We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure relaxation and paradise”
Review of Sundays Beach Club

Sundays Beach Club
Ranked #4 of 46 Restaurants in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: On this stunning stretch of white sandy beach, every day is Sunday... and Sundays Beach Club offers a memorable experience like no other. Relax to the cool tunes and enjoy friendly Balinese service. Take out a kayak or stand up paddle board at low tide. Swim or snorkel in the crystal clear lagoon. Crafted by acclaimed Australian chef James Viles, our Sundays Beach Club menu uses only the finest local ingredients. We support and work closely with our local growers and farmers. Start the day early with our refreshing new beach breakfast menu featuring kick start breaky bowls, chilled poke bowls, breakfast buns and breakfast pizzas. Throughout the day enjoy light snacks, salads, gourmet burgers, delicious pizzas from our wood fired stone oven or something from our charcoal grill. Our circular bar gives every seat a sea view. Enjoy a fresh juice or indulge in one of our signature cocktails and classic mixes.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We sadly discovered Finns on our last full day. The place is paradise. Situated in Uluwatu at the Semara resort. You pay your entrance take the trolley car down an amazing cliff ride to the most pristine beach. There are loungers and umbrellas provided with towels, free snorkelling, canoes, stand up paddle boards. The water is crystal clear and gorgeous for swimming. There is beachside service offering an array of foods and there is peace and quiet-a welcome retreat after staying in noisy Legian.
We had an absolute ball, especially the novelty of beers and fries on the beach.
I would definitely go again and advise anyone else considering to do it. Amazing!

Thank Marewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Sundays Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Marewa,

Greeting from Finns Beach Club...

Glad you found Finns on your last day. We agree a day at Finns should be on everyone’s ‘ must do “ list during their Bali holiday.
An Adult Beach Pass is Rp 150,000 which includes a Rp 150,000 Food and Beverage Credit, Inclinator, Watersports such as Stand Up Paddle, Kayaks and Snorkelling Equipment, Sunbeds, Towel and Free Wifi so you can instantly upload all your pics ! Children under 12 years are free.
As you mentioned Finns is a full service venue, which means you can relax on your sunbed and order food and drinks all day !
Entrance after 6pm is Free and we also offer a complimentary pick up service from Nusa Dua, Uluwatu and Jimabaran areas from 5.30pm.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,306 - 1,310 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

Very nice place, extremely clean beach and breathtaking views. First you arrive to the Bar with the infinite swimming pool. The bar is extremely nice and its your first view of the place, the staff is very friendly and nice.

Once you head down you should pay a 250 k fee per person to go down with a credit of 150k down in the restaurant. The beach is astonishing, the bar is very nice and sunbeds and umbrellas are free of charge with no time limit. The food is overpriced and portions are small but the taste is nice. Once again the staff was super nice and always taking care of us.

I really loved the beach and its a fantastic break from Kuta, Seminyak and overcrowded popular beaches in Bali.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Sundays Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Jose,

Warmest greeting from Finns Beach Club...

Thank you for your review. We consider ourselves very lucky to have 180 metres of white sandy swimmable beach.

Thanks also for mentioning the Selatan Restaurant and swimming pool area. As we are now coming into high season this area will be offered to guests complimentary during days when Finns is at maximum capacity.
The tip for the high season will be to come early and check the tide conditions…….

The food and drinks at Finns are not Kuta or Legian prices but definitely reasonably priced considering Finns is on a private beach, offers complete facilities (toilets, showers, sunbeds, umbrellas etc) and full service. The cost of transporting food to Finns is also significantly higher given it’s unique location.

Thanks for visiting.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This venue is really something special. With many luxury resorts along this beautiful stretch of Bali, Finn's stands out.

Upon entry to the Semara, the gardens and buildings are impressive, the open air elevator down to the Beach Club allows a beautiful view of the cliffs and perfect clear ocean.

Staff are attentive, without being intrusive. They look great and smile - a really nice team to help you spend a great afternoon. In particular the Manager, Wirya, was helful and considerate.

A simple lunch of Nasi Goreng and Mei Goreng was sensational, as was the wine (local, Plaga). Not as expensive as one might expect and all served with beautiful presentation and care from the staff.

The beach bean bags and sun lounges were comfortable with umbrellas for shade. The water crystal clear and just divine to swim in.

Excellent music and sound system which created a cool atmosphere...While not too loud you could still hear the music while in the water.

Can't wait for another Sunday afternoon at Finn's soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simone1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Sundays Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Simone1000,

Warmest greeting from Finns Beach Club...

Thank you for such a beautiful description of our resort and facilities. Wirya and the Finns Team will be chuffed to receive a special mention from you. They all work hard at Finns during hot conditions at times so for them to feel appreciated by guests is very important.
For your information we have recently launched a new and fun way to spend evenings with your friends and family at Finns. Come during sunset and grab a bean bag around our Bonfire overlooking the sea.
Complimented by music, drinks and friendly staff this is the ultimate way to finish a perfect day.
Please come and try soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Finns Beach Club is the ultimate meaning of 'BALI BLISS" from the moment you set eyes on this stunning location & arrived down to the restaurant area you will instantly feel like you are in paradise. With the friendly staff and wonderful customer service Finns Beach Club will make you feel very special.

I was so happy to be back at Finns Wed 12th March 2014, it truly is my favorite beach club in Bali. My 3 girlfriends and I arrived around lunch time, all of the food is sensational great flavors! We ordered, the Spaghetti Alla Marinara, Pizza - Margarita & Tapas style dishes.. I have to say, the homemade hummus was so fantastic kept going back for more! also I am very impressed by the Migoreng Seafood dish very tasty.. We ordered classic Margarita cocktails and Bintangs (very cold of course)

We enjoyed a relax, swim in the ocean and drinks at the bar. Highly recommend for friends, Couples, honeymooners, singles, this place suits anyone who loves a little bit of paradise!

Thank you to Kelly, Bojan and Wirya and all the staff at Finns, we will be back soon.

Kind Regards
Nitelle xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank L0veTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Sundays Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Nitelle,

Warmest regards from the Finn’s team...

Thank you for the great comments. It was a pleasure having you and your friends over last week.
We are looking forward showing you the romantic side of Finn’s at dinner time during your next trip to Bali.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Okay, so here's the thing. This bar/restaurant is in a unique position at the bottom of a cliff, on a very cute little beach with spectacular views. Accessing the beach is via a small cable car down the cliff. The "entrance fee" is IDR250,000, for which you get IDR150,000 credit for food and drink. I am not sure why they do this, Rock Bar doesn't do the same thing. This fee applies before 6pm, after that there is no charge.

The beach is small but watching the waves break out on the reef (about 100m out) is impressive; some waves were 10-12 feet high. Very nice. Actually the views from the hotel (Semara Luxury Villa Resort) gardens at the top of the cliff, are also very nice too. Lovely for photos, especially wedding photos!

Now down to nuts and bolts. I wasn't that impressed with the food, the aubergine in my sandwich gave it a bitter taste (seems the chef likes to use aubergines a lot). And the prices of food and drink are exorbitantly high. Your IDR150,000 credit is not going to go very far! So poor value for money to say the least! Service was okay, have had better but nothing to complain about.

After lunch we enjoyed the loungers for a while, and also had a dip in the sea. An important thing to note - this beach is a lot more dangerous than it seems. When the tide is going out, the waves breaking on the beach die down. But between the beach and the reef edge is a basin, that seems to drain only from the south side. So at times, even in the shallows, there are very strong rip currents indeed (left to right). I was carried 20 or 30 meters down the beach in just a few seconds by a rip. I would certainly not let children swim unaccompanied at this beach due to this very strong rip current.

In summary: views stunning; food doesn't match the price; prices sky high; at times, beach too dangerous for children to swim unsupervised.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank An0nym0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Sundays Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Finns Beach Club...

Thank you for your detailed review of Finn’s Beach Club and the mention of Semara Luxury Villa Resort, our unique cliff top villas.
Please note that the entrance fee includes not only the F&B credit but also free use of our watersports equipment, the inclinator, beach club facilities and Wifi.
We contribute these monies to the local community and in exchange they do not sell their wares on the beach thus offering a more private experience to Finns guests.
We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy the food due to one of the ingredients. We hope that up on your return you will allow us to customise any of the dishes on our menu to meet your expectations. Our culinary and front of house teams are always fully available and happy to assist.
Even though the beach is continuously monitored by our lifeguards we strongly advise parents to always supervise their children when going for a swim. As with every beach weather and tide affects conditions For your convenience you can find the tide chart on our website to assess conditionsbefore arrival.
Thank you again for your recent visit.

Warmest Regards from Finn’s team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundays Beach Club also viewed

 
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Sundays Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing