We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decadent indulgence, outstanding ambiance and value for money”

Karma Beach Bali Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 35 Restaurants in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, European, American, Seafood, Mediterranean, Asian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Accessed by a funicular that traverses 85 metres of cliff face patrons can relax in the whimsical, cozy environs of a curvilinear bamboo pavilion.Enjoy your complete meal and drink.
Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decadent indulgence, outstanding ambiance and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

It most certainly is a delightful 'Karma Experience' to while away one's afternoon at this secluded cliff-side beach.

Delicious drinks, great wedge fries, best octopus I've ever eaten, great sushi.

Ambient tunes presented by a live and talented 'mixologist' / DJ.

Five-star prices but five-star quality service, hospitality and dining too so that means good value.

Book first rather than take your chances on the wait-list if you plan on arriving midday or for sunset. This place is super popular for very good reason.

It's worth the drive to get to Karma Kandara so enjoy the views and you'll enjoy the destination even more.

I'll be back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, Manager at Karma Beach Bali Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Marcus B,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your visit to Karma Beach.
We have had some great DJ’s as of late, with many more on the way, as well as some amazing upcoming performances from the Cuban Brothers, Peyton, and Jose Padilla to name a few. Our cocktail list has just been updated by a world-famous mixologist from London. We look forward to welcoming you back to Karma Beach.


Thank you and kind regards,
Karma Beach Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    59
    30
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kaliningrad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So so...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

I heard about this place a lot, so me and my friend went to beach club... Quite pricy place, stuff polite ...
But restaurant at the beach was so disappointed.. I order water, it was served in jar , like in cheap warung across the road...
Seriously...
and one of the worth sushi I ever try...
After meal I feel like ate plate of rice ...

Not impressed at all (
From this kind of place, expected more ...


Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dasha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, Manager at Karma Beach Bali Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Dasha V

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your experience at Karma Beach Bali. We do feature mason jars for some of our cocktails as well as water service as a bit of a novelty, apologies that you didn’t appreciate.

I’m surprised to read of your sushi comments as we have been receiving rave reviews regarding our sushi menu. We take your comments seriously and will ensure that our normal high standards are continually met. Hope to see you again at Karma Beach.

Thank you and kind regards,
Karma Beach Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“poor standard of food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I have been there many times, but I believe that yesterday was my last visit. It was a very, busy day I guess, high season, local holidays, no chairs to sit down, long wait to go up and down with the cable car, maybe they should put a limited number on for all beach users so it does not get to crowded.
Anyway that all a side the worse experience was our lunch, for prices that high you expect top quality, I always thought they had an expat chef there who is overlooking the kitchen outlets.The food has never lived up to the stunning location and beach, which is a shame really.
Caesar Salad, very small portion, soggy brioche croutons, no Bacon, no Egg, no Anchovies all the classic ingredients missing????? our Pumpkin Salad had a big hair on it which I mentioned to the waiter, no apology just took it back and brought the same salad after a while. The mezze plate all dips no seasoning and not crispy pita bread, very poor overall and very small servings.
Ask for extra bread which took 20 minutes to come to a table, there seem to be nobody in charge who is managing and guiding the staff under pressure.
They should concentrate on a smaller menu but doing that right, not offer pizza, sushi and so many choices but the quality suffers.
Despite the stunning location I will not longer recommend this beach club to my friends.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Fritz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, Manager at Karma Beach Bali Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Fritz W,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your recent experience to Karma Beach. Your experience is not reflective of our very high quality standards. We do have an expat chef, and the menu is always evolving, and the comments of late have been very good. We appreciate that your experience may have been below our high standard, and for this we apologize. Our beach club is very popular due to the unbelievable snorkeling available in our turquoise blue sea lagoon, as well as the great sounds from our unique DJ’s, and the Food and Beverage offer.

Our menu will be changing soon, and our cocktail lists have already been updated to some amazing, world-class cocktails. We look forward to having the opportunity to improve on your previous visit.


Thank you and kind regards,
Karma Beach Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“chill zone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

cold ..cold drinks,great food nice chill out area on beach with cool breezes off the ocean,,,,,depending on what dj is on, music can get a bit loud a bit pricey though

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JulznTezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, Manager at Karma Beach Bali Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear JulznTezz,

Thank you for your comments on Karma Beach Bali. Ice Cold Drinks is just one of the high standards set at Karma Beach. Coupled with cool sounds and the amazing view, where would you rather be in Bali….


Thank you and kind regards,
Karma Beach Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Beach Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Strikingly beautiful beach with psychedelic sunsets. Monday movie nights are spectacular. Good food with varied menu ranging from pizzas, salads to sushi and Asian dishes. Changes between low and high tides are quite dramatic so do check beforehand if important. During low tides you can walk over to Finn's Beach Club (i prefer Karma Beach as a base though - it's a bit more plush). Clear Water. Good snorkelling so bring a pair of reef shoes.

Staff is nice but not well-trained so service is chaotic and it can get particularly spotty during busy times. Facilities are just adequate for a quick rinse after swimming.

I'm surprised by its grumbling reviews though...this place isn't perfect but still very worthwhile experience in this part of Bali.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MsPapercut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma R, Manager at Karma Beach Bali Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2016
Greetings MsPapecut,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts in Tripadvisor, We are delighted with your comments and about our property. I feel deeply sorry you found some issues within our staff and we will share your review to make a stronger and more qualify team as we are constantly improving and your feedback is very important to us.
Jus as one of our recommendations you can also visit our sister properties in Jimbaran and Gili Meno.

Best regards,
The Karma Beach team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karma Beach Bali Restaurant also viewed

Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Gili Meno, Gili Islands
 

Been to Karma Beach Bali Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing