed by a combination of steep steps and a gondola like device. There is a cafe and bar (called Finns) down at the beach that also rents snorkels and kayaks. The beach is more or less private so is cleaner and nicer than any of the other beaches in Seminyak etc. However, if you prefer the activity and energy of cities, this is not the place for you. We have been to Bali before and we think Seminyak is the best area if you want a good beach (with decent waves) and good restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Although Semara villas in Uluwattu is gorgeous (on a cliff, great views, uncrowded beach) it can be isolated since it is a 35-45 minute drive to shopping, restaurants etc. It's perfect if you have friends and family so you provide your own party and energy every night!

Room Tip: Ask for a room from where you can see the ocean. Not all rooms have that feature.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InformedDecision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear InformedDecision,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an informative comment. I am so glad you enjoyed taking in the breath taking vistas of Semara and appreciated what a unique experience we provide here. Every comment is greatly appreciated and it’s these things that make our work here at Semara so worthwhile.
We have special rates available for our villas and suite rooms until the end of March if you are able to come back and stay.

Mandy McDermid General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We recently stayed in Villa Jamadara. This was by far the best villa i have ever stayed at. The service was fantastic. The views were amazing and the facilities were exquisite. The accomodation is perfect if you want to be out of the busy tourist areas and want a relaxing holiday with no hassles. The staff at semara are so friendly and so happy at all times. We noticed a beach wedding while we were there which looked absolutely amazing, and wished that we had known about this resort when we got married. I recommend Semara Uluwatu highly!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_N25255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in Villa Ambar for 3 nights for a family wedding. Other wedding guests and family stayed in the adjoining villas (Pawana and Tamarama) and we spent time in all three. The service was amazing - thank you Dama and Ivan (butlers) for making our stay so memorable and enjoyable and for your attention to detail. Nothing was ever too much trouble.
The location is unforgettable and the property really has been designed and built to maximize the views over the Indian Ocean. The beds and pillows were the most comfortable we have ever slept on. We had an outdoor shower and an outdoor bathtub in a private courtyard. Loved the turn-down service each night and the romantic drapes around the four poster bed (also practical for keeping the mosquitos out). We had cocktails and dinner down at Finn's Beach Club on our last night - and although it is very expensive - it was a magical setting. Our children loved the adventure of getting up and down the cliff in the inclinator and during the day enjoyed searching for hermit crabs along the unspoilt beach.We had a visit from a large group of monkeys one morning which the children also found highly entertaining (and slightly freaky!) although upon arrival we were instructed to close all of our doors and not to leave anything out as the monkeys steal it! I would highly recommend this place, it is unbelievable!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPark18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
0.9 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 9 in Uluwatu
1,027 reviews
5.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The edge
The edge
#1 of 11 in Pecatu
155 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#6 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karma Kandara
Karma Kandara
#2 of 11 in Ungasan
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ungasan Clifftop Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ungasan Clifftop Resort

Address: Jl Pantai Selatan Gau | Banjar Wijaya Kusuma, Ungasan 80362, Indonesia (Formerly Semara Luxury Villa Resort)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range: $656 - $3,569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ungasan Clifftop Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort is located on the magical Bukit Peninsula. Only at a location like this, can we truly create something unique for every guest to experience. From the seclusion of our breathtaking landscape to the cultural sights and delights of Bali, we believe in making luxury simple and rewarding. Relax in secluded clifftop luxury at The Ungasan. Choose from our collection of 7 architecturally designed Bali Villas offering exclusively private accommodation and dedicated personal service. Let us create an incredible family or group getaway for you and your friends. Located within Villa Chintamani and Villa Nora, our collection of premium one bedroom villas delivers an intimate escape in an exclusive environment. Retreat to your own private villa or relax with other guests, it’s up to you. Venture down to the stunning stretch of white sandy beach, where our private Beach Club bar and restaurant offers a memorable ocean-front experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ungasan Clifftop Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing