We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place for Exquisite solitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Place for Exquisite solitude”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed @ Semara uluwatu during Nyepi and found our actual villa suite decent with its own features. But unfortunate event made us went straight to the top due to unfavourable guests that flocked all over common areas and made our stay such a turn-off. A villa manager made a pleasant offer for us to stay at a heaven suite with ocean view. It was stunningly breathtaking in every moments of our stay. Cleanliness and service are still maintained at its class and we highly recommend Semara as one of your top choice of Luxurious villa.

To improve: Balcony keys were not provided and was locked everytime we left the villa and made it uneasy for access. Finns beach wasn't at its best conditions due to corals scattered around during the season and wasn't able to swim in sea. We were however given a set of dodgy snorkeling tools for free usage. We're sure the management can provide a much better equipment. The butler in charge kept on changing which made us confused who were supposed to mend our villa for rest of the stay.

Room Tip: Villa Tamarama - 210 degrees of ocean view cliffs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AppleMuffin710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    23
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
66
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed in the Semara Uluwatu for the first three nights of our honeymoon. Te resort was absolutely beautiful and we stayed in Villa 1 in Chintamani. It wa the perfect for a couple with a plunge pool (though a very small one). However as our area was not full we basically had the whole ocean view pool to ourselves. The staff were amazing and a perect start to our honeymoon. The beach club was also an amazing highlight and taking the cable car down to the beach was amazing. It was a perfect relaxing start before we moved to the busier vibe of Seminyak.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was like a slice of heaven! We stayed in an ocean view villa with private pool, and it was worth it in every sense. Most relaxing and spoilt holiday with friendly staff and beautiful surroundings. Loved it and would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrsulaStroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed at the wonderful Villa Nora at the Semara Luxury Villa Resort in Uluwatu. WOW! The villa itself (consisting of 5 luxurious double suites, large dining area, lounge, bar, infinity pool, cinema room and meditation platform) is very sophisticated and modern indeed. The views of the Indian ocean are breathtaking and the enormous grounds of the villa are so beautifully looked after. We had our very own chef, butler and cleaning staff who made sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. With easy access to the gym, tennis courts, spa and Finns beach club, we found it very difficult to ever want to leave! I cannot fault Villa Nora - get me back there immediately!!!

Room Tip: Villa Nora is ideal for large groups of friends and family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XD0nnaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Wow, what a beautifully laid out resort, great facilities and amazing staff. Staff are very welcoming and accommodating. They all do have a can do attitude and always provide an extra mile service with always a smile on their face. Anyone staying at Semara Uluwatu, would want to stay there for good. My trip was a short one but was very well looked after. Very clean and well kept resort, inside and outside. They have a great team of staff with a gem like beautiful resort and anyone who wants to holiday there, shouldn't think twice but go for it. You get more than value for money and best R&R.

Room Tip: All suites and villas are spacious and great and have best location. I had a look at all room types...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gyan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed at Semara Luxury Villa Resort with family and friends. These villa's are on enormous private blocks of land with infinity pools on the cliff's edge with honestly the most AMAZING views out to the horizon. The staff are brilliant with not only seeing to our needs but the needs of all our little troops running around. Within the villa's we all had our own private accommodation equipped with outdoor area's, large luxury bedrooms and over sized bathrooms - Our own little oasis. We stayed in Santai Sorga' which offers vast open spaces and multiple living areas enabling us to all do our own thing if we chose too. The kids enjoyed their own private cinema, pool and the resorts putting green and tennis courts while the wife's enjoyed the spa. We spent most afternoons at Finns beach club which had a fantastic lunch menu and beautiful white sandy beach to relax and unwind on the beach bean bags.
If your looking for a luxury holiday with a group of friends or family this is a perfect location.

Room Tip: All Villa's face the ocean with similar views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrissyAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I have just returned from an amazing holiday with friends staying at semara luxury villa - villa Nora. The villa was amazing, and the views were too good for words. The staff there were all so lovely and always wanting to help, and we had no dramas. The chefs cooked us whatever we wanted and always with a smile. I loved the tranquil sound of the infinity pool, and the outdoor shower in each bedroom. I can't wait to return to villa Nora again one day soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
0.9 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
1.8 mi away
The edge
The edge
#1 of 10 in Pecatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#4 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
5.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.2 mi away
Karma Kandara
Karma Kandara
#2 of 11 in Ungasan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ungasan Clifftop Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ungasan Clifftop Resort

Property: The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Address: Jl Pantai Selatan Gau | Banjar Wijaya Kusuma, Ungasan 80362, Indonesia (Formerly Semara Luxury Villa Resort)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ungasan Clifftop Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort is located on the magical Bukit Peninsula. Only at a location like this, can we truly create something unique for every guest to experience. From the seclusion of our breathtaking landscape to the cultural sights and delights of Bali, we believe in making luxury simple and rewarding. Relax in secluded clifftop luxury at The Ungasan. Choose from our collection of 7 architecturally designed Bali Villas offering exclusively private accommodation and dedicated personal service. Let us create an incredible family or group getaway for you and your friends. Located within Villa Chintamani and Villa Nora, our collection of premium one bedroom villas delivers an intimate escape in an exclusive environment. Retreat to your own private villa or relax with other guests, it’s up to you. Venture down to the stunning stretch of white sandy beach, where our private Beach Club bar and restaurant offers a memorable ocean-front experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ungasan Clifftop Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing