We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cablecar to paradise”
Review of Sundays Beach Club

Sundays Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: On this stunning stretch of white sandy beach, every day is Sunday... and Sundays Beach Club offers a memorable experience like no other. Relax to the cool tunes and enjoy friendly Balinese service. Take out a kayak or stand up paddle board at low tide. Swim or snorkel in the crystal clear lagoon. Crafted by acclaimed Australian chef James Viles, our Sundays Beach Club menu uses only the finest local ingredients. We support and work closely with our local growers and farmers. Start the day early with our refreshing new beach breakfast menu featuring kick start breaky bowls, chilled poke bowls, breakfast buns and breakfast pizzas. Throughout the day enjoy light snacks, salads, gourmet burgers, delicious pizzas from our wood fired stone oven or something from our charcoal grill. Our circular bar gives every seat a sea view. Enjoy a fresh juice or indulge in one of our signature cocktails and classic mixes.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cablecar to paradise”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Discovered it on Tripadvisor and decided to give it a try when in Bali this time. Unbelievably beautiful approach, clean beach with a quaint setting, no-nonsense menu and delicious food & drink. The best part was the color of the sea here which just drags you in. Few rocks and sea-urchins as you walk into the sea, but worth the dip. could have spend the entire day here with the kids. A must do.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avijit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Sundays Beach Club, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Avijit D,

Glad you found us at Finns. Having only just completed our 1st year it has taken a while for the word to get around ! Soon Finns will be on everyone’s must do list for Bali. We have just secured an additional 80 metres of beach in preparation for an increasing number of guests. There is 230 metres of white sandy beach so plenty of room for everyone to enjoy.

Hope to see you next time!
Mandy McDermid General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    869
    429
    153
    80
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Much Better than Karma Kandara's Nammos!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I came around 4 PM and found the place was really amazing! The moment we arrived at the lobby, to the elevator start-off point, until the moment we stepped at the actual beach club, was very good. Everyone at the resort (Semara Luxury Villa Resort) and the beach club were very friendly, attentive, and humble (as we were local Indonesians, not the big spender foreigners). The fee to get down to the beach club was Rp 250.000,00 (around USD 25) per person, and could be redeemed fully at the beach club. The grounds at the resort were very beautiful, and the view over the Indian Ocean was breath-taking!

The beach club itself was very laid-back and cozy. The waves and the currents weren't strong because the beach is protected by some wave-breaking reefs. We could snorkel, swim, and kayak safely around. The foods and drinks were OK, but the price were high to Indonesian standard. Overall, the beach club is very recommended, and worth every penny! Much better than its neighboring Nammos Beach Club at Karma Kandara!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Giovanni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Sundays Beach Club, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Giovanni G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our piece of paradise. We pride ourselves on our fantastic staff here at Semara who always do us proud with their great personalities and attention to guests. We want everyone from all corners of the globe to have a great experience at Finns.
Our swimming area is now even larger and you are correct is well protected by the outer reef. It really is one of the best beaches for swimming in Bali.
See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not even worth a try, horrible!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Went to this establishment as a result of being told that the one up the road "Karma" was booked out completely. Which was a major mistake. Upon arriving they had no parking for us so we had too drive around the top area for half an hour to finally park on the grass 10 minute walk away. We waited for someone to greet us for 20 minutes until finally a young inexperienced bell boy finally came. We were then guided down to the beach club named FINNS beach club. Ill note that the only good part of the day was the chair lift down, the operator was very nice. We arrived down to the restaurant and they told us on the phone they had a lot of availability. We arrived there and it was busy so they made us eat at the bar, we were hungry and frustrated so we just sat at the bar and ordered. Everyone had decided it didn't look safe to eat at but I was to hungry to wait to get back to the hotel and eat so i ordered a pizza and a burger which isn't hard to muck up. Also had a lemonade to drink, the food was dry and horrible. We left after shortly after mainly because of the obnoxious tourists screaming at the other end of the bar. I arrived home and appoximately 5 hours later I started feeling ill. I spent the whole night in the bathroom vomiting and on the toilet. The following day I went to the BIMC hospital to get some medicine, the doctor there asked where I last ate before I got sick and I told him FINNS. He said in the last three months 3 people have eaten there and gotten sick. I do not recommend this place at all.. Stay well clear.. Manager or owner do not try and reply to this with an excuse.. I had buffet breakfast the morning before i had came and I was staying at a 5 star resort called Melia and the food was perfect there. You hygiene is terrible!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ifoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Sundays Beach Club, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear ifoods,

It appears that you visited during the peak holiday time in Bali when all good establishments experience significant increase in trade. During these times it is necessary to implement different practices to the norm eg. parking and serving meals at the bar. Most guests are understanding of this situation and had actually made table reservations in advance. As you can see from other Trip Advisor reviews you are one of the very few visitors to Finns that has not enjoyed the visit.
We were horrified to hear about your visit to BIMC so I personally contacted both BIMC locations but was stunned that they had had no records of any guests with food poisoning from Finns, they said they would never tell a patient that they had had claims of food poisoning from specific places as it is almost impossible to prove where they got it from.
I eat almost every day at Finns and have never been sick , I assure you our hygiene is of the highest standard.

Mandy McDermid General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“absolutely stunning. pricy but fabulous!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

the best, most beautiful and relaxing spot we have bin so far. like straight from the postcard.
banana juice absolutely amazing!

putri at the beach restaurant is very nice and helpful. she speaks perfect english.

prices are on the top end. you have to be aware of that. cocktail 16usd, bitang beer 5usd and so on.
entrance is 25 usd
but its also a 25usd voucher that you can spend at the bar/restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank splintah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Sundays Beach Club, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear splintah,

Thank you so much for your comments on Finns Beach Club. I have passed your comment onto Putri who is delighted with the recognition. Our F & B pricing is less than our competitors so for the quality of food and the Finns experience it is great value.
I will have to try the banana juice !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great location, good food”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Finns is on a beautiful, clean, uncrowded beach. It has great food and you can also get kayaks and snorkels.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank InformedDecision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Sundays Beach Club, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear InformedDecision,

Thank you so much for you comments on Finns Beach Club. The Beach Club Pass of RP 250,000 per adults entitles you to full use of all facilities including sunbeds, towels, snorkeling equipment and kayaks. Plus you get a full credit toward food and drinks.
Please come back again.

Mandy McDermid General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundays Beach Club also viewed

 
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Sundays Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing